We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
65
122
23
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
122
23
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews virginia square continental breakfast donuts yogurt el pollo rico free parking metro station safe neighborhood orange line cream cheese place to stay when visiting dc area room was clean walking distance mini fridge sink area place to sleep
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights, on september. The last day I made two allergic reactions to the thighs by plates of 5 cm red diameter! I consulted a doctor on my return to France who diagnosed me with an allergy following bed bug bites!

In short, here is the following of the opinion: Spacious room but with view on the clearing of the motel.

Very small double bed for two ... old furniture. During the stay we had to gather our belongings, put them away as the furniture had to be changed. Furniture unchanged when we left ... Also the room smelled of moisture as soon as we arrived.

Breakfast simple, little choice. Breakfast which can be taken from 7am to 11am. We took it belatedly one morning (9am), there was very little food left ... No room to take it. We had breakfast on the desk in our room.

WIFI which works with difficulty.

On the other hand, friendly staff. Motel very close to 2 subway stations (clarenton and virginia square).

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Charline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandermotel, Manager at Highlander Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

If it was bed bugs they would not wait 4 days to bite you. maybe you were allergic to the detergent. the front desk is open 24 hours a day any problems call the front desk
so we can fix it to make your stay better.WE have yogurt and all breakfast items on premise just ask the desk clerk for more. we have two chairs and a couch to sit on in the lobby area . All of our beds are full size extra long, with two beds in all the room. We are now a non smoking facility and all rooms have new furniture, carpet and paint.
Thanks for your input as this is how we grow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were nice and clean, smelled good (unlike a lot of motels). It was about 15-20 min drive to DC, making the Uber rides not too expansive.
Breakfast was not huge but included bagels, muffins, croissants, pop tarts, donuts etc. And also fresh fruit (even strawberries!), juice and coffee. We liked it a lot. But! We stayed there 4 days, and every morning there were less and less variety for breakfast, not sure why.
The bad part about this hotel is that the water pressure in the shower was really bad, making it pretty annoying to take a shower. It took 3 days until someone came to check it, and then they blamed it on the city. I was especially disappointed by the way the guy at the front desk answered to this situation, not trying to help or move us to a different room and sounded kind of angry.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location. Near the metro silver and orange lines. There is places to get food near by. Bathroom is small with a tub but the sink is outside with the bed. Nice when a few people are there. The rooms were clean if a bit dated. Free breakfasts was a help. Would stay again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank johncS9706VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Would stay here again. This hotel is owned and operated by friendly family members. Comfortable clean rooms, and includes a small, but tasty breakfast (bagels & cream cheese, juice, coffee, donuts, yogurt, etc.) Close to the Metro, restaurants, and shopping. Walking in neighborhood appears to be safe, with many younger people around the area. Hope this helps with your first visit.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We chose this motel because it was convenient to Arlington National Cemetery. It was easily accessible by car and there is a nearby metro station. It has ample free parking. The free parking and proximity to the metro station makes this an ideal motel as a base for touring the D.C. area. Quite affordable when compared to the upscale big name motels and hotels in the area. The room was large and the beds comfortable. Furniture was not upscale but it appeared new and was in very good condition. Hard to beat this motel for convenience and price. More or less a bare bones older motel. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place. If you want a room with the essentials (refrigerator but no microwave) at a fair price, this should be quite satisfactory for you. We did notice a slight ammonia odor in the room. An air freshener may have been all that was needed to correct that. We saw no evidence of pet stains that may have caused the odor. The hotel is located in a mixed residential and commercial area. A few fast food restaurants adjacent and across the street.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews