We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Expedia.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$127
View deal
Hotels.comUS$154
PricelineUS$154
Lol.travelUS$169
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
143
172
82
44
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
143
172
82
44
36
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2020

Stayed there for almost a week with my wife. Check In was easy and all un order. Very clean and quiet room - all clean throughout the premises. Felt very safe and confortable. Staff was great - restaurant service very good, menu somewhat limited, but lots of great restaurant near the area. Even though we had a car, we preferred to “Uber” or take the train (that is conveniently located “next door”).
Definitely will go again- after the pandemic, of course.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank geomencar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cindy Addison, Owner at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Hi geomencar, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the great comments about the hotel, location and especially our Team Members. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards and Safe Travels, Cindy Addison, VP of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

This hotel is not worth the money. Even though it is “smoke free” you can smell the lingering smell of smoke on every floor. The smell is covered up with fragrance you would buy at the dollar store or in a gas station bathroom. The walls are paper thin which I often heard people talking, watching t.v. and making love on the other side. Because of COVID I cannot rate the food or staff appropriately.

Positive note. The limited staff that I did encounter were friendly and it is in a great location for the metro and restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank h2o00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandria Carlyle, Owner at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Holiday Inn ALEXANDRIA - CARLYLE.

I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future.

I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2020 via mobile

Look and restaurant closed bc of Covid. You had to stand 10 feet away from the front desk, understandable. There was a marijuana smell in the hallway for an extended period of time(not the hotel’s fault, but still). The air conditioner was sub par and not very cool. We called for service and the guy showed up in less than 5 minutes, took the plate off the thermostat and said it would be better. It wasn’t. Room was never cooler than 72° and it was a very, hot humid day. Sink didn’t drain and the tub was not clean. Front desk person in the afternoon was very nice, the one at night, not so much. She seemed to take issue with the fact we wanted 8 towels for 5 people? We needed a night shower and morning one bc of the heat. Like she had to crochet them in the back first? Oh well. This wasn’t the worst hotel I ever stayed in but it wasn’t the best either.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank B2791TZanniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexandria Carlyle, Owner at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Holiday Inn ALEXANDRIA - CARLYLE.

I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future.

I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

You can hear the traffic clearly from the room. The lobby is nice, the elevators and rooms are painfully outdated. A leg on the ottoman is broken, the chair it goes with has a non-matching cushion, crumbs on the desk chair, the outlets are so old, my charger keeps falling out, toilets are very low.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Flyer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2020

Hello Flyer75,

Thanks for the stay and for the review. I am very sorry to learn that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us due to the condition of the room and its amenities. I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management to work on these points raised in your review to give you the best hotel experience in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope you visit us again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

This hotel is in a great location in easy walking distance of a metro station and the National Science Foundation building, and its free parking makes it a good locale for sightseers. Rooms were adequate but mine had some traffic noise from the nearby beltway and a non working in-room coffee maker, which was replaced for the second night. I had to travel three floors to find a working ice machine. Courtesy van was unavailable on a rainy morning when I had luggage and apparently could not be reserved in advance. Well laid out restaurant but limited menu. Nice looking pool, larger than most hotels of this type for those who have time to use it. Very helpful and courteous staff.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Happytravel4002018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
IHGService, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria - Carlyle, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Hello Happytravel4002018,

Thank you for your feedback.

It is wonderful to know that you appreciated the warm hospitality of the the front desk staff and the convenient location of the property. It is unfortunate though that we were not able to elevate your stay experience with us due to the noise you experienced coming from beltway and the availability of the shuttle service. Our Hotel Management and our maintenance team has been notified of your concerns and are working diligently to ensure that we do not allow our future guests to have this kind of experience.

We are determined to deliver a combined sense of comfort and happiness. At the end of the day, it is the smile that we see in our guests and the joy that you share of your stay that we always look forward to. We hope to host your stay soon should you come by our way.

Hector P
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews