We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,424)
Filter reviews
1,424 results
Traveller rating
973
293
111
37
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
973
293
111
37
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting room brabo restaurant terrace suite claw foot tub king street old town alexandria rain shower wine hour bathroom door complimentary wine mini bar dc area happy hour valet parking shops and restaurants front desk staff few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 1,424 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Lorien Hotel & Spa is the perfect weekend getaway for special occasion in old town Alexandria.
The Hotel staff is wonderful, friendly and welcoming, starting from the Parking Valet, Concierge and the Spa service.
One thing that I love about the Kimpton hotels, is their wine hour. Especially in the old town Alexandria, when on Saturday the happy hours are non- existent. As well, wine hour is great to meet and mingle with other guest.
The hotel also offer coffee in the morning, but we did not wake up early enough.
Though, they had an adjacent restaurant with excellent cocktails, but nothing to worry there are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance.
We had a small suite with a club tub (very romantic), and the decor was modern and minimalist. Everything was as expected. Absolutely no complains.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anakarerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane V, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear anakarerina,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your stay-cation! Loved to read the great comments about the Staff. They all work very hard to deliver such heart felt service and I am so thankful that you noticed. Hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes,
Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Valet parking is expensive but your only option, hotel needs a breezeway to connect to unloading space because we had to walk across an open courtyard to the main entrance and got soaked after we left our car. Room was a huge disappointment, one small window which opened to an adjoining room balcony, not any view of any kind. Sparsely furnished and sterile in appearance, I found it lacking in accommodations (no in room coffee maker, bathrobes are tired with scrunched up shoulder pads sewn in, no mini-fridge for your items unless you unload their mini-bar items). The bathroom is a standard tub, one sink, and has a slider door with a 2"+ gap on either side so you can literally see someone in the bathroom if they are in the shower or on the toilet. Virtually no privacy. There is cable and free wifi. The restaurants are VERY good, but I recommend making reservations. Breakfast not included and service is a bit slow. Very small space but the food was tasty. Spa was ok, steam room was broken and only 3 small showers. Spa treatments were good, however. Just a little overpriced like everything else. I would not stay at this hotel again as I've had bigger and better rooms at Hampton Inn. The spa and restaurants worth a visit, but get a better value down the street and don't stay at the hotel. Housekeeper didn't make it to clean the room when we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room with a view. They are small rooms for so much $$
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane V, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear Terri S,
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We take honest comments from people like you very seriously. It pains us to hear about the not-so good stuff but it is what helps us learn and improve! If you are ever back in Old Town, please let me know. I will make sure you get a top notch experience.
Take care and all the best Terri S.
Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Location - don't change anything! I have been visiting the Lorien for years and it never disappoints. The BRABO Tasting Room is perfect for off hours dining and the main Brabo dining room is an excellent venue for a business dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank U3434ZNglennh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane V, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear U3434ZNglennh,
Thank you so much for being one of our greatest fan! We cannot wait to see you again very soon.
Best wishes,
Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Dog heaven! Upon arrival my poochie got a treat bag. Poo bags provided as well and a Lorian tennis ball. He felt like a king. Plenty of space in the bathroom for food and water. Tile/concrete in the main areas was great for not worrying about him sniffing around. Best dog hotel enter.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christinebJ7347HL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane V, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear christinebJ7347HL,
Thank you so much for your great review! I hope you and your Doggie will soon return to Old Town. Take care and thank you for your business.
Best wishes,
Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Every wall in this hotel, public and private is painted a drab depressing shade of celery green....it does not convey the serene spa atmosphere it bills itself. Furnishings are minimal & worn. It's not a bargain or value by any standard. As is Kimpton corporate culture do not think of checking in early or staying late.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank DVreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane V, General Manager at Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear DVreeland,
Thank you so much for your candid feedback. So sorry the hotel decor and atmosphere didn't live up to your expectation. The good news is that we are planning a renovation of all guest rooms and hallways that will start at the end of this year. We cannot wait to show it off. I would love to have you back when it is all complete or even earlier. Please reach out to me if you ever need anything. I promise you the Kimpton Love is still very much alive at the Lorien. Take care DVreelan.
Best wishes,
Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews