We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/07/22
Booking.com
US$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/07/22
Hurb
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/07/22
Hotels.comUS$154
HamptonUS$154
travelup.comUS$176
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,484 results
Traveller rating
699
454
186
74
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
699
454
186
74
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk free shuttle huntington metro station national harbor waffles great stay complimentary breakfast outdoor pool dc area minute drive would stay here again beds were comfortable inns elevator hallway uber mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,484 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2022

The hotel was ok, but it's a little too big / crowded for our tastes. The hotel is big, so it's crowded with many kids (think loud) and groups.

Breakfast was ok (great muffins, waffle station, so-so eggs / hot food), but crowded. On one day, the staff was clearly overwhelmed by the swarm of kids / guests at breakfast. They do a very good job of cleaning, re-stocking, but there is so much they can do.

The rooms were nice and does a pretty good job of keeping out the external and internal noise levels.

Front-desk staff were incredibly fast and helpful. They were amazing.

There is free self-park at the hotel. The hotel is right off the entrance ramp to 95 N and 495 W/E, so it's very convenient. Getting to the hotel during the evening rush is a little tricky because google maps will tell you to enter via Rt 1, which will be busy. There is a second entrance via the country club exit south of the hotel. There are no shops in the immediate vicinity but it's a quick drive to supermarket, restaurants, etc. The big Springfield mall is about 15-20 minutes away. DC is about 15-20 minutes away.

The price / value was good, it's cheaper than the hotels closer to the middle of town. Wifi worked well. The hotel is near a little marsh / wildlife area which is pretty to walk around in the morning.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred Matter, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

Hello nysingle,
thank you for staying with us, and giving us some valuable feedback. I know that during the Spring the number of kids can be overwhelming, we are trying to hire an additional person for the breakfast room, but like many other locations the labor market is extremely tight. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service when your travels bring you back to Old Town Alexandria.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2022

1/3 elevators stopped working during our stay. Water shut down in the morning rush due to leak from 7th floor. And when water came back after an hour, it was brown and dirty. Hair strands were on the pillows and pillow cases were so wrinkled it seemed like someone just slept there and did not replace them.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jet32533273367
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred Matter, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2022

Good morning Jet,
thank you for staying with us and giving us a good rating and some valuable feedback. We had a leak in one of the rooms that required to shut off the water to avoid major damage, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2022 via mobile

Horrible hotel. Husband checked in around 6pm and was given a bad room.

No water pressure, doors won't stay closed. Horrible processed breakfast. Bed was average but not great.

Given the impression that he got the dregs of the hotel inventory because he used priceline discount booking sight.

Won't stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 360travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred Matter, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2022

Good morning 360,
thank you for staying with us some feedback, I am sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2022

Employee burst into room unannounced at 9 pm at night. Front desk said he was confused on the room #. I was totally shook up, front desk apologized and offered me a bottle of wine.. really? Next day I contacted hotel and talked to manager who said he would credit my account for the room charge. Also, do not get a room on the road side of the hotel. The street noise is unreal.... another reason I couldn't sleep. Not a good experience at all.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred Matter, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2022

Good morning Tracy,
thank you for staying with us, please accept my apologies for the mix up, I am glad that our manager was able to compensate for the unfortunate incident.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2022

We were four, dad, my two brothers and me. We got connected rooms and the furniture was very pretty, elegant and austere. Good breakfast. But on a highway, so it is a place for those with a car. Very close to Washington.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank melissa-dullius
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred Matter, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2022

Good morning Melissa,
thank you for staying with us and giving us a great rating and some kind feedback.
Regards,
Alfred Matter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews