We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$213
CheapTicketsUS$213
TravelocityUS$213
Orbitz.comUS$213
TripadvisorUS$213
Snaptravel
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
446
166
56
32
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
446
166
56
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts hot tub sisters restaurant front porch barter theater historic hotel miniature golf course indoor pool salt water pool putt putt deluxe room rocking chairs each evening creeper trail main street bike ride library
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2020

My husband and I have stayed here many times and loved it but hadn’t visited since 2014. We returned with our 8-yr-old twins Dec 20-24 and had a fabulous time! Karen, at reception, took such good care of us and kindly upgraded us to a lovely room, number 400, which was on the top floor overlooking the front lawn and back to the hot tub. Lovely to have a little extra room to spread out as a family. We booked the beautiful parlor room for a private American Girl tea party for our girls and their dolls. The room was gorgeous with Christmas decorations and the little cakes were fun. They were repainting the pool and quickly finished the job ahead of time so that we would be able to enjoy swimming that evening. The water is a lovely temperature. Unfortunately, the hot tubs were closed due to recent Covid rules. If you go, we highly recommend White Birch restaurant for a delicious breakfast and Bella‘s for takeout pizza. We had a fabulous bike ride down the Virginia Creeper Trail, opting to ride from Abingdon to Damascus and we used a bike company named Sundog. We also drove up to the Grayson Highlands and loved seeing the wild ponies. All in all, the hotel bent over backwards to compensate for the services they couldn’t offer due to Covid, and made us feel so welcome that we extended our trip an extra day.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CarolinaGirl27517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020

We chose Abingdon/ the Martha Washington Inn for our Christmas trip this year and it was fabulous. Built in 1830-1832 as a private residence, it was used as a Civil War hospital and served as Martha Washington College until 1932. This historic property is stunning, from it's central staircase, living areas and to it's impressive library, where we ended up each evening with last call in front of the attractive fireplace. Inside the Inn was decorated festively for Christmas and had a small Christmas market in tents on the side grounds. There are so many wonderful architectural nooks and crannies inside and out and a history of the building on the walls of the property. They have a fantastic indoor pool, spa, tennis courts, hot tubs, miniature golf course, great covered front porch as well as a nice restaurant and bar. The evening port between 8 and 11 pm each evening was a nice touch also as well as the drink station in the living room. About the only negative was the bar closed early at 9pm, which you think would be open until at least 10pm. The breakfast was fine under the circumstances, consisting of coffee, teas, juices, cereal, crumb cake, blueberry bread, oatmeal, breakfast bars, hard boiled eggs etc.. They even have a nice little gift shop inside. We look forward to a return trip to this fabulous property known as "The Martha".

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2020

Such a fun and unique experience. Right in the middle of pedestrian-friendly Abingdon. But the best part was that my child left a special small stuffed animal in the room, and the staff found it immediately and then mailed it back to us. They were so friendly and helpful. Would love to come back again!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarej754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020 via mobile

My wife and I spent our anniversary at the Martha Washington inn and spa in Abington. We chose the inn based on the web pictures and we decided on a deluxe room. The pictures are almost a “bait and switch” as the room we received was sparse and very average - not as beautiful as the picture at all. I will admit the gym and pool are super. The breakfast was nature grain bars and coffee / orange juice - very cheap. I questioned the quality of the room and was basically ignored or told that all the rooms were different and mine was not one of the pictured ones. I asked to see a manager and was told nine was available (5pm) but one would be on duty at 9am - I asked at 9:30 and was told no one was available. Just want anyone who is going to this property to be aware the advertisement does not tell the true story (in our case). This was not a good anniversary.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank N7311DGmartinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

Arrived for weekend visit. Nov 12-15th.

Room was average and very small. Queen room 314. Avoid.

Restaurant was closed the whole time. No explanation, nothing. Just closed.

Breakfast was Fairfield inn style serve yourself. (No disrespect to Fairfield inn. It’s just not 200.00 per night)

Took shuttle to Creeper trail. Branson was very nice however the bikes were not and my wife had a flat after 29 miles in the middle of nowhere. Another driver came to get us after an hour who was not pleasant at all even though we were only 6 miles from the hotel.

Front desk was very nice but had very limited amenities available. Supposed to have beer and wine but only has once choice of each.

Overall some of the staff were very nice some were not and most importantly if their services are mostly closed they should let you that before you book.

Avoid at this time.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank agijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews