We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
362
64
15
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
362
64
15
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn hiking trails rockwell kent robert frost room african violet battenkill river new england relaxing weekend living room sarah's room each morning grounds are beautiful southern vermont a wonderful stay green mountains b bs short drive
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Have stayed in the area at a few different B&B's and this one by far is the nicest overall.
From the quaint beautiful rooms to the EXCELLENT breakfast and STAFF you are not going to find a nicer place.

You can relax in the very nice common rooms or take hikes on the trails on their property either way it's a win win

We were on a weekend getaway during the off season and there was plenty to do and see

We DEFINITELY plan to return

Room Tip: Any of the rooms can't go wrong
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

My wife and I recently chose the West Mountain Inn for a birthday getaway. It was a pleasant few days. The property and inn are charming. The views are lovely and very "New Englandiee" The location felt isolated, but near enough to Manchester and Williamstown to offer enough things to do if we chose to leave the property. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The bed and bedding were agreeable. We made good use of the wood burning fireplace in the room. Although we did have to forage for wood with minimum assistance from the staff. A weak link in the room, and surprising for a property of this caliber, were the course paper products - tissues and toilet paper. Also, internet access was sketchy. The front desk and wait staff ranged from very pleasant to stiff. Fortunately more of the former. The breakfasts outshone the dinners. We chose for convenience sake to eat a couple of our dinners at the inn. While the dinners were good, our consensus was they catered to a blander palate than we are used to. Having stayed at a number of inns and B & Bs, we sensed the inconsistent service was probably due to the lack of active owner participation in the daily running of the operation. With inns of that size we usually would have interacted with the owner(s) at some point during our stay. That wasn't the case this trip. Would we go again - yes. The positives outweighed the less than positives.

Room Tip: Sketchy internet access.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We stayed at the Inn from Oct. 22-24. Our second time there. We stayed in Sara's Room, very nice, plenty of sun light. Staff are very friendly and make you feel right at home. Everything was perfect, dinners were ok, menu didn't change for the two night's, just added one special on the second night, but Chef was very accommodating in changing things up if you ask. Breakfast is unbelievably delish, made to order, several different specials each morning and even breakfast dessets. Debbie the server is very professional and good at what she does... We booked next year before we left !!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are quit, some smaller then others, some Kings, most Queens.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dogroomr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMountainInn, Front Office Manager at West Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

It was great to see you again! Also, your wife makes the best biscotti!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

My sister and I stayed in the Norman Rockwell room for 2 nights this week. The beds were really comfortable and the bathing was easy and ventilated. The breakfast was incredible with chef prepared excellence. There was also a huge apple pie a la mode offered as dessert for breakfast each morning. Muffins and homemade cookies were available 24 hours as well as fresh brewed coffee for weary travelers. I HIGHLY recommend this Inn.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We have been coming to the West Mountain inn Since September 1990 on our honeymoon, over the years the excellent service, staff, food and environment have been consistent and reliable. Amy and Marybeth were wonderful and accomodating. Our server at dinner on Sunday 10-15-17, Janet, was professional and friendly. The breakfasts are to die for!
The property is beautiful and there are many things to do in the Arlington/Manchester area. I highly recommend the West Mountain Inn for a true quintessential Vermont experience.

Room Tip: Love all the rooms but Rockwell Kent Suite is our favorite!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdiacomini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMountainInn, Front Office Manager at West Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

It was great to see you again. Thank you for being such a loyal guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews