We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife's Birthday”
Review of West Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 4 nights here celebrating my wife's birthday. All I can say is WOW! Staff very friendly and helpful, Dinner was VERY good, and BREAKFAST is awesome - you won't believe how filling it is!!! There is even a resident golden retriever named LUNA who will probably come lay her head one your lap - sooo cute!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Savage93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed in the area at a few different B&B's and this one by far is the nicest overall.
From the quaint beautiful rooms to the EXCELLENT breakfast and STAFF you are not going to find a nicer place.

You can relax in the very nice common rooms or take hikes on the trails on their property either way it's a win win

We were on a weekend getaway during the off season and there was plenty to do and see

We DEFINITELY plan to return

Room Tip: Any of the rooms can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I recently chose the West Mountain Inn for a birthday getaway. It was a pleasant few days. The property and inn are charming. The views are lovely and very "New Englandiee" The location felt isolated, but near enough to Manchester and Williamstown to offer enough things to do if we chose to leave the property. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The bed and bedding were agreeable. We made good use of the wood burning fireplace in the room. Although we did have to forage for wood with minimum assistance from the staff. A weak link in the room, and surprising for a property of this caliber, were the course paper products - tissues and toilet paper. Also, internet access was sketchy. The front desk and wait staff ranged from very pleasant to stiff. Fortunately more of the former. The breakfasts outshone the dinners. We chose for convenience sake to eat a couple of our dinners at the inn. While the dinners were good, our consensus was they catered to a blander palate than we are used to. Having stayed at a number of inns and B & Bs, we sensed the inconsistent service was probably due to the lack of active owner participation in the daily running of the operation. With inns of that size we usually would have interacted with the owner(s) at some point during our stay. That wasn't the case this trip. Would we go again - yes. The positives outweighed the less than positives.

Room Tip: Sketchy internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We stayed at the Inn from Oct. 22-24. Our second time there. We stayed in Sara's Room, very nice, plenty of sun light. Staff are very friendly and make you feel right at home. Everything was perfect, dinners were ok, menu didn't change for the two night's, just added one special on the second night, but Chef was very accommodating in changing things up if you ask. Breakfast is unbelievably delish, made to order, several different specials each morning and even breakfast dessets. Debbie the server is very professional and good at what she does... We booked next year before we left !!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are quit, some smaller then others, some Kings, most Queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dogroomr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestMountainInn, Front Office Manager at West Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

It was great to see you again! Also, your wife makes the best biscotti!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

My sister and I stayed in the Norman Rockwell room for 2 nights this week. The beds were really comfortable and the bathing was easy and ventilated. The breakfast was incredible with chef prepared excellence. There was also a huge apple pie a la mode offered as dessert for breakfast each morning. Muffins and homemade cookies were available 24 hours as well as fresh brewed coffee for weary travelers. I HIGHLY recommend this Inn.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
12.9 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
362 reviews
1.2 km away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
153 reviews
5.9 km away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#2 of 8 in Arlington
85 reviews
15.3 km away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
337 reviews
5.3 km away
Inn on Covered Bridge Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Address: 144 West Mountain Inn Road, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: €159 - €214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing