We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful West Mountain Inn”
Review of West Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is a must for us each autumn as we vacation in New England. We have been staying here for over 30 years. This is one place that doesn't change except for getting better while still keeping the simplicity and integrity of a home away from home. The rooms are always exceptionally clean, the staff warm and friendly, and the food outstanding. Although some may consider the rooms some what simple by today's standards of whirlpools and flash, this is what we love. We can get the others at a Holdiay Inn. You will never get this experience there. The views are spectacular as well as the walking paths in the woods. One year we visited in February in the midst of a snow storm and in the morning walked through the snow laden woods and will never forget the sun sparkled paths and trees. The Inn arranged a sleigh ride at nearby Taylor Farm (don't miss this great working farm, superb cheese and breads!!!) It was late afternoon and a treat beyond our imaginations. All in all, we cannot recommend this wonderful place enough. Well, I consider it unwise to go on, as we don't want the Inn filled when we go to make our next reservations! Fred and Polly Berndt

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and I recently had our wedding reception at the WMI. From the initial stages some three years ago when we reserved the venue up until the morning after and beyond, the staff at the WMI is second to none. The rooms where our families stayed were exquisite. Everyone enjoyed the food and had a great time. The WMI was able to recommend tons of vendors from everything like florists to limousine services. If I had to do it again, there is no doubt in my mind that I would choose the WMI for my wedding.

Room Tip: A good room depends on what you're looking for. Some rooms have fireplaces. Some rooms have si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The Inn offered everything we needed for two wonderful nights. The staff were warm, efficient and very informative to our surroundings. Best of all the breakfast and dinner menus were the best and the food delicious. Definitely we would return. Only down side is staying in the townhouse we could not open windows because there were no screens or the screens were not in good condition.

Room Tip: I would stay in the Townhouse, very cozy and great to kick back and relax alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the West Mountain Inn two nights for a friend's wedding. In terms of the wedding things were wonderful and well done, general accommodations left something to be desired however. The Inn did a great good with the wedding. Cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres were good as was the main course and cake. The barn used for the wedding was beautifully decorated and the staff attentive. Breakfasts were good. The Inn itself is generally well kept and the scenery can't be beat.
Our room had some short comings. Notably the bathroom. The shower was old and dingy, the curtain needed to be replaced and the rub was stained. The shower head was inexcusable as it let out very little water and was rusted. The pillows and bed were too hard and at 6 am we realized that our room was directly next to a large exhaust vent outside. It promptly woke us because the chimney was attached to our wall on the outside which caused the headboard to shake and the room sounded like a train was barreling through it. The only nice thing I can think about for the room was the fireplace.
If it weren't for how well the wedding was done I'd have given the West Mountain Inn a poor rating. The room rate was far too much considering the short comings of the stay even at the peak of the fall season.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpirog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amiebe, Owner at West Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments - both good and bad! I am so glad you enjoyed the wedding you attended and am happy that you generally found the Inn to be well kept and pleasant. I am also glad that you pointed out some of the shortcomings of your room, because now we can fix them! We have already replaced the offending kitchen fan to stop the annoying vibrating issue, and have replaced the shower curtain. We are moving on the shower head as I write and will put that bathroom on the refurbishment list for this Spring!

Thank you!
Amie Emmons
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

An outstanding mountain location with wonderful views. Lovely common rooms and dining room. We love the ambience and food in the dining room. The inn needs to work on spiffing up the rooms--bathrooms need help and carpets need to be replaced .

Room Tip: Pick room with a view--some can be back in a hole. Ask for a room with no carpeting. Carpet needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
12.9 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
362 reviews
1.2 km away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
153 reviews
5.9 km away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#2 of 8 in Arlington
85 reviews
15.3 km away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
337 reviews
5.3 km away
Inn on Covered Bridge Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Address: 144 West Mountain Inn Road, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: €160 - €215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing