We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #60 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was a great location if you wanted to be around some great restaurants. It is with in walking distance of the capital (20-25 min). University of Texas and LBJ library are close. This is very central to get to anywhere in Austin. It has great views of the city skyline. The staff is very helpful. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the higher floors for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluestraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 399 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Nice spacious room, with small kichenette. Very comfortable and clean. The best was the social hour and the breakfast buffet. The hotel connects with the courtyard hotel also, but the Residence Inn includes breakfast and has suites. This is the second time we stay and the staff always have a smile and any info you need they are more then willing to help. It's also 1 or 2 blocks away from 6st and walking distance to the state capitol where you can take the family. We enjoyed both day and night going out. We had a 16 yr and a 12 yr. and they enjoyed themselves also.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Smaller than normal rooms for this type of hotel. Staff was very attentive and friendly, and acknowledged you every time. I had one even push the elevator button for me. Location was convenient for 6th Street scene. Did not feel very safe walking around the area at night. We were there for New Year's Eve, so the hotel was very full. They ended up parking cars in the rotonda in front of the hotel, which made it look like a car dealership. The room amenities were OK, room was clean. Seemed they didn't have enough utensils like coffee mugs, but I forgave them for that. The breakfast buffett was very good, and the maitre 'd at Champions was super, very cheerful and kind and helpful. Kudos to him. Kudos to the front desk staff too. I would stay there again, but not during hi traffic days like New Year's Eve. The hotel was clean and everything in the room worked.

Room Tip: High floor advised. We stayed in 7th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingBugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We returned to this hotel after staying here with friends back in 2008. Same good service and comfortable rooms. The location is great with very easy access to downtown, The Capital building and restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better for young families as you are further away from the late night street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingClarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Due to travel glitches, I arrived at the Resdience Inn at 11:45 at night. The front desk greeter was marvelous and sympathetic. I was due to switch rooms after three nights from a suite to a regular room (gov't rate) for one night But, the customer-focused front desk gal--Tanya--allowed me one more night in the suite. What a relief not to go through the hassle of moving! As mentioned before, the breakfast buffet was great--hot cereals, entrees, waffles, fresh fruit & yogurt.

And a special shout-out to the housekeeping staff. My suite and the hallways and public areas were consistently spotless (not like other hotels where room order trays languish for hours in the hall). Given these attributes and the great location, I give an enthusiastic 'thumbs up' to the resdience Inn and its staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 km away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.2 km away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#23 Business Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#33 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: €137 - €552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore virbant downtown Austin, Texas while retreating to the Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center. Guests of our hotel are served complimentary breakfast every morning before guests attend conferences, trade shows and networking events at Austin Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn
Residence Inn By Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing