We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good brisket sandwiches at affordable prices”

Pok-e-Jo's Smokehouse
Ranked #476 of 4,244 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: South Austin
Description: The number one reason why we love catering in Austin is that Austinites love BBQ! It is truly one of Central Texas’ signature cuisines, and we are lucky enough not only to be able to serve up some ‘que in our five stores, but also to bring it out into the world to all sorts of catered events in the area. Be it a wedding, birthday party, or corporate event, it’s great to be able to give your guests a true taste of Austin with our catering service. Austin is an eclectic city with a wide variety of culinary tastes, which makes catering in Austin an exciting challenge. This may shock you, but sometimes people want more than BBQ for their menu. Crazy, I know. So, when it comes to catering, we come prepared to bring Austin diverse menus to match the tastes of the town. Fajitas? Check. Prime Rib? Check. When we start talking about the options we bring to the table with our catering, Austinites who have only ever had our food in one of our five stores are floored. Don’t believe us? Just check out our Full Service catering menu. When you need catering in Austin, Pok-e-Jo’s is here for you. And before you think, “Pok-e-Jo’s can’t do that,” stop yourself. Give us a shot, and join the list of people here in Central Texas who have gotten to sit back and enjoy an awesome catered party with us.
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Went here yesterday with a friend. We both got brisket sandwiches and we were very happy with them. I asked for mine to be lean and the fat was carefully cut off. It was still juicy and tender, unlike some places when you ask for lean. Texas cowboy decor with burnt orange trays. Order at the counter and take your tray to an available table. Friendly staff.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Polly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We were very happy with the food. Even the fried okra was good (I cannot believe I said that). We had pulled pork, brisket, ribs, cornbread, Mac and cheese (delish). Nothing was bad - we enjoyed every bit of it!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank 150hotelnightsayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samatpokejos, Guest Relations Manager at Pok-e-Jo's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for the kind words. It is customers like you that keep us striving to be what the founders of Pok-re-Jo's envisioned.
Glad you enjoyed the the food, even the fried okra. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Went here with a group of friends and it didn't disappoint. Excellent prices, great variety to choose from (the turkey and brisket were wonderful), exceptional service from BBQ guys who know their stuff. We had a dozen people in our group and everyone had positive things to say about it.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank NHBlueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samatpokejos, Guest Relations Manager at Pok-e-Jo's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Wow! Thank you very much for the great words I know the staff will be glad to hear this. We know there are lots of BBQ places in Austin and central texas and we truly do appreciate you stopping in to dine with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Visiting from out of state. Nothing to write home about. Average bbq. Disappointed in the sauce so opted out.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank bassetlover1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samatpokejos, Guest Relations Manager at Pok-e-Jo's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Good morning,
We hate that you were not happy with the food at the location you visited. We know that with all of the BBQ restaurants in this awesome country, that we will not please everyone all the time. If you do an apples to apples comparison in Austin we do rate one of the top five BBQ joints that have been here for almost or more than 40 years.
We do appreciate your feedback and wish you much success in your travels. We will pass your comments on to the owners and our corporate chef to make sure that recipes are being followed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

I was visiting from out-of-town and wanted to have some Teaxas BBQ, since I used to live in Texas and now live in Kansas City.

This is the place my brother picked for us.

I had brisket and ribs, cole slaw and potato salad. I thought the food was great. The atmosphere is fun, nothing real special.

From the looks of the outside I did not expect much, but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality.

Definitely worth every penny!

Go here, if at all possible!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samatpokejos, Guest Relations Manager at Pok-e-Jo's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Welcome back to Texas. We hope to see you on repeat trips. Thank you for the kind words. As we approach 40 years in business we count on offering the best BBQ and the best dining experience as we can. We know there are lots of places to get Q in Austin so we gratefully appreciate your words and your brother for picking us for the meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pok-e-Jo's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing