We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #31 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Location!!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Excellent location downtown Austin. Blocks from the "famous 6th Street" with live music and lots of action! Blocks from the Congress Avenue bridge where you can "watch the bats come out!" Millions of bats live underneath the Congress Avenue bridge and it's a sight to see. Conveniently located to lots of restaurants and entertainment. A few blocks over from the "walking/running trail" which will take you all the way to Zilker Park. Overall the hotel is excellent...including the location. The staff is very friendly and the customer service is excellent. Just FYI, there is no hotel shuttle from the airport, due to the distance to the downtown area, so you either have to rent a car (which I would not advise due to the price for parking), take a taxi or hire a shuttle service (Super Shuttle). Very nice complimentary breakfast buffet and complimentary happy hour also...but it's only during the weekdays. I stay here each time I have a long business trip to Austin. Overall this is a great location for the business traveler doing business in the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanniene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    342
    108
    41
    30
See reviews for
156
234
65
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Facilities, staff and location were all excellent. Decent breakfast and nice complimentary happy hour on weekdays. Enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Parking is $23.00 per day, but other than that everything is included. There was free high speed internet, coffee maker, refrigerator and ironing board. This hotel is in the heart of the city and within walking distance of most of the night life. I had a King suite which was a very large room and very comfortable. There was a “wet” smell to the room when I first checked in, but that faded as I was there or I just got use to it. The breakfast was nice with hot and cold selections and the happy hour was OK too.

There was a lot of street noise, so if you are a light sleeper this may not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: You may want a room on the east side away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

There is a French crepe restaurant on the corner tres magnifique! Eat there, as the complimentary breakfast was rather lacking. The rooms were huge and bed comfy. The valet parking service was incredibly polite and efficient. Being a down town hotel means that you are subjected to police sirens at all hours of the night. It is across from the convention center, PF Changs and spitting distance to 6 th street. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girls-a-cruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were only in Austin two nights so it was important to be close to all we might need especially Austin City Limits Live at the Moody Theatre. We came for a Tedeschi/Trucks Band concert and had a half mile walk. Free breakfast was important too. Hampton Inn didn't disappoint there! Simple, lots to choose from. Hot & cold items basics to start the day. We didn't know about the "happy hour" which offered wine & beer but a sorry selection of snacks. But hey it was free! Nice to sit & gather your thoughts before heading out for the evening. Austin offers a wide selection of entertainment to pick from...whatever your amusement. Just don't be hungry after 11 pm as the choices narrow, at least during the week day. Wasn't there for the weekend.
Our King Suite was large & very accommodating. Fridge, sink & micro. Quiet too. There is lots of long term construction going on & we lucked out not being on the noisy side of the building. Unless you're hard wire connected on the computer the room wi-fi sucked for our iPhones, even with the password.
I would definitely stay here again. Austin was awesome!

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the construction side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenofBiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 km away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.6 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing