We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch, Lunch or Dinner - Can't Miss”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #13 of 902 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Real Mexican food is a feast for the senses. From colorful peppers to the sounds of sizzling fajitas all the way to that incredible flavor. Each mouthful is just as much a result of the freshest ingredients as it is a result of the chef's expertise. Abuelo's offers diners the opportunity to experience real Mexican food, combining authentic, made from scratch classic dishes with the rich, subtle flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine. Our executive Chef Luis Sanchez has spent decades perfecting our menu, and we boast a wide selection of wood-grilled fajitas, enchiladas, tacos, chile rellenos or Abuelo's unique House Specialties (depending on your location). To compliment your meal, our expert bartenders are masters at crafting signature favorites, including a wide variety of margaritas and swirls. Catering is also an option, our staff are adept at delivering a professional, hassle-free and delicious meal. Whatever the occasion, we'll stop at nothing to make your time at Abuelo's a memorable dining experience.
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We went for brunch and the food was great! The atmosphere is comfortable and the staff are knowledgeable and friendly. We had the huevos rancheros. These are cheese enchiladas with red sauce and two eggs friend any way you want them. Ours came with refried beans and potatoes. Delicious! This is our go to place for Tex-Mex food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbuelosManagers, Guest Relations Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

We’re so glad that you stopped by! Thanks for the awesome review. We hope to see you soon! Thanks, Abuelo’s Guest Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Visited once with family and have been back at least once a week since. First had the stuffed chicken medallions, which was good, and then I also tried the Colorado but with grilled chicken instead of beef. However, my favourite hands down is the Salmon Santa Cruz. I literally break into a dance whenever I receive my food. I always order an extra side of cilantro lime rice (because I eat a lot :D ) However there was one time that the food was a tad too salty.
Generally, great place with great service!

Pro tip - always go for the larger bowl of guacamole if you're a party of 3 or more, especially since it's twice the size of the small and costs just about $3 more.

Thank NanahA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbuelosManagers, General Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you so much for the excellent review. We can't wait to see you back soon! Thanks, Miles Leal, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

My best friend visited me and wanted actual Mexican food (better than outside of the state, but not quite as authentic as a "hole-in'the'wall" Mom&Pop). The atmosphere here was great! A wide variety of choices on the menu. We had a great server, but I could see that many other servers were not attentive to their tables. We had appetizers, entrees, and drinks. Overall, we had a great experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbuelosManagers, General Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

We're so glad that you stopped by! Thanks for the good review, and we hope to see you back soon. Thanks, Miles Leal, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Authentic, but nothing really special, although the Margarita was pretty good. Service was good. Nothing bad, it just wasn't all that memorable.

Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbuelosManagers, General Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

We appreciate the good feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed your Margarita, however, we wish we could have impressed you more. We'd love to recommend some of our Tex Mex combos to you, if you're willing. We hope to see you back soon for another try. Thanks, Miles Leal, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I recently met friends for lunch here, and nothing about it was life-changing. It was pretty unremarkable - service, food, experience. There were no missteps, but also no high moments. They have a fairly interesting menu, seems a tad overpriced, and servers were fine, if a little inattentive. There's a lot of Mexican food in Arlington, and Abuelo's is pretty low on my list of have-to-go.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbuelosManagers, General Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

We appreciate the feedback, however, we wish we could have impressed you more. We would love to recommend one of our House Specialties or Signature Sides for you to try. We hope to see you for another try. Thanks! -Miles Leal, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing