We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rest Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Rest Stop”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My family, composed of 2 boys aged 6 and 11, my husband and myself, stayed in this hotel for one night on our way to Estes Park in Colorado. We arrived late at night on Christmas Day 2011, tired and hungry. The check-in process was efficient and we were delighted that the hotel restaurant was still open. Since it was Christmas Day, there was only one person working the floor of the restaurant, and bless her soul, she did her best to give the best service she could. The room we occupied had two big beds, a microwave and a ref. The room and the bathroom were very clean. The bath even had Bath & Body Works shampoo and lotion. :) We enjoyed our stay so much that on our way back to Texas from CO, we made this hotel our rest stop again. For sure, if we ever find ourselves going back to CO, we will be staying at Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodlandfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Woodlandfairy - Thank you so much for the review. I am glad that you stayed with us twice on your trip to Colorado. I am sure traveling Christmas Day was a bear!! We had a white Christmas here in Amarillo and I was amazed how many people have never seen snow. I am glad you received great service on your stay. Please come back soon and thank you again for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    111
    43
    34
    25
See reviews for
176
107
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here three nights for a conference last week. The staff was very good about getting breakfast ready by 5:30 as we had an early start each day. Box lunches were decent. Lobby is OK, needs some seating. Bar has a great open plan, blending into lobby and restaurant. Had one dinner in hotel restaurant - would be happy to eat there again. Good menu choices. The hotel is also surrounded by a vast array of restaurants.
Rooms are attractively furnished, if a bit tight. Comfortable mattresses and sufficiently warm bedding. The beds are pretty high off the ground- seems like that's a trend these days!
Be aware that there is a Holiday Inn *Express* only a few hundred feet away - easy to get confused. Doesn't appear to be a gas station nearby; we had to drive at least a mile or two to find one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autrevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Autrevie - it is so great to have you as our guest. We were very excited to host the Texas Ornithology conference and I was very happy with all the great comments on the meeting and banquet food. I'm understanding that your Saturday night event was excellent and it was one of the best meetings in recent years. I am glad you enjoyed the restaurant and our comfy mattresses. You guys were up early every day and opening the restaurant early was a must!! I know it's confusing with the Holiday Inn Express across the street, but I am glad you guys found us and thoroughly enjoyed your stay in Amarillo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

stayed one night and utilized conference facility for meeting next day. Really nice room, staff very friendly and attentive, great stay overall!

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tsgc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
tsgc2008 - I am glad that your meeting went well!! We strive to ensure our staff is very friendly and attentive and we appreciate your review of our hotel. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again really soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrrington
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Joel Martinez and Carlos Ramirez showed compassion and actually cared for their customers. They gave excellent service and made sure my issues were resolved. They made me feel welcomed and I will definately be coming back here. Thanks guys!!!!

Room Tip: All are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
jamesm425 - I am very happy that Carlos and Joel did an excellent job for you. They are great guys and I really enjoy having them at the hotel. We are excited to have you back at the hotel and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

You know how when you stay at an express-type hotel that you appreciate because you park your own car & get a free quick breakfast, but you miss the amenities of a full-service hotel? And when you're in a full-service hotel, you may have to valet the car and you don't get a fridge in your room and you have to pay for breakfast, but there is a restaurant downstairs available for lunch and dinner? Well you don't have to compromise any more!! At least when your travels take you to Amarillo.

The first thing you need to know about this Holiday Inn is that it's hard to find. Our GPS didn't get us there, but after 2 phone calls to the front desk (yes, write down the hotel phone number when you make your reservation!) we finally found it. But the location itself is great because of its proximity to the movie theater, restaurants & shopping.

The lobby was beautiful and the hallways & rooms had immaculate carpeting & decor. After you pass through the lobby there is a bar/seating area that has one huge screen (which had on a Cowboys football game & several smaller screens that were muted but were showing different Sunday night shows. The restaurant, just off the bar area was very nice. We ordered a club sandwich from the restaurant & took it to our room. How nice to not have to leave the hotel to find a light supper after a long day of driving.

The rooms were decorated with a flair that was both very modern & very Texan. My husband stretched out in the leather chair with ottoman to eat his sandwich & watch the game on the very large, very clear HDTV. The desk was unique because it had 2 levels. Tucked underneath the main desk was a roll-out desk. It was shorter and a better level for using our laptop. If you had a lot of work to do and needed to spread out, this would be the ideal set-up. The wireless internet worked well & a card on the desk gave us the code for it.

Also in the room was a small refrigerator & microwave. The bathroom was nice with great-smelling toiletries & plenty of fluffy towels. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly through a very quiet night. I would have liked a different type of pillow. The pillows had tags that ID'd them as either soft or firm. But I'm kind of hard to please on pillows & I didn't like either. Luckily I travel with my own pillow.

Breakfast the next morning was included with the room price (which was under $100 for a Sunday night at the senior rate). It was buffet, but there was a chef through a window who was cooking it all fresh...plain scrambled eggs, scrambled eggs with peppers added, bacon, sausages, biscuits with gravy, pancakes. And even though it was buffet style, there was a waitress who served our orange juice and coffee and brought refills. You could also order from a menu, though I don't know why you would with so many buffet choices available.

It's rare that our travels take us through Amarillo for an overnight stay, but the next time we're there, I already know where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Grandmartha - You are correct!! It is VERY NICE to stay at a full service hotel with a restaurant and bar in the hotel. It makes travels so much easier when you can get quality food and room service without ever leaving the hotel. Alot of people do not understand the difference between an express hotel and a Holiday Inn. Our breakfast is excellent with freshly cooked products and not "heat and serve" amenities. Our hotel is meant for an experience versus just an overnight stay and leave. I am glad that you not only know, but have also experienced the difference. Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again real soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.2 km away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.5 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
8.7 km away
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Property: Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Address: 8231 W Amarillo Blvd, Amarillo, TX 79124-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#6 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Amarillo's Newest Full Service Hotel that delivers Contemporary Western Decor and the Best in Texas Hospitality. Enjoy the Panhandle's only Hotel that offers an indoor Waterslide, Heated Pool, Hot Tub and Sauna. Every room offers a microwave and refrigerator with an IPOD docking station,37" Flat Panel Televisions with over 50 HD channels, Free WIFI, and offers Free Hot Breakfast to our guests. Flame Mexican Bistro and Bar offers a "Sports" theme with all of your favorite games with multiple TVs and Home Made Authentic Mexican Cuisine. Happy Hour is every day from 5pm-7pm. Please contact hotel direct for restaurant and waterslide hours. Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center is within minutes of most ALL Amarillo attractions and constructed right in the center of Restaurant Row. Enjoy a movie or shopping at The United Artist Movie Theater and Westgate Mall. Hotel offers free a free airport shuttle and transportation within a 2 mile radius. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing