We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spirit of the West with modern comfort”
Review of The Maverick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maverick Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I stayed in a Deluxe Room (House 12) and I do not want to recommend this place at all because it will probably be booked next time I am trying to make a reservation. But seriously, it was one of the best places I have ever stayed in the US and I have traveled a lot. It is not one of these chain motels or cheap motels which one cannot stand anymore. It has classic (South)Western style with all modern amenities. and, I could not believe it, a relatively quiet AC. It is located between the center and the University, about an hour+ away from the Big Bend N.P.
The pool contains fresh water constantly running in (at least this is what I guess) and it is cold and refreshing with no chlorine noticed - really nice.
The only thing one might not like is that there are a few trains passing by and making some noise.
There are a lot of little details showing that somebody really did make up his mind about what guests might want. I really loved this place.
There is also a nice garden with a BBQ place, you really can enjoy your time there on many levels.

Room Tip: Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi there!
Thank you for taking time out to send us your feedback! We take pride in paying attention to the little details for our guests, and do our best to make sure every need is met! The room you stayed in is one of my personal favorites as well. Not many of our rooms have their own front porch patio, but every room is unique in its own way too. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return! Safe travels!

Regards,
Sarah
432.837.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

This was an excellent location for sightseeing, such as Big Bend,
Marfa, Macdonald Observatory and Ft. Davis. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean.
We didn't get a chance to swim, but the pool looked good.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathyrJ2996FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello,
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback, and I am so very happy to hear you had such a great time! Come back soon, and we wish you safe travels along your journey!

Regards,
Sarah
432.837.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Was in need of an over night stay in Alpine after a wedding, plenty of space in room, comfy bed, cold AC. The pool was a little chilly even for being in the middle of september. Over all no complaints, very kind staff and across the street from the University.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sankowsky2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello!
I am thrilled to hear you had such a great time! We look forward to your return and hopefully next time the pool will be a little warmer. It stays pretty cool year round and starts really cooling off after the warm summer months are over. Safe travels and until next time!

Regards,
Sarah
432.837.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our Labor Day weekend at The Maverick Inn. The entire property is just charming, simple but so much to love. We especially enjoyed the pool. Was totally digging the vintage vibe of the pool, clean and the water was super cold, we enjoyed it everyday. We stayed in room #33, it's near the pool. The room has a King bed, it's a small room, but really clean and has everything that you need, parked literally right in front of the room. We didn't get to eat at the restaurant there because we were enjoying the local spots. Overall, we loved our stay, the only disappointment was on the day we arrived (Saturday 3:00) the lady who greeted us was very rude and not welcoming in the least bit. She looked as if she had had a long night and maybe was hungover, her appearance wasn't very professional and she had no name tag. She never wanted to give us eye contact. It kinda set the tone for awhile, but we headed to the pool and had some beers and just hoped we didn't have to deal with her again. The other girls were pleasant. Besides the rude first encounter, we enjoyed our stay at The Maverick Inn and highly recommend it. Thai Way (food truck) and Guzzi's has great food.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Solarsys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi there!
We appreciate you taking the time to send us some feedback and are glad to hear you had such a great time! I apologize for any miscommunications from the staff and we hope you give us another chance to show you just how great we are! Safe travels and we look forward to your return!

Regards,
Sarah
432.837.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We have stayed at the Maverick Inn 2 times now when traveling to Sul Ross. It is an "older model "travel inn" wiith a ton of charm and personality. The rooms have been very clean. The staff have been very friendly and accommodating. The swimming pool area was beautiful and well cared for.

The only negative is that the train goes by in the middle of the night. However, The staff leaves ear plugs in your room should you want them.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mundkowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello!
We are delighted to continually have you back and appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with us! With our location directly across the from the University it makes for a fun and easy get away for parents when visiting their students. Thank you for coming back and we look forward to your return!

Regards,
Sarah
432.837.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
1.3 km away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
516 reviews
4.7 km away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
36.1 km away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
575 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick Inn

Address: 1200 E Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-5108
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: €102 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a boutique historic hotel, we've got you covered. The Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities, a complimentary country breakfast, and high speed Internet access. We are located across the street from Sul Ross State University and are near Big Bend National Park. Come stay with us at The Maverick Inn, the True Roadhouse for Wanderers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Maverick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing