We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$192
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Alpine)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$187
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Value Lodge(Alpine)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
269
118
35
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
118
35
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotor courtwest texasfire pitbig bendyogurtsaltillo tilesul ross universitywestern decorcontinental breakfastsister propertybiscuitsadobe stylewalls are thinroadside motelsausagethe young ladycomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This was an excellent location for sightseeing, such as Big Bend,
Marfa, Macdonald Observatory and Ft. Davis. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean.
We didn't get a chance to swim, but the pool looked good.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathyrJ2996FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello,
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback, and I am so very happy to hear you had such a great time! Come back soon, and we wish you safe travels along your journey!

Regards,
Sarah
432.837.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Was in need of an over night stay in Alpine after a wedding, plenty of space in room, comfy bed, cold AC. The pool was a little chilly even for being in the middle of september. Over all no complaints, very kind staff and across the street from the University.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sankowsky2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello!
I am thrilled to hear you had such a great time! We look forward to your return and hopefully next time the pool will be a little warmer. It stays pretty cool year round and starts really cooling off after the warm summer months are over. Safe travels and until next time!

Regards,
Sarah
432.837.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our Labor Day weekend at The Maverick Inn. The entire property is just charming, simple but so much to love. We especially enjoyed the pool. Was totally digging the vintage vibe of the pool, clean and the water was super cold, we enjoyed it everyday. We stayed in room #33, it's near the pool. The room has a King bed, it's a small room, but really clean and has everything that you need, parked literally right in front of the room. We didn't get to eat at the restaurant there because we were enjoying the local spots. Overall, we loved our stay, the only disappointment was on the day we arrived (Saturday 3:00) the lady who greeted us was very rude and not welcoming in the least bit. She looked as if she had had a long night and maybe was hungover, her appearance wasn't very professional and she had no name tag. She never wanted to give us eye contact. It kinda set the tone for awhile, but we headed to the pool and had some beers and just hoped we didn't have to deal with her again. The other girls were pleasant. Besides the rude first encounter, we enjoyed our stay at The Maverick Inn and highly recommend it. Thai Way (food truck) and Guzzi's has great food.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Solarsys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi there!
We appreciate you taking the time to send us some feedback and are glad to hear you had such a great time! I apologize for any miscommunications from the staff and we hope you give us another chance to show you just how great we are! Safe travels and we look forward to your return!

Regards,
Sarah
432.837.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We have stayed at the Maverick Inn 2 times now when traveling to Sul Ross. It is an "older model "travel inn" wiith a ton of charm and personality. The rooms have been very clean. The staff have been very friendly and accommodating. The swimming pool area was beautiful and well cared for.

The only negative is that the train goes by in the middle of the night. However, The staff leaves ear plugs in your room should you want them.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mundkowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello!
We are delighted to continually have you back and appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with us! With our location directly across the from the University it makes for a fun and easy get away for parents when visiting their students. Thank you for coming back and we look forward to your return!

Regards,
Sarah
432.837.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This little hotel is very much West Texas! We stayed in the suite that had a queen and a king bed......very nice and very clean. There is one feature that I feel needs to be pointed out about this motel. It is nicely sandwiched between Sul Ross State University across the street and.........(sadly) the rail road track right behind the hotel. We stayed two nights. The first night the train came by and blew it's whistle very loudly. We counted at least five different times. The second night, we only heard the whistle at two different times. Could be that we were so tired from the lack of sleep the first night, that we didn't hear the other times. Just beware, not so restful. They did leave earplugs on the desk in the room, with a little paragraph about the train conductor that blew the whistle so much being fired. (Evidently, he hasn't been)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hi there!
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to send us some feedback. The room you stayed in is also a personal favorite of mine; plenty of room for the kids to run around and for everyone to enjoy their own space. I apologize for the noisy trains. Unfortunately these are hard to avoid out here in West Texas, but we hope to see you again soon and wish you safe travels along your way!

Regards,
Sarah
Maverick Manager
432.837.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews