We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Not Return”
Review of The Maverick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maverick Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Place looks great in photos. But they don't mention the train tracks near the back of the property, and that trains use that track often during the night. Pool was nice, room spacious, mattresses were awful! They felt like they were wrapped in vinyl! Doors stick. Mold looks to be growing up the wall from the bathroom floor. Management says door sticking due to swelling caused by weather conditions. They provided breakfast. Sausage links, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy. I've had better at McDonalds.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank MarySekula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole v, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Hello Mary,

I am sorry you did not find your stay to be to our standards. Alpine is a rail town and was built around the railroad. Truly there is no where in town that you will not hear the train, however we gladly provide ear plugs in every room for guests who do not enjoy the train.

Earlier in the year we replaced all the mattresses in the hotel with Serta Concierge Series mattresses, however we know that mattress comfort is different for everyone so we have several mattress pads for anyone who finds them to be stiff. We also have stained concrete walls in several of the bathrooms and we understand that the mottled coloring can be alarming, but please be assured the color changes on the walls are to help set the rustic, old west tones, not mold.

Please feel free to reach out should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail. We are always looking for places to improve and appreciate our guests comments and criticisms.

Sincerely,

Nicole van Winden
General Manager
The Maverick Inn
manager@TheMaverickInn.com
432-837-0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2016

Very pleased with the western motife of the room, pool was clean and fresh eggs eggs for breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful compare to other hotels we stayed during our 2 week road trip.The Maverick is very pretty and I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Very cute,clean, and comfy. We took our 2big dogs, a lab and a german shepherd, so it was a little bit tight, gut smaller ones would be okay. Breakfast was good, scrambled eggs and sausage, with fruits and yogurt too. Friendly staff,.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D5695DHmaryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Whenever i go to Alpine, i stay at the Maverick. I go there for business and go about every 6 months.
The only down side is the water pressure, some rooms have lower water pressure.
Love the breakfast, they have a hot breakfast, not some rolls and cold cereal and say they offer breakfast. I have stayed at most other places, I think this is the best value.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donaldz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Make sure a biker gang is it staying when you go. Lots of smoking drinking and swearing. Not a place for a family
Staff pleasant and rooms clean. Ice machine didn't work and couldn't use pool because taken over by bikers

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sherries560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole v, General Manager at The Maverick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Hello Sherri,

I am so sorry that you had trouble with some other patrons. We do welcome all guests but have always found our biker groups to be respectful. Please know that if you ever have an issue, we would like you to bring it to the front desk so that we can address it immediately. There is no smoking or drinking allowed in the pool area and we would have been happy to ask them to please observe the posted rules.

Our ice machine does have a part on order, but we have bags of ice in our freezer in the office for any guests that need ice until the repair is completed.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy you found our rooms clean and our staff friendly.

Safe Travels,
Nicole van Winden
General Manager
The Maverick Inn
manager@themaverickinn.com
432.8.37.0628

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
1.3 km away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
515 reviews
4.7 km away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
36.1 km away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
575 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maverick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maverick Inn

Address: 1200 E Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-5108
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: €102 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maverick Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a boutique historic hotel, we've got you covered. The Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities, a complimentary country breakfast, and high speed Internet access. We are located across the street from Sul Ross State University and are near Big Bend National Park. Come stay with us at The Maverick Inn, the True Roadhouse for Wanderers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Maverick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing