We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel for the money”
Review of Sunday House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunday House Inn
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I booked this hotel as a second choice to the Quality Inn across the street, Quality had raised there rate to $ 139.00 for spring break, not worth $ 139. The Sunday House is nice, and clean, but a bit small. I was put in a room that is an annex to the hotel which was fine, and probably to be honest,less noise. As I said clean, but no coffee pot in the room. However a micro wave and fridge. TV was good on Dish TV. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are better, close to parking.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SalesDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Sunday House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Not fancy for sure but a good bed, large room and clean. Suggest you bring your own shampoo and soap but there was plenty of hot water. The soap that waa furnished was sad. We didn't try the breakfast so can't comment.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TexasBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I dis-like writing bad reviews, but this motel requires one.
The ground had trash all around (see photo). The trash was almost blocking stairwell to second floor rooms. (Yes, it was passable for the fire marshal standards.)

The hotel guests were LOUD. I asked the guest politely twice to be quiet after 3:00 a.m. I then call the desk. No assistance from the desk on quieting noisy neighbors.

When I checked out and request to cancel, the desk and the owner wanted more money that what is required by on-line booking service. The owner would not move me to another area.

As stated in other reviews, all bed mattress are firm. If you like hard mattresses, this might be a good motel. I was turning all night and even slept on top the bed cover just to get some more padding. (I still did not get any sleep).

The motel offers some breakfast, but it did not live up to expectations.
The orange juice tasted like orange drink/Tang.
Coffee was weak and cool that morning.
There was few small amount of food place out for consumption.

There are some good things about this motel:
Yes, the rooms are larger.
The offer "Very firm" mattresses.
The location is on east side of Alpine close to university.

Quite frankly, I had a better stay in another motel in Alpine.
I am glad that I checked out after one night
I can not recommend this motel to others.

Room Tip: I can not recommend.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Texas_Travel_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

I had a meeting in Alpine, Texas and arrived about 7 am on a Saturday. They let me check in for a small $20 fee and I slept comfortable before my meeting at Sul Ross State University. I then had Dinner at the famous Reata Alpine restaurant, came back to Sunday house, had a nice sleep, and there breakfast was decent and included real bacon. I checked out about 10 am and was off to next meeting in Amarillo. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Clean and comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tinytimmm810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

To start, when you travel to Alpine you don't expect a very good hotel. The rooms are big and rather clean. Isolation between rooms is poor, the walls are trembling as soon as someone walks the stairs ou shuts a door. The really bad thing is the breafast. It was terrible. When i got there there was almost nothing left to eat or drink, and the woman at the reception only suggested that i wait 20 min for a refill. After that there was finally a refill, but the bread was terrible, there was very limited choices. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank christophe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alpine hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
332 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
1.1 km away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Oak Tree Inn Alpine
Oak Tree Inn Alpine
#10 of 13 in Alpine
57 reviews
5.8 km away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
62 reviews
5.4 km away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday House Inn

Address: 2010 East Highway 90, Alpine, TX
Region: United States > Texas > Alpine
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: €67 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunday House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sunday House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday House Hotel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing