We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
79
74
16
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
74
16
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog park cinnamon rolls some tlc community park usa today weekend trip ohio university would definitely stay here again lady working room was clean stayed one night front desk staff we've stayed bike trail place to stay short drive first floor
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Front desk staff were friendly, knowledgeable and very efficient on this crazy busy graduation weekend. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast/common area was clean and well furnished, but a bit small for a hotel that was full on the weekend. The friendly, efficient staff more than compensated for the small room at peak usage. Would definitely stay here again. The hotel is reasonably close to the University housing and activity areas.

Room Tip: We were on first floor near pool
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We have stayed here before and had a good experience so we tried again. This is by a dog park and it was cold so not many people using the park. I asked for a top floor but was given the 2nd floor. We did have some heavy walker(s) above but they weren't up too late or too early. The room was by the cleaning closet which also could have been noisy, but we left early so weren't disturbed by that. I used my free night from my rewards program, I wonder if that is what you are given since I didn't pay? Anyway, the staff is friendly and the food is good. They are going through some renovations which didn't affect us, but may be an issue depending upon where your room is located.

Room Tip: Top floor when possible
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 243DLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hello, I would like to apologize to you for being placed on the second floor. Our third floor is under renovations and we try to keep our guests as far away from the construction as possible during this time.
We would be delighted for you to come back and stay with us after the renovations are complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

From the cleanliness to the staff, the rooms were really nice, kind of cramped space wise, but not horribly so. The pool was a touch dirty, could have used to be delimed, especially in the hot tub. The breakfast was wonderful and even included gluten free paatries, which was a nice touch for my friend that has gluten intolerance. Over all a wonderful stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here three times in the last year. The staff is wonderful but the property is inconsistent. Like all hotels in the area it's very overpriced. It does have the best pet rate at $15 per stay. The property has been under renovation for the past year. This time it was the entire entrance area. I've never understood how they can charge full rates when guests have to walk through such a mess coming and going. Breakfast, which has been steadily going downhill, was in a crowded conference room. There are lots of choices but it's all prepackaged and low quality food service fare. On our first visit, we were pleased with the experience. The next visit, our room, especially the carpet, just wasn't clean. This time we had a room over the indoor pool. Big mistake. The room (226) smelled like humid chlorine and we could actually hear guests who were in the pool including splashing and wave noises. Luckily, there were no sports teams staying or it would have been a much bigger issue. The ventilation system outside the window ran constantly. The room was always too hot or cold no matter how we adjusted the thermostat. The hallways were extremely warm which may have been part of the problem. At $120 a night, it's all just too much to put up with even considering the morning cinnamon rolls.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank faulconmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear faulconmom,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We certainly appreciate your nice feedback on our staff. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the renovation, and for not living up to your expectations regarding our breakfast selection, facilities and room cleanliness. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback has been forwarded to the management team for reference.

We value you as our gauest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We just got a puppy and we're in need of a hotel that would accommodate him as well as us. We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness, ammenities (great free breakfast, pool and fitness center)and very helpful and friendly staff.
Would highly recommend it whether it be you are traveling with or without a pet. Would definitely stay there again next time we visit Kearney!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review of our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed the stay.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews