We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan of middle eastern food but delicious ”
Review of Restaurant Salaam

Restaurant Salaam
Ranked #1 of 127 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$28
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

On s recent Saturday visiting our Athens friends we decided that something different was in order. While I can’t speak from a comparable view my lamb was perfectly cooked and very, very good. I suggest s salad as the greens are fresh and crisp and various homemade dressings are terrific. Can’t go wrong with this place as service and prices are exceptional

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Mortgageman9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

When the doors opened at 5:30 pm on a Saturday, we were among groups of people who had been waiting to get in. The first thing we saw were framed recognitions on the wall of this Mediterranean focused restaurant. That was a very good sign. Then we noticed the cozy feel. Bold earthy colors for the curtains, rugs, tablecloths and walls. We were seated in a small dining spot looking out into the bigger dining space. Nice, but increasing loud with lively customers.
As for the food.....It met every expectation. We started off with a small sized baba dish that was enough for 4. Yes their bread is good, but not really feeling the red pepper sauce. I guess it is a matter of personal taste. The lamb dishes were tender and cooked to order. Well seasoned with morrocan flavors. The chops were better than the kabob. Nice meaty Australian lamb chops. The jasmine rice was a nice compliment, but the side vegetables had way too many large onion chunks. The curry dishes were not sutle, instead bursting in flavor and taste. Slightly sauteed tofu could be added. Either way was good. Entrees include an option of salad or soup. You can't go wrong with either. The salads were made with fresh ingredients and interesting homemade tasting dressings. Very good. We enjoyed our meal even more when we saw the prices!!! It could easily cost 25% more in Columbus for the same.
Our server did a good job considering the place filled up fast with other customers. By time we left the place was packed, with people waiting for tables.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank open_to_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

This place is nice enough, but with the name you expect that you will be able to get authentic Middle Eastern food. Not the case. It's more of a fusion. Also, I heard from someone who used to work there that they get their dolma out of a can. Turkish coffee is also very bad. Nothing like real Turkish coffee. It's pricey for Athens and has some ambience, which can be nice for a date. Some of the entrees are very nice. Just don't expect authentic Mid East food.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank dgchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We were very comfortable with about 25 people and it was quiet enough to chat. Food was great! We always stop by when we are in town.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Traveling from Michigan to South Carolina we found ourselves needing lunch so my wife looked on line and found Restaurant Salaam in Athens, Ohio. It was an excellent find. Superb middle eastern and Indian food. I had a hummus wrap and a cup of gazpacho, my wife had a gyro wrap and a cup of chicken soup. Everything was great. Well worth the trip into town off the highway.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Salaam also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing