We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just not worth staying!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Cross Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Cross Hotel
Ranked #66 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Just not worth staying!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I just stayed there for one night, since my flight arrived late in the evening! It was my second time... This time they dropped me in a very small and muffy room, no windows...
I requested another one and got it, this time with a window...but still soooo small! There are no real walls between the rooms, it's more like a kind of carton, so I don't have to explain you that I heard everything what was happening in the neighboor room!
The hotels bar is fine and staff are friendly, but the rooms itself are much over prized!
I booked the bus service from the hotel to Angeles, but this time the big bus was broken so we were all packed in a small mini van ... But normally this is a nice service as well!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sammypla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
2
13
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Honestly this is not my place to be, thu i went there several times because i use to know some waitress.
Its an australien owned hotel bar, with hookers in the bar you can take with you to your room.
When you are a man alone in maila,why not. But when you are with a partner or family you will be disappointed and might have troubles with your wife.
Many australien man with tatoo's sitting in the bar.
However the prices and food quality is rather good.
Note that the neighborhood is paupered and almost a red district area.

Room Tip: 100 mtrs from there, you find an other australien hotel "duck inn" its cleaner,cosy and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amiceManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The first think that i realized is that the walls are very thin! the noise from the TV from the neighbouring room kept me up all night. The hotel was good though in a sense that its location is situated near places of interest and there are amenities around the hotel (etc convenience stores) And for the price its very value for money. Room was clean though i could do with a bit more lights. There's electricity and air - con plus a fridge so its always welcomed.

All in all a no - frills stay. Staff is pretty friendly thought they forgot my reservations for a taxi to the airport. The staff on duty promptly helped me hail one a 2am.

one point to note, there might be quite a fair but of homeless people around the streets surrounding the hotels. you might want to watch your bags.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeiKurono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

The people are friendly and helpful, but this is not a place for a family. It is a budget hotel, free WiFi, but it is not a place you want to bring your small kids through.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

The hotel is reasonably clean but I did not like the surroundings. If you go out in the night there are homeless people sleeping on the street everywhere and there are many red light bars. The place it self is a little bit worn out and the wallls are very thin. Dont be surprised to hear the TV of your neighbor or any other sounds...

If you are looking for La Cafe and such places it is an option otherwise better choose anther place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Rosa's Garden Hotel
Rosa's Garden Hotel
#42 of 110 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Time Travellers Hotel
#34 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Ermita
Paragon Tower Hotel
Paragon Tower Hotel
#47 of 110 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Gran Prix Hotel and Suites Manila
Silver Oaks Suites & Hotel
#45 of 110 in Manila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Malate
Casa Nicarosa Hotel
Casa Nicarosa Hotel
#81 of 110 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Hotel

Property: Southern Cross Hotel
Address: 1125 Del Pilar St. Ermita | Metro Manila, Manila, Luzon 1011, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southern Cross Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Southern Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing