We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essentially Chinese Bar”
Review of Opium KL

Opium KL
Ranked #20 of 4,901 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Introducing Opium KL! Established on 12th July 2014, this unique outlet focuses on Asian Oriental delights with a twist; such as Phoenix Dumpling, Fern Leaf Salad, Crispy Duck Noodles, Wagyu Beef Rendang, and the signature Beef Brisket & Tendon Stew just to name a few. Inspired by the Opium regimes of the east, the interior speaks for itself. Furnished with age-old artifacts such as an opium bed in the Rose Room, opium pipes and huge Chinese wine pots displayed vividly at the Communal area, the outlet aspires a 1930s-1960s look and feel. It's slogan, Eat Drink Man Woman takes a more subtle approach to distinguish Opium KL as the place for people to unwind and focus purely on the food, conversation and quality time.
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Opium is centrally located in KL. Its essentially chinese style bar . Decent service , good collection. Best thing ,I liked was drinking beer in bowls , chinese style. Accompaniment choice is very limited to spring rolls, samosas etc. It offers a different , serene ambience to unwind. Must visit while in KL.

Thank YogeshSriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi YogeshSriva, thank you for your support and the lovely review! It's indeed a pleasure serving you towards a memorable dining experience! Glad that you enjoyed our food and dining experience here. Looking forward to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2018

Funky decor, attentive staff and unusual cocktails among the hustle and bustle of regular bars-nicely themed

Thank Derm0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi Derm0B, thanks for the lovely reviews! We could not have been any happier to know that our customer enjoyed their time with us. It is our pleasure to be able to serve you and please come back to visit us anytime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Came here based on the ratings. Ordered some exciting options and a beer.

Full of tourist families but I'm a tourist too.

Asked after 30 minutes where my spring rolls were. Panic. 10 minutes later they came to see me and told me my crab main was off.Fawlty towers anyone.

I asked them why it took 30 minutes to tell me my choices were off. Waitress ran away. Grabbed large Chinese waiter and asked for bill
He brought bill for all food I ordered but hadn't received. Questioned this and he ran away with no comment. Then got bill for 30 MYR for one bottle of heinekin

Paid guy and asked if he knew real restaurant where they actually served food. He recommended place across the street which they also own.

Most people like this place so they are either luckier than me or have no sense.

Don't ever come here is my opinion for what it's worth.

Bummed out on Bukit Butang

Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi Tim M, we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. It’s only through feedback like yours that we are able to improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. We apologise that we missed the mark here (due to some miscommunication between our new service staff and kitchen) and will ensure that your next experience with us will be exceptional

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent food and cheap prices. Very nice location, staff and music. Very good also just for a drink. Really suggested!!!

Thank Gianluigi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi Gianluigi S, thanks for the lovely reviews! We could not have been any happier to know that our customer enjoyed their time with us. It is our pleasure to be able to serve you and please come back to visit us anytime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We read about this place online and we thought we'd give it a try as our first Malaysian food experience. The vibe was amazing, they had a musician playing Malaysian beats, the staff was nice and well informed. The order came fairly fast, our apple juice was tasty and fresh, the food presentation was really nice and appealing but the taste didn't match the looks, sadly they weren't too fresh! Fried food felt a bit soggy and the satay had a bitter aftertaste. You'll enjoy the place if you're not hungry and just want to grab a drink.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Majournie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werners K, Public Relations Manager at Opium KL, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi Majournie, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's indeed a pleasure serving you. Truly appreciate your patronage and support. Glad that the ambiance and our service had left an impression in your dining experience. As a dining outlet that emphasises on the variety and quality of food that we serve, we strive to offer an improved dining experience if you decide to visit us again. Looking forward to see you around soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opium KL also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Opium KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing