We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petty, prejudiced staff, decrepit amenities, and dirty. That nice area must have alternative hotels: flee, people!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #82 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Let's stick to the facts in the order we encountered them:

- We booked 11 nights in a Deluxe Room with city view on a 'bed and breakfast' basis;

- We were led to our room by a bell-boy and slumped into the beds following an extenuating 9-hour flight and 1-hour airport to hotel transfer. Upon waking up, we realise why the curtains were pulled and closed: we were overlooked by flats from the other side of the road. we were blessed with no new of the sky in whatever angle you would contort yourself, but for about 3 minutes of the day, you could catch a sun ray of about 15mm width. Wow...

- The bathroom:
There was no soap for the first day. They repaired their mistake and left us with more than needed, a surplus of 11 discs on our last day.
Worse: there is mould everywhere in the bathroom: the drain, the tile joints on the wall... plus we have had to call a plumber four times to unclog the toilet over our 11 nights' stay. The mirrors and all surfaces exposed to drips/splashes around sink were never cleaned, as the ceramic-tiled walls of the room which bore the traces of hands from previous clients...
Still worse: the water is very hard/scaly, causing me unending itchiness after bathing.

- The room.
For the reminder, we had purchased a 'city view' room. But upon waking up from our first slumber, we realised upon opening the curtains that there were occupied flats (complete with unmade beds, kitchens and washing machines) just across the road overlooking us...
When we displaced the beds to make sleeping space for our two children, we were assailed by dust having gathered over many many years from underneath their previous position. The same dust was on every horizontal surface you can imagine the bed headboard, the night lamps, the TV set, etc.
Since we were not guided into our room, it is only on the third day that we discovered the complimentary tea bags and fridge located beneath the TV set (strange placement; it will be from only design contradiction in this hotel). And then the welcoming note: a dusty plastic-coated letter dated in January 2015!!!
The air conditioning was too aggressive: it could not be adjusted to a warmer temperature, so it was either too harsh or just had to be switched off. So, I had to wake up at night to ensure that my children were neither bathing in their own perspiration or not blue from cold.
The interior architect managed to provide a pair of bed level night lamps, one of which I bumped into and broke with my forehead - it was in GLASS! I was very lucky not to have been cut/blinded by the shards. When the hotel representative came up to reprogram the cards, the first thing he talked to me was to complain about the breakage and the associated reduction in the RM200 deposit made during checking in. He remained completely indifferent and deaf to my concerns about the room and amenities. Same attitude at the reception and over the phone by those who took the calls after more than 15 ringing tones...

- The meals area.
You are required to recite your room number every single time you come in for breakfast. Even if it’s the tenth time you are coming down for the meal, the Maitre D’ pretends he/she never saw you before, and not even acknowledges your ‘hello’, ‘good morning’ or whatever greetings you may utter. This first breakfast was only a prequel of the highly variable level of warmth the staff can display. Hopefully, the cooks were always great, and the omelette specialists have very good manners. Otherwise, the options are very monotonous – if you want variety, every odd day red watermelon was replaced by yellow watermelon, chicken sausages by jacket potatoes, and that’s about it! Otherwise, you have to ask for plain water (only icy cold and boiling hot is available: mix them if you want room-temperature water)

- The swimming pool
It may seem a great idea to locate a swimming pool on the third floor and therefore shield it from the scorching heat of outside. However, lack of sunlight exposure causes the water to remain icy cold, and for bathers who happen to dive, it's a cruel reminder of the poor design of the hotel amenities. On top of that, you would be well-advised to wear swimming goggles, as the water will irritate your eyes from the suspended particles that remain in the unfiltered water. These particles can be seen only at certain times of the day, or when the pool attendants have the courtesy of switching on the pool lights. But then, you will notice how this hotel badly needs a refurbishment: the paint and concrete surfaces are getting spalled from exposure to the chlorine emanating from the pool. Plus there are old flashings, screws and supports formerly used for decorations that still protrude from the columns. But health and safety hazards do not stop here: there are bare electric wires near the showers. Ah, be warned that the showers do not have any doors - nice to see you manage to wash off that excess chlorine from your skin, and then see that there is no privacy to change into dry clothes: you will be left with walking to room with wet clothes under that super-aggressive air conditioning.

- The hotel lobby/reception area
Well lit, but unwelcoming staff: during the 10 days' stay, despite clocking an average of 4 passages per day, none of the attendants ever opened the door for us, nor acknowledged (verbally or even a nod) my hearty 'hello', 'how are you?', 'good morning', 'good evening'. I have seen more enthusiastic 'Willkommen' in no-starred 25EUR/night IBIS 'hotels' with a robot clocking-in machines opening the door for me...
The indifference of the reception to the objective problems of the room (air conditioning, bathroom, toilet, etc) was most revealing, as the same hotel staff were often seen exchanging pleasantries with clients of Arabic, Malay or European origins, but never with those like me, which betrays their 4-star status as a sham.

- The location
probably the only positive point: this hotel is within 2 minutes' walking time from the Bukit Bintang's Golden Triangle, where there is a vivid cultural event at any time until late night, especially near the Starbucks/McDo outlets. The Lot 10 mall is a very nice place to eat and shop, as well as many malls very close Sungei Wang (opposite), Low Yat Plaza or Berjaya Times Square and Pavillion. But remember that there are many other options like Park Royal Hotel and others in the same area.

Overall, based on the above facts:
If you are an Arab, Malay or Westerner, and with low reluctance to dirtiness, as your origin will elicit more kindness from the staff who will pamper you, then you should feel that it could be a nice place for you, and you'll probably have a nice stay.
Otherwise, flee.
It is objectively a lousy hotel plagued by petty, prejudiced staff callously lacking any empathy, decrepit and dirty infrastructure that begs for a refurbishment; this would warrant a total refund for the price. Surely this is NOT a four-star hotel.

NOTE to Hotel Royal: your most dignified reaction to this review (remember, I paid for a service that was not given to me, and I'm not paid to promote your thing) would be tackling all these factual problems that I have highlighted for you for FREE instead of desperately attempting to throw anything at me. Ah sorry, I'm already guilty of not being Arab, Malay or Westerner.

Room Tip: Our 'city view' was overlooked by flats across the road, with no sight of the sky ever! Mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Akash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalKL, General Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Akash G,

Greetings from Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur as your preferred accommodation during your recent trip to the city.

We regret the shortcomings you experienced during your recent stay with us.
We have taken your comments seriously and rest assured , we have conducted an investigation into the matter and have already taken measures to ensure that your experience will not be repeated.

We understand if you feel discouraged to visit us again however we can only sincerely hope that you will re - evaluate us again in order for us to prove our dedication to our guest.


Warm Regards,

Sazrul Fadzil
General Manager
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights. It is in a great location close to lots of action. Also good transport links.
The hotel is fine, check in was efficient - we arrived early and our room was not ready, but we were still in by 1.30pm. The room was clean and comfy. The service to the room was ok - they forgot to put in any towels and did not restock the tea. The area is nice, nothing special but fine for a swim! Breakfast is buffet style with a fair choice. Overall not bad for the price and suited us fine.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalKL, General Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Ruth A,

Greetings from Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur as your preferred accommodation during your recent trip to the city.

We write to let you know that we are greatly appreciate your positive comments on the services.

In addition to our gratitude, your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.

Finally, should you be making future plans to visit Kuala Lumpur again, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.

Warm Regards,

Sazrul Fadzil
General Manager
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Definitely a good location in town, and surrounding with a few shopping malls, all in walking distance of 3-10 mins. Transportation is very convenient. Even I asked for non-smoking room, still the smell was still there.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fennychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalKL, General Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Fenny Chow,

Greetings from Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur as your preferred accommodation during your recent trip to the city.

We write to let you know that we are greatly appreciate your positive comments on the services.

In addition to our gratitude, your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.

Finally, should you be making future plans to visit Kuala Lumpur again, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.

Warm Regards,

Sazrul Fadzil
General Manager
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Check in was fast, but you need to pay a deposit for 200rm.I booked the deluxe room but it was unavailable when i went there so they upgrade my room to the executive room. The room is spacious. The location of this hotel is amazing, next to park royal and in front of Sungei Wang, you can walk to many shopping center. Breakfast was okay. The hospitality of the staff is good

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank arfina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalKL, General Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Arfina23,

Greetings from Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur as your preferred accommodation during your recent trip to the city.

We write to let you know that we are greatly appreciate your positive comments on the services.

In addition to our gratitude, your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.

Finally, should you be making future plans to visit Kuala Lumpur again, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.

Warm Regards,

Sazrul Fadzil
General Manager
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days , when we arrived home after long flight hours we realized that our item still inside the safe box ,soon after we did contact the hotel counter and they keep my item safely
I went there and get my item few days later

Thank you for your honesty act

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank cho a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoyalKL, General Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Cho A,

Greetings from Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur as your preferred accommodation during your recent trip to the city.

We write to let you know that we are greatly appreciate your positive comments on the services.

In addition to our gratitude, your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.

Finally, should you be making future plans to visit Kuala Lumpur again, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.

Warm Regards,

Sazrul Fadzil
General Manager
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
3,541 reviews
0.2 km away
InnB Park Hotel
InnB Park Hotel
#94 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
42 reviews
0.2 km away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#54 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#59 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
1,183 reviews
0.4 km away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#81 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
794 reviews
0.2 km away
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
#67 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Address: Jalan Walter Grenier, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Coronade Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: €44 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented 20-story Hotel located at the heart of the business center, 100 meters from Bukit Bintang Monorail Station & 50 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronade Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing