We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$244
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$100
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$90
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$90
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$146
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$108
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$214
US$208
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,345)
Filter reviews
4,345 results
Traveller rating
1,933
1,515
545
198
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,933
1,515
545
198
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungetaman saribukit bintangpetronas towersmonorail stationbuffet breakfastpavilion malldeluxe roomrotanaklshoppingsinksfoyertaxisindianchinatown
Filter
Updating list...
2,897 - 2,902 of 4,345 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at Hotel Istana from 7 to 10 June 2012 and enjoyed every moment of our stay there. Our room was clean and the housekeeping staff were very efficient and very prompt in answering our calls and delivering our requests such as extra pillows and a blanket. Our mini-fridge was faulty and within minutes of our complaint, it was replaced. We were very surprised and appreciative of the extra effort that the hotel staff were willing to put in.

We were also impressed by the waiters and chefs who served the buffet breakfast (cafe facing the swimming pool). Not forgetting the antics of the chef who manned the omellette counter. He was very friendly and entertaining.

In a nutshell, the services rendered by the staff of Hotel Istana surpassed our our expectations. Kudos to the management.

We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fauzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Limo pick up from airport was on time and pleasant. Arrived late night at hotel but service at check in was great. Breakfast was amazing and definitely didn't need lunch after that. Ate in one of the hotel resataraunt "Urban" couple of times, food and service excellent. Room was a little bit tired, (was upgraded to a suite) and the gym was put out of service by flooding after a heavy storm. Staff very friendly and helpful. Overall impression was very good, good value, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at the Hotel Istana for 2 nights at the beginning of June 2012. We were very impressed with every aspect of the hotel, and with the service we received. The staff were exceptionally helpful and professional, and I can honestly say we did not encounter any problems during our stay.

Rooms were large, spacious and spotlessly clean. We asked for a room with a view of the Petronas Towers, and the view from our 17th floor room was spectacular. Previous reviews have commented that the rooms are dated and in need in refurbishment; whilst I agree that the rooms are not ‘cutting edge’ or particularly modernistic, they are well appointed and decorate, and I wouldn’t go so far as to say they are dated in any way. Yes the TV isn’t flatscreen, but as we were only in KL for 2 nights, we didn’t have chance to sit in the room and watch TV anyway!

We upgraded to the Club Lounge for one night of our stay- for approx £15 per person, this allowed access to the Club Lounge and an upgraded room (we didn’t bother changing rooms, as we were on our last night already). The Club Lounge provides breakfast, afternoon tea and snacks, wi fi access and, best of all, a cocktail and canapé hour between 5.30-7.30. The cocktail hour was serve yourself, and there was a selection of wines, beer, vodka, gin etc. The canapés were in the form of a mini-buffet, and were more than adequate for an evening meal. I would highly recommend upgrading, for the breakfast and cocktail hour alone (as alcoholic drinks in KL aren’t particularly cheap, the cocktail hour alone is worth the upgrade fee).

The pool area is very pleasant- there are sun beds (although not many), and fresh towels are readily available. A member of staff came around serving complimentary chilled fruit kebabs, which was a nice touch. As the pool is positioned between several high rise buildings, you will need to move your bed throughout the day in order to ‘chase’ the sun, but that is to be expected in a city centre hotel.

We had a drink in the lobby bar one evening, which was very grand and atmospheric. The drinks are by no means cheap- I paid approximately £6 for sparkling water. But it was worth it for the fantastic service by the waitresses, and the small snack selection they provide with each drink.

Location wise, the hotel could not be better placed. There are numerous restaurants/bars/malls all within a 10 minutes walk. The walk to the Petronas Towers is via an air conditioned walkway, which was very welcome given the heat.

We paid 75 ringgits for a taxi from the airport to the hotel- if you approach the official taxi desk when leaving arrivals, they will give you a fixed price, and the taxi will then take you to the hotel quickly and easily. We were approached by an unauthorised taxi driver, who quoted us 120 ringgits, and then proceeds to harass us when we refused and opted for the official taxi. Avoid these touts if you can. The taxi back to the airport was slightly more, 80 ringgits I believe. However, if you use the taxis outside the hotel, they will charge around 120 ringgits, so ask the hotel to phone a local cab firm for you.

All in all, a fantastic hotel, and we will definitely stay here again when we return to KL.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

the hotel is very central to shopping.the staff are very friendly. very good service. the breakfast chef was very good . made us feel we were home . the room attendant was very friendly and helpful. this was our 3rd visit to istana and for sure we will recomend to our friends.

Room Tip: higher floors have less a/c unit noise
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raj n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The lobby and entrance areas are very nice and well maintained, however the rooms are a little tired and could do with some TLC. The drink prices in the Lobby Lounge are very expensive with 3 gin and tonics costing more than bar-b-q evening buffet for two people.
Having shared my bathroom with a cockroach I suggested to the manager when paying the bill that he might like to adjust the bill accordingly but unfortunately he refused but offered me a free breakfast nex morning not much use when you are leaving the hotel before 7.00 am to fly home.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eviemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews