We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but book a room at the rear of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anggun Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 364 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our teenage daughter for 2 nights in January. The service was impeccable, friendly and informative. The family room was really lovely with comfortable beds but unfortunately positioned at the front of the hotel and the street noise kept us awake both nights. I loved the location, just around the corner from Jalan Alor and the culinary delights of KL. Breakfast in the rooftop restaurant was simple but fresh and delicious. I would stay here again but choose a room at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paintcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 288 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

Anggun is not-a-very-well-kept secret. It is one of the most affordable, clean, and comfortable places in Thailand.

My family and I have stayed there many times over the last three years. Why?

- The staff are helpful, although somewhat chairbound;
- The location is fantastic hemmed in by Jl. Alor and loads of great places to eat;
- It's not expensive; and
- It has style.

If you are backpacking and living on pad thai, fried rice, chewing Lonely Planet or other nice and boring things, it's probably not for you. There are loads of cheap and stuffy places with shared bathrooms in Malaysia where you can discover the essence of the country.

On the other hand if you are passing through, on a long trip, or just wanted a reprieve from the uniquely SE Asian Five Star or [--] proposition, then this is a happy medium.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Small boutique hotel in central location. Greeted on our arrival with hot towel & drink which was a nice touch. We also received a free upgrade which was a nice bonus. Rooms very clean and well presented. The staff very helpful. Enjoyed the rooftop restaurant also. Our room faced the street, so was noisy during the night, so a courtyard facing room may be less noisy. We stayed for 2 nights in November and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigBAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Very nice small hotel, very friendly staff and also at a very central location. We will come again

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights following a peaceful setting in Bali. It is centrally located, and the staff were extremely helpful, considerate and welcoming. A drink and hot towels on arrival, always good after travelling. The room was very clean and cosy. We were located at the front of the hotel, which carried its noise and hustle and bustle of a busy city. However this did not put us off, purely because we were in the middle of KL. We had stayed in a large hotel previously, but prefer the quaintness of this lovely boutique experience. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69HummingbirdKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 km away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
884 reviews
0.4 km away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.3 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
10,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#59 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
1,191 reviews
0.8 km away
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
#29 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
263 reviews
1.8 km away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anggun Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anggun Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 Tingkat Tong Shin | Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: €28 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anggun Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of style and calm, this is one of KL's most characterful traditional boutique hotel located in Bukit Bintang, within 10 minutes walk to train station, 1 minute walk to shopping malls, 1 minute walk to Jalan Alor hawker food street and restaurants, 15 minutes walk to Petronas Twin Towers, KL Convention Centre, Chinatown and 10 minutes drive to KL Golf & Country Club. Rates include free WIFI in room and whole hotel. Featured in CNNGo as one of the best 4-star boutique hotels in KL! Converted from two 1920's shophouses, most of the rooms look out onto a peaceful inner courtyard. The decor is incredibly tasteful, without sacrificing comfort levels for the sake of style. All the guest rooms have beautiful, handcrafted queen size teak beds, wooden furniture and wooden flooring. And the decor is traditional Malaccan with a contemporary twist. It has a lovely atmosphere. Why: Location, location, location. Authentic and delicious Malaysian food is minutes away; the city's best night life, within staggering distance. The shopaholic within will be duly fulfilled by city's highest concentration of malls. The Anggun's unique look and feel is a definite departure from big-chain homogeneity, perfect for the urbanite leisure or business traveler looking for an authentic and modern way to spend their time in Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anggun Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing