We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning First rate Hillside marvel overlooking Nagasaki Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Terrace Nagasaki Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The hotel, setting, architecture, design, and restaurants are phenomenal. Definitely a high point of my family trip to Japan. We had a rental car and the drive into Nagasaki and up the hill to the hotel was daunting, but once we reached the hotel, the views overlooking Nagasaki were amazing. The architecture is contemporary but with an eye to harmonizing to the surroundings with exceptional attention paid to details. Our reception was terrific. Martin, a young Frenchman who was one of the staff, deserves much recognition for the obvious pride he has in greeting the guests and to making sure their needs are met.
The French restaurant is EXCELLENT... We arrived a bit late and the four of us were the only patrons, which made me worry. But the food and wine list were superb! We each had a multicourse prix fixe dinner that was out of this world. It was definitely French, but with a Japanese flair for presentation. We regularly dine in San Francisco and New York and the dinner we had was second to none. Our maitre'd / sommelier was exceptionally knowledgeable about their wines. And it made for a wonderful evening.
Our two rooms were upgraded to those overlooking the bay. Exceptionally roomy which was a bit of a surprise after being in Japan for 2 weeks. Our ofuro was beautiful- it overlooked a fabulous vista while securing the privacy that we westerners are accustomed to.
If my review is sounding too glowing, it's not. After we checked out, we were driving to Fukuoka to return the rental car and to catch the Shinkansen. My wife realized that she had lost a treasured diamond earring. We were much too far away to turn around to go back to Nagasaki. We called the hotel and informed Martin of our loss. Ten minutes later, he called to let us know that the earring was found in our room, and he had it shipped to our next stop- a ryokan in Miyajima.
I cannot make this up! We will definitely return to the Garden Terrace on our next trip to Kyushu. The only negative was that the pool was not yet open- this was in early June 2016. And yes, I waited this long to write this review.

Room Tip: They are all glorious IMHO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here for our 2 weeks trip at Kyushu. Honestly other than the Atomic bomb museum, Nagasaki has nothing to offer. But the awesome Garden Terrace Nagasaki made up for the disappointment the city offered. The hotel is on vast landscape that is blooming with flowers. Hence each time we walked around the estate our sight and smell were feasting with the harbour view and scent from the flowers. The guests are pampered with free drinks from mini bar and access to lounge. The breakfast is not the typical typical buffet spread but made to order and served piping hot. The room and bath is huge and clean with thoughtful housekeeping who anticipated our needs.
Most of all as all other review has indicated, the view from every corner of the vast estate is feast to our eyes.
The best hotel we had stayed in our entire life!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank beelengn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

while I didn't stay and just came to have lunch, the building, decor and architecture were amazing. well worth a visit. the food was exquisite. I didn't see the rooms but I would be interested in staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mish_H50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Peaceful and beautiful place with modern design. Perfect sight view of the sea and city from hotel. Furthermore, wonderful local food is taste and presentable. Everything is amazing. We would love to come back definitely.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Law D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The hotel and its rooms are beautiful and I doubt you will find better rooms any where in Fukuoka. All rooms have an incredible view over Nagasaki city which means the hotel is at the top of a hill. I stayed 2 nights and had transport to and from the hotel, taxis may be the only way to get to the hotel otherwise. The food at the hotel was nice but not the best I have had in Fukuoka.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
1.9 km away
Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
2.2 km away
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 77 in Nagasaki
269 reviews
1.9 km away
The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#3 of 77 in Nagasaki
459 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 77 in Nagasaki
638 reviews
0.7 km away
Luke Plaza Hotel
Luke Plaza Hotel
#15 of 77 in Nagasaki
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Terrace Nagasaki Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Terrace Nagasaki Hotels & Resorts

Address: 2-3 Akizukimachi, Nagasaki 850-0064, Nagasaki Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Price Range: €248 - €492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Terrace Nagasaki Hotels & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Garden Terrace Nagasaki Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing