We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I might have to rank this as the best hotel I've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Terrace Nagasaki Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2015

We arrived at Nagasaki and drove up the hill, eagerly awaiting the arrival of this hotel in front of our eyes. When we finally entered the hotel premises, what first impressed us was a guy in suit greeting our car on the driveway. He was holding a list with guests checking in that day. We were told to go to the ROYAL TERRACE for check in. Different buildings got their own check in I guess.

When we arrived at the Royal Terrace, a French guy helped with our luggage and took our car for parking. Oh, they got valet!!! The front desk area is of a simple, yet elegant design. We entered our room and it looked really elegant (again, simple luxury). The balcony, the in-room music, the welcome hors d'oeuvre, the BVLGARI shampoo, the bathtub with an amazing view, the complimentary mini-bar, the super comfy bed. Oh gosh, I was spoiled!!!

We walked around the hotel premises before sunset and found out different restaurants are located in different areas, with a couple of restaurants (the sushi and the kaiseki) occupying two little houses. Really cute and elegant. We picked the Teppanyaki because it seems like that restaurant got a great view of Nagasaki. The food turned out to be really great! The beef from Iki Island melted in my mouth!

The next morning we had breakfast in the same restaurant. It wasn't a loud buffet but rather a very decent breakfast served yet you still got plenty to eat. It was a very memorable stay. Too bad we only allocated one night in Nagasaki. I'd love to return and stay in this hotel for two nights at least. My conclusion is you can buy luxury but you can't buy taste. This hotel got both! By the way, we met several other guests in this hotel and all of us shared the same comment - "it's amazing that the hotel looks better in real than the pictures in their website!"

Room Tip: Check hotel website which has all the details. They have different buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrandonAshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2015

This hotel offers the most amazing views on beautiful Nagasaki and the modern design of this unique place is just great.

The room allocated to us on the 5th floor was marvelous. The staff did everything to make us feel comfortable but despite the first impression the hotel gives, they don't seem to be fully set up to host international travellers, so don't get fooled by the appearance, it is a truly Japanese hotel.
During check in they asked us whether we want the linen to be replaced on a daily basis. Be careful, this is code for: Shall we clean the room or not! You can imagine how we were surprised to find our room untouched when we returned.

We had dinner at the french restaurant, the food and the staff was superb. The breakfast (you can chose between Japanese and Western) tasted good but service was struggling quite a bit, to deal with none Japanese guests, this rather spoiled our general impression of this unique place.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Garden Terrace Hotel. First of all, it is high up in the hills with commanding views. It looks sterile at first, but that couldn't be further from the truth. Th tasteful minimalist decor is comfortable-form does follow function. The staff were amazingly helpful and attentive. Although we usually do not eat at hotel restaurants, the food at their sushi and teppan restaurants was wonderful. We sat at a bar that overlooked the city and we watched as the food was being made. Yes,the hotel did ask what we wanted for breakfast-western or Japanese-they were only too glad to prepare what we wanted. Yes,the menus are mostly in Japanese-This is Japan. There were also some lovely walks in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel could have been perfect, but wasn't. I'm not sure it's really set up to deal with non-Japanese guests, or perhaps we were unlucky.

Good things:

The rooms are beautiful to look at, and the bedroom, lounge area and bathrooms are of a very high standard.

The staff try incredibly hard to be helpful.

Not so good

None of the signs in the room, or the labelled panorama photos of the view, or indeed a dinner menu were in English.

We were asked to chose our breakfast for the next morning at check in! Who really know what the might want to eat the next morning at 3pm the day before.

Although the rooms are lovely, the curtains don't fit the windows properly. We had 3 windows in our room, and they all let in too much light making it hard to sleep.

The shuttle service is nice to have since the hotel is outside the city centre, but it does not start until 10am, and finishes at 5pm, with a gap in the afternoon. We ended up having to hire private taxis.

It was not a great experience for me, and I would not plan to return.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Mr&MrsWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

Amazing views, spectacular staff, and beautiful rooms. We checked into to garden terrace, and I never wanted to leave!

The hotel is perched on a hillside over nagasaki's bay. You have to take the hotel shuttle or quasi-expensive taxi to get to town, so it's not ideal if being in the urban mix is your goal. But for a relaxing, luxurious get-away, I can't think of a better place.

We went on our honeymoon and the staff gave us royal treatment and helped with reservations, dietary restrictions and general advice.

Rooms are gorgeous!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank marybnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
1.9 km away
Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
2.2 km away
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 77 in Nagasaki
261 reviews
1.9 km away
The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 77 in Nagasaki
632 reviews
0.9 km away
Inasayama Kanko Hotel
Inasayama Kanko Hotel
#27 of 77 in Nagasaki
100 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#4 of 77 in Nagasaki
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Terrace Nagasaki Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Terrace Nagasaki Hotels & Resorts

Address: 2-3 Akizukimachi, Nagasaki 850-0064, Nagasaki Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Price Range: €225 - €456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Terrace Nagasaki Hotels & Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Garden Terrace Nagasaki Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing