We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Theme Park Ever!”

Universal Studios Japan
Book In Advance
More Info
US$306.06*
and up
Universal Studios Japan Overnight Experience from Tokyo by Bullet Train
Ranked #3 of 884 things to do in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This extremely popular theme park is equivalent to the Universal Studios in Hollywood and Orlando, and features shows, rides and restaurants based on famous movie themes, like Jaws, Back to the Future and Terminator.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Theme Park Ever!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

February might be the coldest time in Osaka, but at least no sweat for ques. We went there during the weekday and it was excellent with not many crowd. We stayed at the Universal Port Hotel, which is only a mere 5 minutes walking distance to UCO. Weekends will be flooded with people from locals to tourists... what a difference.

Most of the rides only took between 5-10 minutes of waiting, except for Back to the Future it was only about 15 minutes.

The staffs there were amazingly friendly and we spent from 10am to 6pm. I wanted to stay on for the parade, but it was rather too cold for my boys... sigh.

Food were not too bad except a little bit too pricy, but isn't all the theme park? So, bring some cash and credit card.

The toilets are well kept and clean... designated smoking area, shops with funny hats and souvenirs... really fun

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,150
    2,674
    960
    271
    200
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice time to go - no crowds”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Having gone to both Universal in Hollywood and in Orlando, it was fun to see the differences and similarities at the Osaka Universal Studios. The biggest difference (besides the obvious speaking in Japanese) was that although it was a US holiday weekend, since we are in Japan, there were no crowds!!!! What a wonderful experience getting in line for even the most popluar rides - like the Hollywood Dream roller coaster and the Space Fantasy ride (think Space Mountain but in spinning Haunted Mansion-like buggies).

It was great to take my kids on Back to the Future since in Hollywood, it has been replaced by the Simpsons. No offense to Simpson fans but I prefer the Back to the Future story, even when I couldn't understand it since it was all dubbed in Japanese.

Side note - the Hard Rock at CityWalk is a must do - the same overall character but with the wonderful Japanese service experience.

From any of the 3 Osaka airports, travel was relatively simple by airport bus and by train. We took the train in and the bus out. Worked like a charm! Both are conveniently located right outside Universal Studios.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank luv2travelHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing technology at work”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Phenomenal rides and fancy technology to dazzle you out of your mind!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SNottIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The best way to have fun!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

It was just fantastic!I have been there for three times and I can't wait to come back again!I strongly recommend Spiderman the ride, Hollywood dream,Back to the future and Jurassic Park of course! Also, wonderful shops of souvenirs and a variety of restaurants.You just can't miss it!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SOPHIA189403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Aquarium”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

One of the best we have visited so far. Great place to capture some great photos.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Universal Studios Japan also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Universal Studios Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing