We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Ranked #4 of 314 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio TX
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel is located 5 to 10 minutes walk away from the JR Osaka Station. Underneath Osaka Station is a very, very large underground shopping area that spans not only JR Station but several other train stations and several department stores. It is sometimes frustrating and sometimes fun to get lost down there.

The hotel is of the quality that you'd expect of the Ritz Carlton. The building interior and exterior is posh, and the service excellent and consistent.

Our room was a nice sized room with nice furniture and a flat-screen TV. Our room faced kind of northwards so we had a veiw of the JR Station as well as of the really, really cool looking Sky Building.

The breakfast was very good, decent variety and excellent quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Sky Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    416
    110
    40
    28
See reviews for
473
525
157
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

i stayed there for 1 night only , but it is a fantastic stay and I had a wonderful new year there!
Location---it is close to JR station , and can get to airport by limousine bus easily and comfortably.
Room---It is an excellent room(superior room), spicous and classic, beautiful city view,
Staff---Friendly, speak in fluent English, helpful and very polite,
make me feel I am a VIP !!!!
Facility---- wonderful but no free internet in room.
I had a New Year Brunch Buffet in Splendo, delicious and good service.
It is a highly recommended hotel for relaxing trip!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelodyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My family of 4 stayed in the Executive Suite for 12 nights in November. We had previously stayed there 3 years old and we were happy that the good things havent changed. The same old world cosy ambience. The fireplace and cosy lobby all decked in Christmas decoration certainly makes this feel like an old friend's lodge. Probably the only luxury hotel in Osaka that is not glitz and glass. And certainly all the whos whos hang out here, as evidenced by the Rolls Royces and the number of Birkins everyday....
The bathrooms were large and luxuriously appointed. We loved the large extra-large king-size beds and the 10 diff kinds of pillows. They even had special pyjamas, bathrobes and slippers for our 2 little girls in their different sizes, which made them feel like princesses,,,,and the service extended to us throughout our stay was always impeccable, friendly and professional from arranging tours, to bullet train advice, restaurant bookings etc. Kudos. In 2009, we felt it was no 1 and this time round, having had the chance to visit some of our other friends in other 5 star hotels, this is still no 1.

And its location is superbly connected via underpass to all the subway, train, JR, shinkashen and shopping malls within the next 1km vicinity so we need not even walk on ground level, esp useful when it is windy and cold.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincentlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The hotel was in GREAT location! I could access all of the train stations necessary by staying at this hotel. The hotel staff was so accommodating and their English was great. I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the morning (an extra fee). The only thing I did not like was that wireless internet was not included (it was an extra fee). I would think that at a luxury hotel like this, wireless would be included.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleenadams56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

It was very luxe inside the Ritz. Labyrinth with corridors decorated differently by floors. Small doors to other facilities or outside, crescent corridors everywhere, you lose your sense of direction.
I stayed just 1 night with my old school days friend during my business trip. Our room is on the top floor which is called sky view superior, with 2 beds. From a tiny window, you can see Yodo-river poring in to the bay, lively railway station at the foot of you. They claim this is the highest hotel room around, and I think so. There are no obstacles in front of you.
The room was stylish, clean, well equipped except wi-hi. Unfortunately the bath goods were not of my taste at all. I would have been happy enough to get something normal, not special, but the goods smell like men’s hair things. They had known 2 women would stay. How could I ask for the replacement since it was late and did not want to wait them to deal with, with my hair wet. This is the place you usually ask away anything, but I rather wanted a readiness of consideration, so you do not need to push yourself and bother to ask.
Mostly the experience was very good, if not special. For me, Ritz is the place of something exceptional, special and lux, yet of homey and friendly comfort. I could not get enough of this. Why? I am not sure. Maybe service person we talked a lot were so young that I felt too close to them? There were nothing wrong with what they did, still to some extent this place luck some touch to me. If I would like un-daily feeling, I should try Ritz not in Japan?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tthd874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
The St. Regis Osaka
The St. Regis Osaka
#3 of 314 in Osaka
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 314 in Osaka
1,974 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 314 in Osaka
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#5 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Japanese culture, history and modern delights at one of the premier Osaka hotels. Just a short drive from the historic cities of Kyoto and Nara, The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka is located in the prestigious business and shopping district of Nishi-Umeda , where guests can indulge in boutique shopping, sophisticated dining and the ancient sights of the city. Featuring the look and feel of 18th century English nobleman's Georgian home, this distinctive Osaka hotel features a 450-piece art and antique collection, a fitness center, elegant event space and one of the largest guest rooms in Japan. •292 Guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 64 Ritz-Carlton Club rooms and suites, two Japanese Suites and two Ritz-Carlton Suites •La Baie - Light, creative, contemporary and traditional French delicacies •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing