We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Ranked #11 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for great price”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Hotel is literally 150 steps to the Kitahama Metro station. Although it is not a main line, connections are easy, and importantly you can go to Namba - Dotonbori areas and to the airport (obviously you need to connect to airport line at the last station) directly using this line.
There is a market right across the hotel, several nice restaurants are close by.
Room (superior single) was recently decorated, lots of amenities, free internet, staff very kind and helpful. By the way room is big enough, not very small as in most small hotels in Japan.
I certainly recommend this hotel, worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    264
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
113
257
61
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I have stayed in this hotel a lot, as it's very close to a client office in Osaka, so my view is representative over many stays.

Positives:

The style and ambiance throughout the hotel is perfect, the rooms are tasteful and modern. The design is well thought out, the lighting, desk and bathroom. The bathroom itself is the best feature for me, whilst not huge, the power shower and bath area is perfect. The hotel is also quiet so good for sleeping.

Negatives:

Very limited services, the breakfast is delivered in the cafe/shop in the lobby area. It's a typical set breakfast, but shredded cabbage and lettuce with one spoon of scrambled egg and 2 slices of salami is not really a meal and what everyone fancies for breakfast? There are selection of breads and pastries all cut up into small portions so you have to be quick. To drink, juices, water, milk, filter coffee and tea. Furthermore space is very limited and this is frustrating, best to eat very early else you have to queue like a school child for a free space to be allocated.

There is no fresh fruit or any other alternatives for breakfast, do not be mistaken this is a set breakfast there is no concept of breakfast buffet like in most normal hotels.

There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel, and the mini bar has a bottled of water which is replaced each day. If you stay here, you must eat out, not ideal after a long day in office, and restaurants generally take last order around 21:30, so many visits to the 7/11 and Lawson convenience stores if you work late.

Quality of laundry service is very good, but expensive, and I am shocked you have to delivery your own laundry in a bag to reception, and then have to collect from reception, you would expect this to be included in the service.

The staff are all very nice and helpful but very very limited English.

In conclusion, room is perfect and good value, but limited services.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are more quiet, avoid rooms next to lift access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somewhere_Special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This hotel is situated near a local subway station - but not a major line.

Rooms are of high quality and very comfortable with excellent amenities. Twin rooms have both beds pushed together. Internet is free from a data port (i.e. not WIFI - like most hotels in Japan).

If travelling from the airport, negotiating the subway network can be tricky to get to this hotel. The best method is get the subway station Yodoyabashi (rather than the Kitahama station) and walk about 5 small city blocks. Takes about 15 minutes. Kitahama is about 1 minute walk from hotel, but you need to do multiple train line changes to use that station.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

I've been staying in this hotel for nearly 7 nights now during my travel in Japan. Tonight is my last night. I booked this hotel from expedia.com and got special rates. My room which is a superior single room is excellent. It's pretty spacious for a hotel room in Japan. The bed is bigger than average single bed with two very comfy and very fluffy pillows. There is a big desk next to the bed in which I can plug in my laptop and access everything through a fast speed LAN internet, the hotel even provides the LAN cable for free.
A 500ml water is also provided for free by the hotel every day and every morning there will be a new English newspaper available for me for free as well.
The bathroom is sparkling clean with new towels and amenities re-supplied in daily basis. It has a bathtub and separate shower side by side. The water pressure of the shower head is excellent. The only downside is you have to walk all the way to Yodoyabashi subway station if you want to go to Osaka entertainment/shopping areas such as Shinsaibashi, Namba or Umeda. The Kitahama subway station is nearby but that station doesn't go direct to Shinsaibashi, Namba/Umeda. But I still like coming home to this hotel every night as the area around the hotel is very peaceful so I can get really good night rests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We had to spend 2 days in Osaka so we tried to book the most advantageous (and cheap) hotels.
Brighton hotel Kitahama is a great value hotel, with good location (really close to the subway, the metro line going through hot spots).
The rooms are clean, but small; and we could understand why the room, stated "twin", has two adjacent beds. You have around 4-5 cm between the beds, which is more than annoying if you're someone who wants his/ehr personal space.
The TV had a weird position and was situated not in front of the beds but at the right.
We did not try the breakfast which was way too expansive (1230 yen/pax!!). The staff speaks below average english, and were not really helpful when we asked them for some local restaurants in Osaka. They, however, provide newspapers in english every morning.
Otherwise, the room had all the amenities needed, was very clean, and we can say Brighton Hotel is a really great hotel for business purposes and for leisure travellers who are in average budget but who do not want to stay in a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama

Property: Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Address: 1-1 Fushimimachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0044, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing