We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
9
37
16
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
37
16
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is located in the center area of Souemoncho, 3 minutes walk to metro Nipponbashi station. 3 minutes to Dotonbori crowded street. 3 minutes to Shinshabashi area. Great point for late nightlife, whole day shopping, dining and Ryokan with sauna!

Definitely surprised by the spacious room when compared to other Japan hotels. This is equipped with a mini kitchen and a wardrobe. Got everything just like an one men living room. Actually it is more or less an apartment building as there is only security guards in the check-in counter(Yes! No service ladies...). Actually a "lobby" do not exist at all. The guards do not speak English well but basic communication is not a problem.

The price is reasonable and transport is really convenient. There is nothing to complain except there is no WIFI in the whole building!

Room Tip: Book directly through their official web through e-mail. For long stay plans; they usually offer a discount package!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g0ssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Azu-garden is my usual choice for a hotel in Osaka, I've stayed there on several occasions, most recently in March 2012 and going back there next week (07/2012).

The location is great for nightlife with the Dotonbori/Soemon-cho restaurants and bars just around the corner (literally) from the hotel. Some locals feel that the Minami area is not the safest part of Osaka but a tourist (male or female) has nothing to worry about. Nippombashi subway station is a few minutes walk from the hotel and Namba station is about 15 minutes away by foot.

Some of the staff speak some english while some are japanese speakers only but I've never had any problems regarding my bookings. Bookings can be made directly via their website, no pre-payment required and the hotel accepts all major credit cards when you pay at check-in time.

The rooms (note that I've stayed at single rooms only) are quite spacious for japanese hotel rooms with wooden floors, small kitchenette (stove, fridge and water cooker) and ensuite toilet and shower. The rooms are not cleaned daily but once a week only. That being said, I've never had any problems getting new towels from the cleaning ladies working on the other rooms.

Vending machines are available as well as a small cafe at the ground floor for breakfast, which I haven't tried though as there are plenty of cafes in the area. There are also coin operated washing machines available on the ground floor

Overall considering the price, location and rooms I think that this hotel is fantastic value and something of a bargain. Only minus is the lack of internet connection in the basic rooms, I think it's only available with the more expensive suites.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

I stayed for about a week here at the Azu Garden Hotel. The Location is great for people looking for a little nightlife. It is about a 2 minute walk away from one of the most famous places in Osaka called Shinsaibashi, great food (takoyaki, okonomiyaki) bars, beautiful women ect. It is also really close to the Subway line, but it is a longer walk to the main station at Namba where you can catch the JR line. From the namba station its only about 10 or 15 minutes from Osaka-Shin station which is where you would take the Shinkansen (bullet train) or catch other lines to other parts of the city. Another great thing is that Kyoto is only about 20 minutes from Osaka-Shin station!

The Hotel room was a little old but still clean. The room was much bigger than I expected, and much bigger than most of the Hotels in Tokyo. At the front desk when I checked in they did have an english speaking gentleman who was very helpful, but at times there was only Japanese speaking people at the front desk which did make it a little hard to communicate. The only thing that I really disliked at this hotel was their cleaning policy. They dont change or clean the room or the sheets for one whole week, and you have to exchange your towels and get more soap shampoo ect at the front desk. It wasn't that bad but still it is nice to come back to your hotel and have clean sheets and more soap at the end of the day.

Overall my stay here was nice, and you cant go wrong staying here considering it was really inexpensive for a larger room with such a great Location. Ahhh almost forgot that breakfast is included for no additional charge. Breakfast is Cabbage Salad, a hard boiled egg and toast with butter, not to shabby :)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoutherncaliTrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews