We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$180
US$132
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$110
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$134
US$92
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$264
US$199
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$181
US$119
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kyoto Itoya Hotel(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$108
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
US$890
US$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,604)
Filter reviews
2,604 results
Traveller rating
1,547
774
201
56
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,547
774
201
56
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanjusangendo templenational museumtouzan barken yokoyamatrattoria settecomplimentary taxijapanese restaurantmk taxiconcierge deskbeautiful hoteltrain stationthe general managera short taxi ridewet roomzen gardendeluxe roomgarden view
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,604 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

When we arrived at Kyoto Station, We were directed to the VIP taxi stand across from the Kyoto station and ushered to the hotel, free of charge.
The reception at the hotel entrance was grand! The hostes greeted us with a bow and a warm smile and the registration was polite, full of warmth and efficient as well.

The room was beautiful, well appointed with everything one may need. Bathroom with a modern washjet (Biddet), temperature controled shower faucet, large bathtub and terry cloth bathrobes.

The room was also equipped with an espresso machine and everything you needed to make a grea cup of espresso or hot tea.

The dinner Buffet was very good and all drinks ( including alcoholic) were included for a reasonable price.
Until uiuu
The hotel is just across the street from Kyoto Museums and 100 yard from a major templ. Gion was less than a mile away and many attractions are located in walking distance,

Cannot ask for a better hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Elie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKyoto2018, Guest Experience Manager at Hyatt Regency Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Elie B,

Thank you so much for your gracious, comprehensive and detailed review.

All of the team at Hyatt Regency Kyoto are grateful for you kind words, which motivate us to continually rededicate ourselves to a superior experience for our valued guests. We are glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our service and facilities from the guest room to the dinner buffet. And we are pleased to know that you find our location convenient for you to navigate and explore the city.

It was our privilege to have you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely yours,
Jen Lee
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We had an excellent experience last week at the Hyatt and would highly recommend staying here. The service is outstanding and the whole team led by Abe-san is first-rate. The free cultural program for hotel guests (nightly maiko performance, calligraphy and incense classes, etc.) are a fun addition to the rest of your Kyoto itinerary. The room

Room Tip: ask to face Sanjusangendo
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcb181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKyoto2018, Guest Experience Manager at Hyatt Regency Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear tcb181,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your candid feedback after your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Kyoto!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And I am gratified to learn that you were satisfied with the cultural programs we offered to our guests during cherry blossom season. I am sure to share your comments with our team.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely yours,
Jen Lee
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We stayed here during peak cherry blossom season so the hotel was full but the staff had no trouble keeping up and the hotel never felt crowded. The concierges were very helpful in several instances and definitely gave us the feeling of being in a luxury hotel. Just as an example of how good the staff was, if someone saw you pulling luggage in the lobby they would run to take it for you. The free bottled water, coffee, and cinnamon water in the lobby was much appreciated. The Maiko show was a nice littler perk as well.

We traveled with two small children and having the Hyatt as a base for 5 nights was a great break for our kids eating wise. The Grill restaurant had excellent food for breakfast and dinner. The Italian restaurant had good food, but nothing amazing. I will say that even though the hotel staff was excellent the staff at the Grill and Italian restaurant were not. They were very polite, but seemed untrained and had little idea what to do. They would do weird things like halfway through our meal they would take a complete place setting away from one of us. Meaning they would just randomly take one person's forks, knifes, napkin, etc from one of our group who was clearly using it.

Things preventing me from giving 5 stars are
-The Dining service mentioned above
-Rooms were pretty small for the cost, and the bathrooms offered little privacy
-Restaurants all added a 13% service charge. We've spent a lot of time in Japan and never saw this before


I would definitely stay here again. Perhaps next time visiting when it's not high season and a bigger room is more reasonably priced. I've never seen a hotel with this high a caliber of staff before!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvlr313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKyoto2018, Guest Experience Manager at Hyatt Regency Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Trvlr313,

Thank you so much for your gracious, comprehensive and detailed review.

We are delighted to learn that your overall stay with us has been an enjoyable one. All of the team at Hyatt Regency Kyoto are grateful for you kind words, which motivate us to continually rededicate ourselves to a superior experience for our valued guests.

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our restaurant service. I have shared your feedback with our F&B managers. We are always reviewing our guests' valuable feedback such as yours and will follow up on continuing to improve the experience we provide to our guests in every aspect.

It was our privilege to have you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely yours,
Jen Lee
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We enjoyed our stay here - location is central, easy access to many walking streets, temples, the train station. The service is great - concierge, restaurant staff, housekeeping, etc. were all very helpful. The hotel itself is dated though, and the rooms are small and feel dated/dark. We had very little room to move around in the room since the bed took most of the space. With our 2 suitcases, there was even less space. And, the closets are so small that you can't fit a standard suitcase in there so it has to be out in the room. We paid more than $600/night for the room, and had just come from the beautiful Park Hyatt in Tokyo, so the Hyatt Regency was definitely a let down. The breakfast was excellent though - pancakes, eggs, etc. cooked to order.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKyoto2018, Guest Experience Manager at Hyatt Regency Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Matthew H,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Kyoto and for taking the time to share your feedback.

Whilst I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and the service provided by our staff, I am equally concerned over your disappointment with the room size and facilities. We appreciate your feedback as we are always seeking for improvements in order to provide service with better value to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Kyoto.

Sincerely yours,
Jen Lee
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

I have stayed here on several occasions and since the manager changed and it is still impeccable service and accomdation. The lobby is showing some age, and so are the facilities yet the service standard makes up for any short comings. The breakfast is extraordinary and hotel guests adore the variety, hot secton, the leg of roasted Japanese pork and the attentive waiters. It is a top pick, well located and one of our top picks.

Room Tip: It all depends on your budget but the standards are still very good
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKyoto2018, Guest Experience Manager at Hyatt Regency Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear juicyyussipie,

First of all, we wish to express our sincerest appreciation for having chosen our hotel on several occasions during your visit to Kyoto. We would also like to thank you for having taken your time to post the review.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is truly wonderful to read such positive review especially regarding our service and breakfast selections. We appreciate your continuous support.

Please receive our sincere appreciation again and we look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Kyoto.

Sincerely yours,
Jen Lee
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews