We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,808)
Filter reviews
2,808 results
Traveller rating
956
1,112
506
147
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
956
1,112
506
147
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus heavenly bed bird watching the executive lounge spg points keage station philosopher's path shuttle service junior suite philosophers walk tea room silver pavilion concierge desk large hotel heian shrine bit dated japanese style room
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 2,808 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Kyoto is such a beautiful city during Sakura season and that is why our family decided to go there in the end of March last minute. This hotel was the only accommodation AE could book for us to accommodate our large party. We were traveling with young children so we requested for connecting rooms but we knew during booking that it wasn’t guaranteed.

So when we showed up, they told us there were no connecting rooms available. We asked if there were suites or if they could recheck for reconnecting rooms. The front lady asked a nearby front desk man, who started giving her and us horrible attitude. He was rolling his eyes and I could understand what he was saying in Japanese but he told her “Just tell them no rooms!”

Then they took forever, more like 25 minutes in checking us into our rooms. Meanwhile, the front man was squeezing out smiles to other foreign customers while continue to glare at us.

He then proceeded to come back to our counter and said “ Excuse me, your kids are blocking our other customers”. I turn back to see no one in other lines and my kids were just standing nearby the counter, not bothering anyone.

This kind of rude staff is ridiculous for well reknown Japanese hospitality and Westin chain. We checked in at March 29 near 3pm, and he was the man standing in the middle.

We usually stay at renown chains and with our extensive travels, your hotel’s front desk have the least accommodating and the most unhelpful rude staff.

If it were not for Sakura season and our need for rooms, I would not even have bothered to stay after such poor check-in service.

Date of stay: March 2018
4  Thank Scorpio33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience.
Actually we sincerely would like to apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort we have caused you on your check-in that you encountered insufficient care by our associates.
It is good to hear feedback from you as we consistently are aiming to improve our services to our guests. We want to ensure that all our treasured guests experience a most pleasant and renewing time at The Westin Miyako Kyoto.

Your comments were very constructive and helpful, and we are most grateful to you for letting us know of our deficiencies. We will ensure to improve our services. We very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you and your valuable customers back to the improved Westin Miyako, Kyoto in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We have just come from intercontinental in Tokyo. What a wonderful hotel group they are and that know good service. Upon checking into Westin Kyoto and paying an absolute bomb for the family room over cherry blossom season we were informed only half the room is entitled to breakfast. Starwood confirmed during booking we would all be entitled to breakfast under our rate. Things like this are so annoying and off putting.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank JUlia76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

The grand lobby is misleading because the rooms don't live up to the grandeur. I liked how spacious the rooms are but the decor was dated. Also, the breakfast was tasteless.

I liked that this hotel had a free shuttle from the main Kyoto train station which made it very easy to get from the JR train.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tiffwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed there with my family for 4 nights. What an amazing experience!

1. Location location location. It is located in the Higashiyama area where lots of the beautiful temples are. You can go everywhere on the east side easily sometimes walking distance. They have a very convenient free shuttle bus that takes you to Kyoto station and Gion area (also close to nishiki market). So we never had any problem with transportation. The keage subway station was literally 2 mins! And if you prefer to take the buses, many lines stop at nearby places as well.

2. Garden was amazing. They have an in house Japanese garden. Most gardens in popular tourist attractions in Kyoto are somewhat damaged by the amount of tourists. This hotel has a zen garden on its own. If you want the real real Kyoto experience and feel the real tranquility and connect to nature, you can get it here.

3. The lounge and pool and the breakfast. This is probably only relevant to spg plats. The pool (also the health club) was really great! I am a swimmer so swimming in such a relaxing place was definitely a treat. The breakfast has a really good selection of Japanese authentic foods from pickles to veggies to tofu to udon to grilled fish, high quality kaiseki stuff. The lounge offers a nice view and for cocktail session you get very very carefully prepared appetizers with amazing view of Kyoto. Also the collection of sakes were really really good Kyoto high quality sake. So you can skip the sake tasting tour altogether.

4. Staff were extremely kind. I have come to realize that this is not what you can always expect. But this Westin has really friendly staff and they try to make you feel welcomed. They upgraded my parents room into a huge suite that has the garden and mountain view despite the high cherry blossom season. This adds to the overall great experience here. It is not a resort but you feel truly deeply relaxed every moment.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 225yuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Stayed 2 nights at the hotel. The building is massive (caters to tour groups) and their employees robotic and impersonal. It is located on top of a hill in a quiet residential neighborhood, away from Gion where the restaurants and bars are located. Was given a 1BR suite, which had a rather small WC. The club lounge was small and crowded, with basic pours. The staff will serve a warm platter at your table, but besides the platter there was only cheeses and nuts. Acceptable spread of food at the buffet breakfast. Hotel provides a regular shuttle service to the JR Kyoto Station. They have a 50 min nature / forest walk starting / ending from the hotel, but it was "closed for maintenance" when I stayed.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AbsoluteZeroKelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews