We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
255
216
46
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
216
46
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public bath internal garden modern hotel japanese style nearest station no window nishiki market communal areas rock garden self service laundry comfortable bed convenient location hotel guests japanese bath would highly recommend this hotel front desk staff by foot
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

The lobby and staff are beautiful and helpful. The rooms are small and about what you would find at a US 3 star hotel. It was clean, but the entire place smelled of cigarettes, as they allow smoking and it's quite difficult to get a non-smoking room. Something to look out for in Japan, Korea, and China when booking hotels.

Recommend for price and location. Short walk to the train and fish market. Even without the smoke smell, the room is still of three star quality, with the smell, it was a 2 star- but the location, price, and staff are 5 star.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brink27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

Thank you so much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei and taking time to provide us with your valuable comment. We are so glad to hear that you were satisfied with our staff services and our convenient location. And thank you for your recommendation to other guests about our hotel and sightseeing spots around us. As you know, Nishiki Market is very famous spots to see, and very close to our hotel with 15minutes walk. Moreover we have good access to the public transportations such as bus, train and subway within 6~8minutes by walk. We are sure that you had enjoyed this Kyoto trip and we hope it become wonderful memory for you. Regarding the rate, though it changes every day with our availability and season, we also glad that it reached to your expectation. We will continue our efforts to give guests more pleasant stay with every aspect. On the other hand, about the smell of the room, we are terribly sorry to make you uncomfortableness during your stay. In some country, it is standard that hotels have only non-smoking rooms, but in Japan, most hotels still have smoking rooms. So, if you would like to stay in non-smoking room, we kindly ask you to make your reservation with non-smoking room. To avoid the wrong booking, on most web-sites for foreigner, we mention non-smoking or smoking, please refer it when you book. Again, thank you so much for having your time to offering valuable opinion and high score for our services. We hope your visit again Kyoto, Japan. Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We've booked Mitsui Garden after looking at the room (which looks quite traditional to me) and the prices were decent too! Got there in the afternoon, seems like all female working here, which is very interesting! The concierge/front office were very attentive and helped us around our way in Kyoto and explained all the facilities within the room and the onsen! The room wasn't huge but was designed perfectly that it accommodate just about everything you need (even plugs for all phone)!

The onsen was definitely an experience! I can't recommend this hotel highly enough! if you are in Kyoto - definitely try this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aromanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

Thank you so much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei and giving us your fablous review on our hotel.
We are really pleased to hear that you are satisfied with staying at our hotel, staff services and the facilities. As you mentioned, our amenities are designed accurately in the guest room without any waste of space. The public bath facility is one of the most attractive points of our hotel. Artificial carbonated spring must ease the fatigue from your trip and defenitely make you relaxed.
Again we would like to thank you for taking time to write your comment.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel again, hopefully in not distant future.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Seemingly new hotel, attentive staff, ideal location. One of the best accommodations we had in Japan. Everything is as expected for a large hotel chain. Would happily stay at other mitsui hotels as this one gave a good impression.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Escape13018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for having stayed at Mitsui Gardern Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei and taking your time to write a comment. We are also very glad to have your comment that you enjoyed staying at our hotel.
We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our staff service. We constantly strive our guests in ways that cater to their needs and are very happy that our staff made your stay comfortable.
Moreover As you know, our hotel has very convenient access to get to public transportationas such as bus, train and subway. From the nearest stations, it around 7~8 minutes walking to our hotel, we stands.
We also would like to thank you for your laudatory comment on our staffs. We will definitely continue our efforts to provide the best service for our guests putting ourselves into the guest's shoes.
Thank you again for sharing your pleasing feedback with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again on your future trip to Kyoto.
Front Office Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Great location out of the crazy tourist area but close enough to walk to the markets. Lovely lovely service. Modern new super clean big enough rooms. Lovely onsen.I would highly recommend, an excellent price.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 June 2017

Thank you so much for having stayed at the Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei and taking your time to write a wonderful comment.
We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our staff service. We constantly strive our guests in ways that cater to their needs and are very happy that our staff made your stay comfortable.
Also We are so pleased that you were satisfied with our public bath facility. Our public bath using artificial carbonated spring is highly popular among our guests. It will make you feel relaxed and heal your tiredness from much walking for sightseeing all around Kyoto city.
Thank you so much for having your time to offering valuable opinion. We hope your visit again Kyoto, Japan.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We were on a tight budget and after reading other tripadvisor reviews we went ahead and booked this hotel.
It's a lovely traditional looking yet modern hotel tucked away in a quiet street in Kyoto.
It's easy enough to walk around, we strolled back from Gion area after dinner. There's lots of small restaurants in the local vicinity.
It's a couple of stops from Kyoto station.
The rooms were a reasonable size considering with essentials in room - free wifi, in room safe, tv, bottle water, hairdryer etc.
I didn't realise there was a bath at the hotel and didn't have time to try it. They provide slippers and pyjamas for hotel guests.
We particularly liked the decor as there are sliding doors in reception area and it was very minimalist. It felt and peaceful.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mini1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

Thank you so much for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei and giving us your fabulous comment on our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed a trip to Kyoto very much and you were satisfied with the facilities of our hotel. We constantly strive our guests in ways that cater to their needs and are very happy that our staff made your stay comfortable and peaceful. We regret a little bit that you were not able to try our public bath facility. It is one of the most attractive points of our hotel. The water is used artificial carbonated spring and highly popular among our guests. It must make you feel relaxed and heal your tiredness from much walking for sightseeing all around Kyoto city. We defenitely recommend you to try this maybe your next visit to our hotel.
Again, we appreciate your detailed review about our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Kyoto, Japan.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews