We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Fusion Japanese Food with English Speaking Chef”
Review of Sugar Hill Kyoto

Sugar Hill Kyoto
Ranked #19 of 15,488 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Shimogyo-ku
Description: Kyoto traditional food (OBANZAI)Kyoto vegetable(vegetalian food)Italian foodSAKECocktail Mon-Fri:17:00-23:00 Sat:17:00-23:00 Sun:Closed
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We a party of 7 had dinner at Sugar Hill Kyoto on 22 Feb 2018 and the meal turned out to be excellent. The chef recommended to us (in English) his best dishes and everything came out perfect. The best part was the price was so reasonable. If you are in Kyoto, I think we had better pop into this restaurant. Otherwise you would have missed out on something from Kyoto that's really nice. The chef and staff are all so friendly and nice. Will definitely visit when we are Kyoto.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AndrewT4638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 67 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018

Execellent food, friendly ownership (english-speaking), good prices. My suggestions: Obanzai (six mixed appetizers) +tuna fish & avocado salad, with a delicious vinaigrette with a perfectly calibrated wasabi.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank guarinotro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

We stopped in on the way out to a club for a meal and were not disapointed. The service was swift and the chef and waiter were warm and welcoming. The food came out promptly and was delicious. The waiters suggestions were amazing (we ordered both) and the price was good.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank victoria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Over two weeks in Japan and this is hands down the best food we have had! The Wasabi Chicken was amazing! And the waitress/chef were really helpful. We asked what the recommendations were and we had the Obanzai, Teriyaki Chicken, Tuna and Avocado, and the Spicy Wasabi Chicken all highly recommended. We will be back!

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank GeorgiaR771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Being hard to find vegetarian food, this place is a gem. The food was excellent, friendly staff who speak English and great atmosphere. Will be back.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Hill Kyoto also viewed

 
Shimogyo, Kyoto
 

Been to Sugar Hill Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing