We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay in Kyoto!”
Livingroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Livingroom
Exterior Western style bedroom with double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Livingroom
Exterior
Western style bedroom with double bed
Japanese style bedroom with double futon on tatami
Kitchen area
Entrance to bath / shower area
Original hand-woven wood detailing on ceiling of livingroom
Roof deck with view of Kenninji Temple
Being filmed by HGTV. Curtis (owner) on left with cameraman
Hanamamikoji Street, 3 minutes walk away
Our little street, with geishas (a common sight)
Kyoto's main commercial district, Shijo-Kawaramachi, a 15 minute walk away
Kenninji Temple, Kyoto's oldest Zen Temple, right next door!
The owner, Curtis, at Kenninji Temple, next door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
nextstoph...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Kyoto!”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I booked the upper level after reading rave reviews and it totally met my high expectations. Staying here get you the best of both worlds - the traditional feel of Japan and all the modern comforts (think heated floor in the bathroom). The suite is clean, spacious (really!), and super comfortable. Quiet at night but close to many things. It might not be as convenient as staying downtown Kyoto, but an evening stroll in the Gion is hard to beat. And the staff are very helpful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bed and bath
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanGH
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I echo what the other reviewers have been saying. It's a great place.
It's well located in Gion, an old part of Kyoto. A very interesting district; plenty of Geishas to be seen for example.
The apartment itself (Upper) is charming, and with all mod cons.
The people in the office (a hundred yards away) are very helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuziiW
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Stay in old Kyoto”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 3 and when traveling we like 2 bedroom apartments and all the conveniences this provides with a kitchen, washing machine and space over a hotel room any day. Staying in the upper level at Gion House was fantastic. This lovely 100 year old machiya is right in the heart of the Gion, the old part of the town. A fabulous location where we could easily wander the narrow streets and take in the ambience of this the oldest and most beautiful part of the town. We would not have had the same experience staying say at the Kyoto Station area which we found pretty soulless. The house is surrounded with a huge variety of great restaurants at all different price points and we followed a few of Curtis' recommendations and they were fantastic. The Shabu Shabu restaurant around the corner was one of our dining highlights of the trip.
The house comes with everything you want including free Wi-Fi and cable TV. My son did not mind sleeping on the tatami mat bed and our bed was so comfortable. The pillows - were to die for - beautiful feather pillows. Note there is a steep set of stairs though to get to the upper level and the deck has another set so if you have mobility issues - it might not be for you.
Saki who welcomed us and showed us around was on hand for any enquiries we had and lovely to deal with. I would highly recommend this machiya for an authentic stay in Kyoto. We also found it to be in an excellent location to see and travel to all the sights

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and staying in somewehere with so much history
Liked least: We had to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette4...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Experience Old Kyoto in this fabulous traditional house”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had the good fortune to say at Gion House (Upper Level) for a week at the beginning of August and I can confirm that the rave reviews from previous guests are all justified!

The house is tucked away on a quiet side street in the Gion district. (A detailed map with directions in Japanese were provided by the owner- Curtis- before our stay, which was exceptionally useful in ensuring that there was no problem with finding the house).

The Gion House is an old ( over 100 years) wooden, traditional-style 'machiya,' located on an atmospheric side street right at the edge of the geisha area of Gion. This old Kyoto neighborhood has a tranquil charm, and many restaurants, shops, and tourist sites.

The Gion House upper level is the entire second floor of the house. The lower level and upper level have separate entrances, and are completely independent. Entry to the Upper Level is via a steep staircase (that can be a bit of a challenge with heavy suitcases). The spacious living/sitting area dominates the centre of the house. It has beautiful tatami mat flooring ( un-dyed organic straw mats) a feature wall of blue & frosted glass sliding windows and the room can be separated/ closed by the traditional Japanese fusuma (papered sliding doors) arranged along as walls. There are two bedrooms: tatami mat bedroom with double futon and a Western-style bedroom with double bed and small desk.

The traditional Japanese design details combine beautifully with the modern features of the house, which include fully equipped kitchen ( including combination washer/ dryer), Western style bathroom with shower & bathtub ( separate toilet) and wireless high-speed Internet. The clear instructions provided for the appliances, plus the English labelling applied also ensured hassle-free usage!

I particularly liked the smell of the wood throughout the house and the feel of the floorboards under bare feet. The attention to detail in the renovation means there is a lovely balance between the aesthetics of the old with the convenience of the contemporary.

We stayed at Gion House House during a week of particularly hot temperatures (up to 37 degrees C during the day, falling to only 25 degrees C overnight) and the air conditioning (which we left on) was sufficient to keep the house comfortably cool the whole week.

The location is great, with so many choices for food places literally just around the corner! There are several beautiful temple grounds within less than 10 minutes walking distance, as are the old neighborhood along Gion's Hanami-koji street, Yasaka Pagoda and the preserved lanes of Higashiyama district and Shijo shopping street.

We walked to many sights during the days and evenings. Public transport was easy to get to and accessing the taxi services was always easy as well.

I also have to commend Curtis and Junko ( his assistant) who were both quick to respond to many email communications and amazingly helpful ( both before and during our stay). Curtis was actually at the house to welcome us when we arrived in the morning and very kindly allowed us early access to store our bags until the house was ready for check-in.

Overall it was an enjoyable stay in a beautiful house in a wonderfully historic area of Kyoto. We would definitely re-visit this house in the future and highly recommend it to anyone looking for an authentic stay in Kyoto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Architecture, comfort, modern conveniences and location.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$295
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing