We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
283
43
15
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
43
15
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold wingkaiseki dinneronce in a lifetimeryokan experienceone nightjapanese breakfasttatami matsnobel laureatefamily bathcedar tubtraditional ryokanmichelin starwooden bathsitting areacommon diningsit on the floorjapanese culture
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was an incredible experience. And for the price, it should be. The common areas were lovely and the service exemplary.The 200-year-old building was constructed of all natural materials (wood, sand and clay walls, paper panels and straw mats) and seemed very authentic. Our room was breath-taking and was authentically decorated with scrolls, ceramics and flower (albeit artificial) arrangements.The floors had heated mats to keep your feet warm. But the most impressive feature was the sitting room alcove which overlooked a lovely Japanese garden. Absolutely perfect for sipping sake and relaxing. We took advantage of a pre-dinner soaking bath for two in the hotel's two-person private wooden tub (which we used instead of the single-person cedar soaking tub in our room). Pure luxury.

We returned to our room wearing the ryokan-supplied traditional lounging and sleeping dress. In our absence, the staff had set up our room for dining. They then began to bring in course after wonderful course of the traditional kaiseki dinner. (a few of our favorite dishes including snow crab with citrus sudachi, dashi soup,tiger prawn, most of the sashimi, mashed sweet potato with sweetened black bean, turnip in white miso, rice seasoned with crab and ginger, and especially tatsuta-fried abalone). The beauty of the meal was as impressive as the food and service.

The staff then comes in to remove the dining table and replace it with a "bed", Very comfortable in spite of being on the floor. Breakfast was served the next morning in our room. We only wish that we had asked for a later breakfast as lounging around in our room was so pleasant.

Do not go to this place looking for just a place to sleep. This is an experience. Yes it is a splurge. But one well worth taking.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room where the Nobel prize winning author Kawabata Yasunari frequented. The garden area was beautiful sight out of our window.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank activeboomertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

this was such an amazing experience of the cultural aspect of japanese hospitality.. very expensive but you have a personal maid that is there for looks after your needs.. the japanese tub was a new experience but once you got in it was great fun.. the degustation meal was amazing and truly a once in a lifetime experience... beds were uncomfortable but it goes with the experience I suppose. An experience that I won't forget in a hurry

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you want to try a Ryokan, Hiiragiya seems a great choice. Staff was very nice with decent English. And, this is the real thing with authentic rooms, outstanding food, and a unique cultural experience.

Before we checked out, the owner showed us the new wing which was a great mix of Japanese modern and tradition.

I would note that we stayed one night which was sufficient for us. With the sleeping on the floor and big meals, etc. that was enough.

The experience did feel a bit anachronistic and apparently due to that and the expense it's more and more a tourist experience than something Japanese do but again it was truly a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

+ve

*Hiiragiya feels like a special place as soon as you step through the door. The greeting is excellent with the traditional wet steps on arrival. Check in is smooth and you are straight to your room.
*there is a lot of history and heritage with this place - the owner came to see us soon after settling into our room and told us about how the ryokan has been in the family for generations. You can feel her passion for the place and keen desire to make it the best it can be and your stay excellent.
*the food is fantastic - obviously the room rate includes dinner and breakfast. Both are a feast and of course very traditional. An excellent experience for a westerner.
*the baths are also fantastic - in room or house. Very relaxing.

-ve
*we stayed in a room on the far side of the ryokan and the road noise was quite intrusive now and again. Not enough to spoil our stay.
*a ryokan experience can be tiring after a while with nowhere to just lounge out in the room - eg, the bed is in a cupboard until you ask for it to be setup. Not a problem specific to this hotel.

If I could go back in time, knowing what I know now would I book this again? Yes

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJMatrixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

this ryokan is a true experience especially for the uninitiated.
Every aspect was enjoyable and worth the expense .
Our host and all the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful.
Echo other recent reviews re a cultural experience

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnmichele2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews