We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable and fabulous place to stay”
Main dining and kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main dining and kitchen
apperance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Main dining and kitchen
apperance
Bathroom
Wash basin
Bicycles for the guests
Courtyard
Matsumi-an and Kamogawa-an are the same location and together can accommodate maximum11 people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Traditional) first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
margaret3...
Taiwan
1 review
“Very comfortable and fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very comfortable and fabulous place to stay. The house very beautiful and warm ,kitchen amenities and the bedding super comfortable. it's a best choice for family trip,even with friends. we all love the house and have a wonderful time here, If we back to kyoto again here will be our first choice.

By the way, we were got lots of helped from k's house employee, they not just can speak very fluently English and also provide the good service to customer. The Whole experience make our trip very please.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: mattress / Heated floor / Luxury toilet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StanfordC...
1 review
“Convenient access to various attraction sites, very helpful services from staff”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Location is very good, just 15-20 mins walk from JR Kyoto station, and 2-3 mins walk to Shichijo (Keihan Line). Very convenient because Gion-Shijo, Kiyomizu-Gojo & Fushimiinari are all on Keihan Line. Furthermore, from Gion-Shijo it's again a 2-3 mins walk to Kawaramachi (Hankyu Kyoto Line) which could access Osaka / Umeda or even Kobe. In all, despite a bit far from JR Kyoto station, vicinity to Keihan Line is very convenient for us.

Very timely e-mail responses with good English which are very helpful to us who do not understand Japanese. The staff were very kind to help us check availability of various local restaurants upon our request and arrange reservation for us. We enjoyed no in-room clean-up / other services because we stayed for 3 nights only, but still I found their services to tenants very helpful.

All the in-door area are properly air-conditioned so I felt very warm even during early spring (around 10 degrees Celsius). However the rooms are a bit dry even with the humidifiers turned on. And the lighting is not bright enough. Otherwise, there are various tools one can use to cook their own meals so on average the in-door environment is again very good.

I would recommend this to those who enjoyed privacy and traditional Japanese house with modern facilities.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chunxiao...
Beijing, China
1 review
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Like our home in Kyoto, peaceful and fabulous.
I think it's a best choice for family trip, especially for kids.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesskhant...
1 review
“Home away from home in Kyoto”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in k's villa and our family of four had a very comfortable stay.

We were walked to the villa by a k's house employee and from then on it felt like a home away from home. Kitchen amenities were great and the bedding was comfortable.

Small touches like the clear instructions, maps and bikes for use were the icing on the cake.

Only caveat were the narrow and exposed stairs which will make it difficult for the young and seniors.

Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EternityC...
Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tranditional Japanese "Machiya"”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is our first trip to kyoto, we are so happy to live in Tranditional Japanese "Machiya".
The house is comfortable, and the heater is warm.
We ride the bike to supermarket to buy some food for cooking, and the kitchen is very nice.
We have wonderful memories in the trip.
And before the trip, the correspondence with K'S house staff let us have a favourable impression.
Next time to Kyoto, we will select K'S house again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$178
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing