We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming, comfy, well located, welcoming Villa in...”
Main dining and kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main dining and kitchen
apperance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Main dining and kitchen
apperance
Bathroom
Wash basin
Bicycles for the guests
Courtyard
Matsumi-an and Kamogawa-an are the same location and together can accommodate maximum11 people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Traditional) first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
JeaneRust...
Balboa Island, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming, comfy, well located, welcoming Villa in Kyoto”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First time in Japan and was beyond pleased with this property. Wonderfully restored and maintained compound with delightful, thoughtful, modern conveniences. It was chilly during our stay, but the warm floors and heating kept us toasty and cozy. I was a bit hesitant about having to go outdoors to access the bath, but was pleasantly surprised that it worked out so well despite the chill. The amenities were very much appreciated. I can't wait to return!!!!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience of staying in a traditional and beautifully renovated Kyoto house.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

It was a thrilling surprise to discover Matsumi-an, a renovated Machiya house in a typically narrow suburban street in walking distance from Kyoto station. This house was renovated to a high standard but retained traditional Japanese charm. I loved the woodwork, garden, architecture and appreciated the modern comforts of new kitchen, bathroom and underfloor heating. We enjoyed breakfast just around the corner at the Zen Cafe. The staff at K's Villa were extremely helpful in planning our sight-seeing, catching transport, and organising free bicycles for us. I highly recommend this accommodation as part of a Kyoto experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authentic Kyoto accommodation
Liked least: I needed written English directions for the hot water and bath instructions, also the stairwell was hazardous when getting up in the night.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VQQV
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional house with a modern twist”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a unique experience in Japan, I highly recommend renting K's Villa Matsumi-an. You'll feel at home with all the cool gadgets built in (heated floor board, LCD TV, constant heated bath etc), and still enjoy the experience of living in a traditional Japanese house.

K's Villa Matsumi-an is only a stones throw away from the nearest subway station (Shijijio station), so it's convenient to travel to destinations such as the Geisha district at Gion. If you are making your way from Kyoto JR Station, I would recommend catching a taxi, which would take between 5 to 10 minutes.

Staff at K's Villa Matsumi-an were also extremely friendly and helpful. I was careless to leave my headphones behind, and they went to lengths to mail it back to me. A star for customer service and effort.

Oh ya, free WIFI too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda_M...
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Liked the self check-in/out experience as it saved us a fair bit of time without the need to go to the reception. Interior is superb with nice traditional furnishings, and our stay was very much enjoyable.

Only downside is the location of the villa which took us a fair bit of time as it is located a distance away from kyoto train station.

Nevertheless we would still recommend this place and would like to stay at K's villa the next time we visit Kyoto!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing