We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all hotels in Japan were like this one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Ranked #15 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“If only all hotels in Japan were like this one”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The Royal Park Hotel is a small design hotel in the heart of Kyoto , with good connection to the train station by bus or metro and walking distance to most of the main tourist signs.
The rooms are small /like in most Japanese hotels/ and cozy, modern and have free Wi-Fi.
The breakfast at 21,000 yen is not included in the price - there is a French style patisserie next door and many other cafes around.
Going back to Kyoto, I would certainly stay at this great hotel again.

Room Tip: There is an excellent Indian restaurant in the same street towards the river - in case you woudl lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    492
    101
    19
    7
See reviews for
399
550
137
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Alright. Out with it: our room was tiny. It was so small, we could barely open our suitcases at the same time. But we were lucky to get any booking on late ish notice for cherry blossom season, and we loved the hotel anyway.

First of all,you feel a soothing modern vibe upon walking in to the hotel. You feel relief...like its all going to be ok!

Ponto Cho is right nearby and we loooooooooved hanging out on Ponto Cho. It never failed us, whether we were dining w my inlaws or going out for a boozy night. So fun.

The hotel staff get things done. Japan is not so English fluent, so this matters.

Medi-ya, Starbucks, boulangerie are all close. Short cab ride to most places you want to be.

The best part was the laundry! Our floor had a wonderful laundry nook. We did a load for cheap...it was good to our clothes. Didn't mess them up. Saved us a fortune in laundry costs. They will do laundry for you, but this is better. Cheap and awesome.

But....bring your own beer when you arrive. There's a fridge, but no contents.

Enjoy!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
494 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Very good location and comfortable hotel. It is within walking distance from Gion and most of the shops and restaurants in Kyoto. A little bit pricey, though

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We arrived to Kyoto by Shinkansen. You can get a taxi from Kyoto station for around 1200 yen, or get a bus. Bus is 220 yen per person flat rate anywhere within city limits. I'd suggest going to the tourist information in the station as they speak many languages, and they can best explain how to get to the hotel! (and provide you with much needed and very useful maps). The hotel was easy to find, and very modern. Low level lighting in lobby
gives it a very cool feel. Staff are excellent very helpful and accommodating, with excellent English.
We got a high floor room as requested. Did not hear a sound at all from other guests, despite being near elevators, the sound proofing is excellent!!! Most floors have a drinks vending machine and there is a coin operated laundry on 2nd floor. We had a standard twin room, which was actually rather spacious by Japanese hotel standards! Tv had 3 or 4 English channels.
Free wifi was excellent had no problems with connectivity. Beds slightly on the firm side but still comfy! Room has a fridge, desk, small
table, 2 chairs and safe. Bathroom had bath and a very cool japanese toilet :) complimentary toiletries replaced daily.
Small hanging space for clothes.
I would definitely recommend the bakery on the corner for breakfast :) delicious!!!! The hotel is 5 stars for location absolutely superb!! Turn left and you have the river and Pontocho alley, and Gion district. Turn right for shops, shops, shops!! Family mart round the back of hotel for snacks, water etc. Coffee provided in Room! Bus stops and subway 2 minute walk so you can go wherever you like cheaply and easily! We got a good deal on hotels.com for £83 per night (2people) and we only booked 2 weeks in advance so you can probably get an even better deal if you plan ahead!! An amazing hotel great price, great rooms, great staff and great location! LOVED it! :)

Tip: great Italian restaurant turn left out of hotel, on the same road as hotel 1 minute walk, it's on the river side & great food! Also, Nijo castle is a must.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel is brand new and very well located, it is walking distance to Gion (Geisha district) and to the restaurants area next to the canal. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle4-7-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,926 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 369 in Kyoto
2,306 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#34 of 369 in Kyoto
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto

Property: Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Address: Higashiiru Kawaramachi Sanjodori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8004, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing