We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (729)
Filter reviews
729 results
Traveller rating
497
187
32
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
187
32
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wooden bathtub electric bikes boutique hotel japanese style minute walk huge bed cedar bath modern twist annex building soaking tub sitting area higashi honganji temple closet space great boutique loved this hotel western breakfast separate shower
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 729 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

The hotel appears to be relatively new and constructed with good quality materials. The staff was generally friendly and helpful. However the room, while very clean and pleasant in appearance was oddly configured. There are separate toilet and bathing areas, a puzzling large locked cupboard that takes up a third of the wall, an extra sink in the hallway that had no purpose, and virtually no place to put our clothing, not even a suitcase rack. The WiFi was not working during our stay. In addition, we were asked to pay for our stay at the time of registration, which is something I have never encountered before in Japan and felt a bit insulting. In summary, I would expect a very expensive hotel like this to have more functional rooms and working WiFi, and payment expectations more in line with other hotels of this level in Japan.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Seatraveler509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel after staying in a really nice Ryokan. We liked the fusion of boutique hotel / Ryokan style in the bedroom and the bathroom was super, though that’s where the comparison ends, really. The breakfast was very expensive though without many options and the WiFi dodgy. Handy location near-ish the station but maybe a better location for a couple of days on Kyoto would be a bit closer to the Gion district.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Swph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

I was in Kyoto alone for a short trip during the maple leaf season and decided to try out this boutique hotel.

The design, as many have mentioned, is a mix of Japanese and western. Room is not big but spacious enough for a comfortable stay. Love the wooden bathtub. Overall a very zen feel.

I decided to eat in the hotel for one of the nights, and the food was surely a very pleasant surprise. It was all seasonal and fresh and, somehow, it just tasted so delicious that night. The breakfast next morning was great too.

Location is good, walking distance to the train station and the neighborhood is relatively quiet too. Overall a comfortable stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SILW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We had the Kanra suite for our stay for our family of 4 people (two kids ages 5 and 7) and it was a perfect room. Very large in size, with two areas that were “tatami” rooms - the sitting room or living room, as well as the desk area. The bedroom was more “western” style with two large king sized beds next to each other. The room also had a large closet, with a vanity area, and a large bathroom with an outdoor Japanese soaking tub! The tub was an absolute highlight of the room, although all aspects were quite nice. We loved our room so much! However, I should mention that we had a confusing start to our stay where the check-in desk was telling us about the “twin” beds in the room and we were wondering how we would fit 4 people in 2 twin beds. And actually I should note that communication in general was a bit confusing. The staff all spoke English but it was clear that we had a few instances of miscommunication. It sometimes took a while for both sides to understand each other. The location seemed pretty good. It wasn’t in the center of action but it was a quick walk from the Kyoto Station, and a quick taxi ride or subway to anywhere else. For the most part, unless we were going far away, we took a taxi. Breakfast was included only for the adults, which i thought was very annoying, although I see now that it seemed to be the case at other hotels in Japan. I would absolutely stay here again, if only for the design of the hotel. And for the soaking tub!!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jaizee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Really liked this boutique hotel. Situated right next to the Nishi Hongan-Ji Temple, walking distance from the train station and on the tube station. About 5-10mins by cab into Gion and the central business district (where the posh shops are).

Some nice amenities for a small hotel - two restaurants, a nice bar and coffee area next to a little shop and a fantastic spa (recommended - had 2 treatments both of which were excellent- and I’ve had massages all over the world!).

Staff were super friendly and gracious and nothing was too much trouble.

We had a room on 3rd floor with a view over to the temple. Rooms are a nice mix of modern and Japanese with Tatmi mat seating / tv area at one end. Huge comfy beds. Excellent modern bathrooms with a traditional cedar box bath.

Breakfasts - pretty good. Served in what later on in the day is the pasta restaurant. Big room, no natural lighting and super hot - so not sure what the evening ambience would be like. Back to breakfast - option of Japanese or American - ends up being exactly the same except the ‘main’ which is egg based (omelette, scrambled etc)

Teriyaki Restuarant - really good quality, lovely staff - although recommend you either sit at the chefs bar or request one of the private dining rooms (paper walls) as the seating, decor and atmosphere/ ambiance in the main seating area is a bit sterile for my liking.

Overall - really liked it, would recommend and would return.

Room tip: Would recommend 3rd or higher with views to the temple side and allo the Kyoto tower
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pixie_shots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews