We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ryokan and Great Host!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salon Haraguchi Tenseian
Ranked #72 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Ryokan and Great Host!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Me and my cousin stayed in one of Takushi's ryokan called Kiyomizu Tensei-An. It is within walking distance from the Kiyomizu Temple and Gion shopping street. We stayed there for 3 nights. The house is located at the end a street in a very quiet neighborhood. We have the entire house to our own. The room is very clean. Everything we need is there including laundry detergent. Takushi-san speak decent English so communicate with him is not a problem.

Takushi stop by every night to give us recommendation for what to visit and eat the next day. On our last day he took his car and drive us to Golden Pavilion (Kinkaku-ji) and several places around the area since it is a little far from the Ryokan.

Finally, the price is amazing as well. The place is cheaper than any Ryokan I can find in Kyoto. If I visit Kyoto again I will definently stay here again. Make sure to reserve in advance because this place can fill up fast around peak season since they only rent out the entire house to one family/group.

You can find information on Kiyomizu Tensei-An here http://www.tenseian.com/tenseian/eng/index.html
His other ryokan is Salon Haraguchi Tensei-An, http://www.tenseian.com/haraguchi/eng/index.html

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lintravis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
65
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I read a couple of rave reviews from Tripadvisor about this place. However, it's very difficult to find the contact information. But I finally managed to find the info. through google searh for tenseian.com.

I spent two night at the ryokan. The owner has two properties, the one that I stayed locates closing by the Kiyomizudera temple. If you travel from Kyoto station, you probably have to ask Takushi to pick you up at the station. Otherwise taking a cap is more convenient. The ryokan that I stayed is only one minute walk to the bus stop, and about 10-15 minute to the subway station, the closest one is Kiyomizukojo sta. The surrounding areas are convenient, several convenient stores and restaurants. The attractions in a walking distance include Kiyomizudera temple, Gion, Kodaiji Temple, Mayurama Park, Chionin Temple, Heian Temple... Of-cause it depends on your fitness and time.

Rooms are clean and have everything you need. They have one western style, and one Japanese style. There is one bathroom and toilet. The bathroom has a bath tub, which you can enjoy a hot water after a long walking day. It has a small kitchen, internet, and a small computer . The best part is the owner, Takushi. He is very helpful, and very enthusiastic to help. You should ask him about the recommended nearby restaurants and places to visit. I did enjoy one local Ramen restaurant just 10 minutes walk from the ryokan. If you stay longer, he could show you around Kyoto.

I stayed there with my family, my wife and two kids, and two other relatives. We did really enjoy the stay. Given the price, the facilities, the location, and the hospitality, this is easily one of the best value for the place to stay in Kyoto. We would definitely return to this place if we get back to Kyoto.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Saksatien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed in both places that are available from the ceramic artist, Takushi Haraguchi. We stayed for one day in the traditional Japanese house at the top of Murayama park as the flat wasn't available yet, and we stayed for 5 days in the flat above his studio. Both are real finds. While the house is superbly situated against the mountain, on top of the park, a short walk through the park to Gion, the entertainment district, the flat is in the midst of Kyoto's Higashiyama district. Both are fantastic places to stay. We couldn't believe our luck.
We greatly enjoyed out stay at the flat for 5 days. It's in a great spot, walking distance to many interesting temples, districts and all the other Kyoto treasures. It's spacious, clean and comfortable, with 3 rooms, a kitchen, bathroom , veranda. It's private and relaxing, with all relevant facilities, including a coffee machine.
And then there is Takushi Haraguchi and his wife, fantastic hosts, who made us feel so welcome and were always keen to help. Takushi drove us arond one day to see the Golden Temple and other places, he showed us small, traditional places to eat, and on the last day invited us to join them for dinner.
If and when i come back to Kyoto I will most certainly stay at Kiyomizu Tenseian again. I hope i have more time next visit. I recommend it to all our friends. We had a most enjoyable stay at both places. Thanks Takushi

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermann880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I don't even know where to begin with how amazing this place was. Everything about Haraguchi is absolutely wonderful. The couple who own the house are most accommodating and are extremely eager to help you. We were unsure of how to get here as it was our first trip to Kyoto, and they drove all the way down to the Kyoto train station to pick us up and bring us there! As we arrived, they served us chilled tea and sat down with them and they helped us with great dinner spots (which we went to and loved!). They leave you for the evening, feeling like you own the entire house! They give you so much privacy!
The woman even returned in the morning and cooked us the most wonderful home cooked Japanese breakfast. It was the first Japanese breakfast we had on our trip, and it was definitely the best!!
I would highly recommend this place to anyone with an adventurous side, as there are hiking paths all along the side and back through the forest.
Just down the road is Shijo dori, the main drag through Kyoto in Gion. It has so many shops and there is tons to do!
I would recommend staying here more than one night. It's worth it.
I really hope we get the opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sector7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Kiyomizu Tenseian is the sister location to Salon Haraguchi Tenseian. It is a hidden jewel: a 2 bedroom apartment located above a master artist’s ceramic atelier. While we stayed for only 3 nights, we could easily have stayed for 7 without exhausting Kyoto’s treasures. Imagine: two bedrooms, one with incredibly comfortable twin beds, the other Japanese style where the futons are laid, a kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, fridge, toaster oven, utensils and cookware, and, incredibly, a washer/dryer. There is also a study with a computer, though the wireless is lightning fast if you travel with your laptop.

Tenseian is conveniently located in the eastern section of Kyoto, within walking distance of many beautiful temples, and the fine arts district. What makes Tenseian more than just an excellent lodging option, however, are the owners Haraguchi San and his lovely wife, Chiako San. Not enough can be said about these gracious, kind, and generous individuals. During our warm email correspondence setting up our visit, Haraguchi San advised to call when our bus arrived and he would come to the bus stop to pick us up - which he did within moments of our call. The following day he drove us to the exquisite, but out of the way, Golden Temple, and neighboring bamboo forest. On our last day he drove us and our luggage to the train station. For the times when he was not escorting us, he would hand draft maps, pointing out sights to see and affordable, excellent restaurants. In the ceramics studio below, Haraguchi San crafts the most exquisite, museum quality ceramic ware. Kiyomizu Tenseian is truly like having your own apartment in Kyoto, with gracious hosts who make you feel welcome, and indeed, at home. My family and I can not wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 300Silkroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Motonago
#14 of 373 in Kyoto
354 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
#9 of 373 in Kyoto
232 reviews
Kyoto Yoshimizu
#99 of 373 in Kyoto
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maifukan
#41 of 373 in Kyoto
325 reviews
City Center
Sawaya Honten
Sawaya Honten
#32 of 373 in Kyoto
153 reviews
Gion Sano
#128 of 373 in Kyoto
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salon Haraguchi Tenseian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salon Haraguchi Tenseian

Property: Salon Haraguchi Tenseian
Address: 7-3 Maruyama-cho, higashiyama-ku,, Kyoto 605-0071, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Salon Haraguchi Tenseian Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing