We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of Guest House "Bon"

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guest House "Bon"
Ranked #52 of 346 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What more can I say that hasn't been said here? This place is just wonderful.
I have traveled quite a bit in several different countries and it is no exaggeration when I say that this is the most pleasant place where I have ever stayed.
The words "home away from home" are often used by many hotels and guesthouses, but this is the only place that I know of where such words truly can be used.
While the guesthouse itself is an excellent place, what makes this guesthouse stand out is the owner. He is quite simply one of the greatest guys I've ever met. He really goes out of his way to make your stay, both in the guesthouse and in Kyoto, as pleasant and as trouble-free as possible. And he's just a really nice guy overall.

While some people might be of the opinion that being far from downtown is a bad thing, I actually think that is a very good thing. It is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, which, however, is quite well supplied with many different mom-and-pop shops, convenience stores, supermarkets, both cheap and expensive restaurants, public baths, you name it.
The guesthouse itself is pretty much a typical Kyoto house of the area, so your experience feels much more authentic for that.
There are buses and a subway station nearby, but, frankly, Kyoto is such a perfect walking/cycling city, that, in my opinion, it's pointless that spend money on transportation all the time. Kyoto is a city that should be appreciated slowly and everywhere you'll find hidden gems. Sure, if you want to spend every single one of your days in Kyoto hopping between famous overpriced sights, then the location of this guesthouse may be a bit out of the way, but I don't recommend doing it. Still, if you want famous sights nearby, Daitokuji is right there and Kinkakuji (the Golden Temple) is 10 minutes away. But, really, Kyoto should be taken slowly and there are countless less famous (and yet lovely, because they're much more peaceful) shrines and temples absolutely everywhere, and the area where this guesthouse is located is no exception.
The guesthouse is equipped with pretty much everything you could ask for, the wireless internet is super fast, the showers work perfectly, the toilets are clean, the rooms are comfortable and clean...
To top it all off, the price is incredibly affordable and, when you consider what you get, this place has unbelievable great value for money.

Really, if you ever go to Kyoto, do stay in this guesthouse. You won't regret it, believe me.
I stayed there for about one week in June 2013 and I liked it (and Kyoto itself) so much, that this this year, in May/June 2014, I decided to stay there once again, but this time for 14 nights. Some of the most pleasant 2 weeks I've ever spent.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inner courtyard (north) are a bit more quiet than the ones facing the street, o...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vasco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Guest House "Bon"
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the traditional setting wonderful. The guest house is located ~1.2 km from Kitaoji station which can be walked fairly easily, although a bus would be ideal if you are carrying a lot of luggage. There is also a main road nearby (2 min walk from the guest house) and a number of restaurants and shops. For a few quiet drinks, be sure to check out bar Oui Oui!
Kazo-san (the owner) kindly gave us a lift back to the station at the end of our stay.
Make sure you ask Kazo-san about bicycle hire as this is by far the best way to explore the city!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoriNori101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This fabulous little guesthouse was a dream to return to after hectic sightseeing days among the crowds. Kazo the owner is a lovely man - so very welcoming and informative and nothing was too much trouble. Very helpful too with supplying bus routes and ideas for places to visit. He is a real mine of information and I loved the map drawn onto the wall of the common room. This is such a friendly place to stay and also I always felt very safe in the area. As a lone female traveller this is an important factor. The area was like stepping back in time to a more caring and peaceful time and residents had the time to smile and acknowledge a tourist ! I absolutely loved my stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to experience the 'real' Kyoto rather than the plastic hotel environment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyKezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The owner of the guest house picked me up from the train station. A superman. He is the tour guide, driver, cleaner and receptionist. Room is average size for single. Love the communal room where I met other travelers and shared tips and interesting stories. It takes approx 10 minutes to get to nearest bus stops. Along the way to bus stop, one will find strips of little shops selling foods, clothes, etc. "Food shop" in front of the bus shop sells a good variety of fresh n dry items.

Room Tip: All rooms are traditional style with tatami n thick comforter. If u want a room with view, try the u...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cczhang2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Yes, it is not near the Kyoto station. It takes 30-45 minutes to get there but I love it. I love the traditional atmosphere. The bed on the floor, the tatami, the ordinary kitchen, the wooden sandals to the toilet, the traditional sliding doors and the hospitality of the owner. I also like all the writing giving you instructions how to deal with minor imperfection of old stuff there. And it’s a guesthouse so it’s not crowded and loud. It feels so homey.
Though, it is traditional but the toilets are modern, showers are strong, and there are heaters in both showers.
I can get a single room with great value of money. I definitely would recommend it to others. Actually I already have. My friend stayed here when she went to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekazfootprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Northern Kyoto
International Guest House Tani House
Nishijin District
Ryokan&Hostel Wasabi Kyoto Soba
Northern Kyoto
B&B Kioto
B&B Kioto
#84 of 141 in Kyoto
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northern Kyoto
Small World Guest House
Small World Guest House
#227 of 346 in Kyoto
17 reviews
City Center
Guesthouse Hyakumanben Cross
City Center
Guesthouse OKI's Inn
Guesthouse OKI's Inn
#27 of 346 in Kyoto
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House "Bon"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House "Bon"

Address: 63-2 Murasakino Kamimonzen-cho, Kita-ku, Kyoto 603-8217, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Northern Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 346 Speciality lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: €30 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Guest House "Bon" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing