We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kurama Onsen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Kuramaso(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Hiroya(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Hirobun(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Tochigiku(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Ryokan 
Chatani(Kyoto)
View Hotel
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
54
28
15
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
28
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafeteria downstairschicken hotpotwear yukatatrain ridefree shuttlejapanese styleshort walkkaiseki dinnerkyoto stationrelaxationrobebathshrineyenfacilitiestatamiryokan
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at Kurama Onsen. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for that Ryokan (Japanese Inn) experience with onsen thrown in. We stayed there for 2 nights and walked to the Kurama Temple and Kifune Shrine. Very enjoyable and scenic. The staff at Kurama Onsen are first class with the service and the meals (breakfast and dinner included) are delicous! There are only 6 rooms and they are nice and clean.

If you are staying here, then the onsen is very private once the day trippers are gone after 5:00 pm. You may even have the whole onsen to yourself.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank happy_traveller_730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Fantastic ryokan style hotel in Nibutani. Western rooms are exquisite much more charming than the Japanese conteur parts unusually this way round. A bit pricy but great onsen facilities with fab views and super friendly staff (no English though)

1  Thank Elisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Take a trip outside of Kyoto and get closer to nature. We stayed one night at the Kurama Onsen. It was our first ryokan experience and we're glad we did it. The temply nearby (10min walk) provides a great place to do a walk/hike/exercise in nature. The onsen is very nice as well. The service is excellent: there is a bus driver waiting for you at the bus stop at ALL hours. He is to and from there all day every day every 20mins. So no matter what time you arrive, he's waiting for you. The highlight of the trip to the ryokan was the food though. The kaizen meal was out of this world and blew us away. My wife is gluten free and they fixed her an entire different menu. Everything was so unique individually prepared. I feel lucky to have seen 2 full kaizen meals in one. Breakfast the next day was equally as impressive. I highly recommend this place for anyone looking for the ryokan experience.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Sutter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

After a nice hike around Kurama and Kibune we wanted to treat ourselves to the only Onsen in Kurama which you find if you walk past the train station to the very end of Kurama town. After having had a fantastic experience at Hakone Onsen, we were very disappointed by what we got offered with the outside package for Yen 1500 incl towels. There is only one (!) pool both in the men's and women area. At prime time when we were there at around 4-5pm completely overcrowded, no relaxation, no Onsen experience.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Obi_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful outdoor onsen in the mountains north of Kyoto. Providing good connections, the train took about 50 minutes to Kurama. We relaxed as we watched the sun go down over the forest as the snow fell. One of the nicer onsens we visited whilst in Japan.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MichelleT_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews