We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$32
View deal
Booking.com
US$33
View deal
Agoda.com
US$23
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/22
PricelineUS$28
Hotels.comUS$32
ZenHotels.comUS$44
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveller rating
240
512
134
34
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
240
512
134
34
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 937 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights while we toured Kyoto.

The rooms are clean and the staff functional and correct. This is a very basic hotel. There is no fitness center or pool. However, it does have a small public bath which is open to all guest. I think this hotel is positioned as a business hotel but most of the guests that I encounter seems to be tourist.

I picked this hotel as it is “near” Nikishi market. However it is quite a walk and it is better to take a bus there.

It is also quite a walk from the nearest train station especially with luggage.

If I travel to Kyoto again I will stay in a place closer to Kyoto station. There are more transport connections and shopping Malls around the station.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank WoonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-kyotosijo, Front Office Manager at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo.We truly appreciate that you have shared your comment with us.At our hotel, we have the garden view public bath where our guests can use for free. It is nice to extend your legs in the large hot bathtub after a long day of walking. Where we are located is convenient for our guests. We are situated just off the main Shijo street. From the Shijo underground station, it is approximately a 5 to 10 minute walk. To the famous Nishiki market it takes about 15 minutes on foot. The hotel is located in a residential part of town but we are surrounded by many small interesting restaurants. A convenience store is almost next to us, a couple of shops away. A 24 hour open super market is at the corner of the street. This is a great advantage for our guests to stay here with comfort.We are fortunate to be located in central Kyoto. For the most places of interest you can reach by taking a bus from the bus stops around the corner from us, or just a walk. At the reception, you can purchase a one day bus pass from the ticket vending machine. We have bus maps and tourist maps at the reception to give out. Please do not hesitate to ask us for directions.We hope you have enjoyed your experience in Kyoto.Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2019

We stayed in this hotel with another couple while on a holiday to Japan. The hotel is in a good location close to the main shopping centre and the subway. Rooms by Japanese standards are quite large and are well equipped. Breakfast was a little disappointing with some items such as bread not being regularly replenished, a minor point. Major irritation was arriving at 1.45 to be told we could not check in for 15 minutes so sat in reception waiting for 2.00pm, come on show some flexibility!!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmawhinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-kyotosijo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2019

Thank you for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo. We truly appreciate that you have taken your time to share a valuable review of your stay. It is wonderful to know that you have been satisfied with our convenient location and room. We are fortunate to be located in central of Kyoto. We are surrounded by various kinds of restaurants and shops along with popular shopping streets in walking distance. We hope you could enjoy strolling around this area during your stay. It is regrettable to know that our breakfast is not what you expected. Our breakfast is served as a buffet with Japanese cuisine as well as western dishes. It is “Obanzai” style breakfast, which is a traditional style of Japanese cuisine in native to Kyoto. Regarding to the check in, it is unfortunate that we had to make you wait at the reception. If cleaning is completed early and room is ready before your arrival, you may be able to check in earlier than expected. We hope your stay in Kyoto has been something memorable. We would like to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

A very nice hotel with all the features you want! Breakfast available (we didn’t do it), bathhouses and close to the stations to get you anywhere. Local style restaurant in the near vicinity with helpful staff at the concierge.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank julianfloriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-kyotosijo, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2019

Thank you for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo and taking the time to give us your valuable comment. We are so pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with our atmosphere,breakfast,public bath, location and staffs.Our staff members who speak English are normally present at the reception to help and support our international guests so, we could correspond with their requests.We attempt to do our guests for further improvement in our service and quality.We all look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019

We had a good rate in autumn. The room was fine and the service was good. Location is quite central you can easely reach all intresting sights by bus from here. Buy a day ticket when you enter the buss.
The breakfast was very nice as well, specialy the cook Tamagoyaki did a very ambitious job. He even excused for having one day of. We stayed for four nights (minimum for a town like Kyoto).

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RealOlawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-kyotosijo, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Thank you for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo and providing your
valuable comment. We are centrally located Shijo subway station is within the walking
distance, just five minutes walk. Our useful location also facilitates you to have
easy access to various directions in town. Based on this, it is our great pleasure
to welcome you back for a variety of purposes which Kyoto offers in diversity.
We are also delighted to hear that you were pleased with our breakfast in the moment
of relaxing morning. We value your precious comment which enables us to continuously
improve our services. Once again, we look forward to being of service to you on
your next visit to Kyoto in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2019 via mobile

Stayed there for one night while visit Kyoto from Osaka . The hotel is so comfort and has a big rooms.
The room is clean and the staff is so friendly.
Near to station by 10 minutes walk.
The breakfast is so good and has a public big bath tub .

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mrswibisono
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGH-kyotosijo, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Thank you for having stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo and providing your
valuable comment. We are so pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with our room, pablic bath,staffs and location.We are centrally located Shijo subway station is within the walking
distance, just five minutes walk. Our useful location also facilitates you to have
easy access to various directions in town. Based on this, it is our great pleasure
to welcome you back for a variety of purposes which Kyoto offers in diversity.
We are also delighted to hear that you were pleased with our breakfast in the moment
of relaxing morning. We value your precious comment which enables us to continuously
improve our services. Once again, we look forward to being of service to you on
your next visit to Kyoto in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews