We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$153
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$253
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
US$199
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kyoto Itoya Hotel(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$182
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
US$103
MitsuiGardenHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijo Karasuma(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
US$668
US$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$591/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
182
23
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
23
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic bath housejapanese omelettraditional japanese clothinglocal onsenbreakfast offersand speak excellent englishryokan hotelbus connectionsfree onsenryokan stylenice ryokanresidential areatea and coffeea great staywestern optionsrecommend staying heretraditional steak
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely little traditional
ryokan. The staff is great and the minimalistic approach is charming and authentic. Be prepared for very, very small bathrooms though. The location is fairly close to the Kyoto station, but in a rather quiet residential neighborhood. A good breakfast is included, but for dinner you need to take a walk to some nearby restaurants, or jump in a taxi to downtown. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank PHR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shizuka Y, マネージャー at Luck You Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you very much for your stay and warm review! We are very happy to know that you had enjoyed our place and your journey. Hope we can see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We are staying here right now (5nights )and we absolutely love it. It is peaceful and welcoming. The staff are great; always anticipating your next question or need...hospitality at its best. Breakfast has lots of choices and although the rooms are small they are outfitted with everything you need including special Japanese pyjamas that are ultra comfortable. Directly across the street is a public bath which is an included “benefit” to staying here...the whole experience feels very authentic. The staff we one you with tea and treats and make sure you are outfitted with directions, umbrellas or bus passes to help make your day a success. One restaurant that is highlighted on the “nearby services map”provided by the staff, is Suzana....unbelievable!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ammze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shizuka Y, マネージャー at Luck You Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you so much for your stay and great review! We are sorry all inconvenience because of our old Japanese style space, We are doing our best to make comfortable for all of our guests. And we will let the SUZUNA know your comments, they should be very glad!
We hope we can see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Stayed two nights in one of the larger rooms with private bath/shower. We had no complaints and enjoyed our short time there. The staff were terrific. They helped us plan our stay, provided maps and guidance on getting around, were able to sell us one day travel passes and provide a comprehensive list of local restaurants, bakeries and so on. The location is a little way out of the centre but on good bus routes with two rail stations nearby. We were able to visit all the shrines and other tourist locations with ease. It takes about 30/40 minutes to walk to the centre of Kyoto which we did one evening catching a bus back. All the staff made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Book a room with a private shower
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davesoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shizuka Y, マネージャー at Luck You Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you very much for your stay. We are glad to see your review, hope we can see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

If you are over 6’ and 80 kilos you will struggle here. The rooms and facilities are tiny. However the owners are very welcoming and helpful and the breakfast is excellent. The local Ramen cafe is perfect and you can get buses around the city with ease.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank PeterandGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shizuka Y, マネージャー at Luck You Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you very much for your stay. Sorry for the Japanese old style tiny room, We are doing our best to make comfortable for all of our guest, hope we can see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Can highly recommend this lovely place. The people are so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They doubled up the futons for our western backs and it was really quite comfortable. We booked a deluxe room for three as we had our adult daughter staying with us. Was a bit of a squeeze but we were fine for our three night stay. The bags go in the closet where the mattresses are stored so out of the way. You just need to be organised and get out what you need. There is underfloor heating so we were warm enough. The breakfast was mostly Japanese style but we didn’t mind it too much. The tea was delightful and you could make it yourself any time. Don’t miss the onsen over the road - definitely an experience. We had been to them before but if you haven’t the staff will tell you what to do. Loved talking to the old ladies that gather there at night to bathe. Well mostly it was hand gestures and giggling. Great location with a bus stop at the end of the street. So pleased we took the plunge.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Chermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shizuka Y, マネージャー at Luck You Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks so much for your stay! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our place and around LUCK-YOU. We hope we can see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews