We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$31
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Booking.com
US$31
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$28
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Hotels.comUS$31
Agoda.comUS$31
HurbUS$32
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,527)
Filter reviews
1,527 results
Traveller rating
566
679
201
55
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
566
679
201
55
26
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,527 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2019

Our stay was just perfect. Given the price, I didn't expect much on this hotel but the room was very clean and spacious which was a true surprise. It was very easy to access from the Kyoto station and main touristic attractions. Hotel staff was very friendly. They speak English and they tried to help us whenever we needed. High level of hospitality.

We are a large group (~70 people) from different countries and it was the first time for most of us to visit Japan. Almost all of people in our group said they would love to come back to this hotel. Highly recommended!!

There is a nice Japanese restaurant on the first floor where you can eat breakfast. We did not have a chance to try, but it looked very clean and modern. There is a convenience store in front of the hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank juve_fcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front desk Rikako Inaka at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for staying at HOTEL MYSTAYS Kyoto Shijo during your stay in Kyoto.
We appreciate that you taking a time to post this review. We are very honored that you chose our hotel during your stay in Kyoto. We would also like to thank you for your quick follow-up and kind comments.
As it is written, our hotel has good location which makes easy to travel around Kyoto city for sightseeing. Also, our restaurant is buffet style (Japanese and Western), so menu is changed day by day. If you have chance to come back to our hotel, we recommend you to try it. It is great to hear that you will return happily to the hotel and spend your time with us.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2019 via mobile

Very very slow wifi signal and the staff deny to do anything to improve it. They just said they can’t do anything. I test the speed and it’s just 5 Mbps. It’s the basic accommodation but they can’t provide it to the guests.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kanazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2019 via mobile

Went online to search for a hotel and saw rave reviews on this. Photos of the room were highly misleading. I had a double bed bit what I saw on photos were shockingly different from actual room. It is small. I couldn't fit 2 regular luggage without doing am obstacle course. Plus our hand carry, it is a challenge. Another shocker was the price I paid online and the price I saw published on the hotel website. Although the dates were different, comparison was made for the same room and same week. I paid more than 50% more. Please do your homework and compare diligently. It is probably a low e star hotel so make a judgement of the price against the star ratings. Otherwise, location, cleanliness and convenience is as what many reviewers have stated. Just be careful in your expectations of the room size and price.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Eiffel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2019

Excellent internet, good work desk. Several electric sockets. Bathroom had full amenities. Bed firm and comfortable. Free Smart phone came with the room. Excellent location near markets, restaurants and public transplantation.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cegaservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2019

Highly recommend this chain of hotels from my experience last year and now. Cannot find a single flaw. Perfect location. Bus stop is 3 minutes away and subway is a 8 minute walk. Kinkakuji is only 25 minutes away by bus.Tully's cafe and Holly's cafe are within walking distance. Short bus ride to Gion. Excellent fresh cooked food at Nishinotoin just at the bus stop. Had meals twice here and both times the food was very good. Good location and very accesible to many sightseeing places

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nishiKualalumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front desk Rikako Inaka at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2019

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for staying at HOTEL MYSTAYS Kyoto Shijo during your stay in Kyoto.
We appreciate that you taking a time to the time to post this review. We are very honored that you chose our hotel during your stay in Kyoto. We would also like to thank you for your quick follow-up and kind comments. Favorable comments from our guests like yours are such an encouragement to us, and we will strive for excellence in our service. As it is written, our hotel has good location which makes easy to travel around Kyoto city for sightseeing. It is great to hear that you will return happily to the Hotel and spend your time with us.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews