We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Nearby Hotels
US$366
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
US$783
US$743
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Gion Hatanaka(Kyoto)
US$822
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$495
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$326
US$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$490
US$323
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$358
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$451
US$376
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$423
US$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$662
US$354
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveller rating
530
641
191
50
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
641
191
50
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree coffeethe busnishiki marketgreen teamemory foamfirst floorfamily martsubway stationfresco supermarketminute walkjapanese standardsthe ground floortriple roomhotel lobbybeds were comfortablewell located hotelbudget hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2010

I have to say there are not many places outside Tokyo where you can find people speaking fluent English and with rooms the size you are used to in the West so I wasn't expecting Mystays to be any different (why should it?). I was unable to make the reservation via Internet so I had to call the hotel and speak to them half in English half in Japanese - they wrote back in English to confirm so that part worked fine.
We then stayed 3 days in a single room and my parents stayed in a double. The hotel is new and the location is great, you are 5 min by bus from Gyon, 10 min from the Imperial Gardens and at one of the main subway intersections in Central Kyoto so you can't really go wrong. The staff are quite helpful although not all speak fluent English (I have a working knoweldge of Japanese so I got by). They pointed me to the a few nice inexpensive restaurants when we asked for it and ate very well (well, you almost always eat well in Japan anyway). Only issue, beware if you have lots of luggage, the room was a little small and there was little storage space But for less than 10,000 per room you can't really complain.
However they wanted to push up the rate from the friday night to 20,000 and we said no, and decamped to Osaka which is only 15 min by train and a free ride if you have the Japan Railpass.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gianni0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

We are very sorry for you had to call us for booking.
If you have enough time until the date you want to book,
My suggestion is that you can email us if you do not make a resavation via internet.
We apologize anyway.

By the way it seems that you could enjoy staying with us
so thank you very much.
We are trying to improve our language skills by ourself.
Next time you come back here, we hope that we will be better.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 5 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 20 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 14 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We agree with all the good reviews. The location is good, and the rooms (we had 2 rooms, a single and a double) were small but spotlessly clean. Great staff. There is a nice Japanese restaurant attached on the ground floor. I don't think it's really connected to the hotel, but it was great too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce_santarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, front staff at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your comment.
We appreciate that you liked us and the restaurant too.
You can have traditional Japanese breakfast which has got fresh fish and vegetables there.
The good thing is that you can choose two different types of breakfast.
You can have ''Sushi'' as dinner as well.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews