We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Ranked #46 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 13 October 2017

From all the Mystays hotels I've been, this one was the best. The rooms were still small but quite more spacious than others in Japan. It was also very clean and the staff was always helpful. The location was the best part, walking distance from almost every tourist attraction in Kyoto.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front desk Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Sir or Madam Thank you for staying at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo during your stay in Kyoto. We can see that you have really enjoyed your stay at our hotel, from the grateful comments that you gave us. We look forward to see you again if there is another time to use the Hotel again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

I was expecting at a much smaller room- it's Japan and you know that they're not so space wise but it was super comfortable and nicely designed.
Super clean the room- it's part of Japanese tradition to be clean and neat.
The breakfast I didn't try it because checking on it it wasn't so attractive, The staff is professional and polite.
The TV has CNN channel for the non-Japanese speakers.
Walkable distance to main shopping area, close to Imperial Palace in Kyoto.
I'm not recommending with all my heart this place to spend time in Kyoto.
For the same price you can find better and closer to the railway station. The distances are considerable in Kyoto and avoiding bus trips it can be a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front desk Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo during your stay in Kyoto.
We are pleasure to hear you were satisfied with our location and room size.

However, we are sorry for disappointing you with our TV channel and our distance from train station.

We cannot change them soon, but we will try our best to improve the situation so that our customer could stay comfortable at our hotel. Thank you for your comment and we look forward to see you if possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

This is an average hotel and for the price paid, is probably not worthwhile. The hotel is near to a bus stop but not so to the metro (~8-10 mins walk). There can be better programming in the lift service as the waiting time during peak hours is extremely long (or perhaps the hotel can consider allowing access via the stairs?). Imagine waiting 10 mins for the lift and it is packed. Or when the lift is full and it still stops at almost every floor. The room requires serious refurbishment. The carpet flooring can be easily detached and the wardrobe is very small. The TV is small and old fashioned looking. The shower head is an of an out-dated design. Imagine a left knob for hot water and right knob for cold water. To get your desired temperature, you need to turn both knobs. Having said this, the water is usually at the right temperature for shower when turned on. The coffee machine, on level 2, also dispenses good coffee.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank hauq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front desk Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo.

We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our location from bus stop and free coffee service.

However, we are sorry for disappointing you with our lift, TV, and our room.
We cannot change them soon, but we will discuss with our headquarter about this problem.
Also, we will try our best to improve the situation so that our customer could stay comfortable at our hotel. Thank you for your comment and we look forward to see you if possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is a typical business hotel in the busy Shijo area of town..about a 10 minute walk from the metro. It meets all the requirements..small rooms.
But the staff is wonderful! Service was amazing..they even called the consulate to find me an English speaking doctor. I had pneumonia my first day in Japan! Their directions were excellent..found it without getting lost..even though the signs were all in kanji(Japanese script)..pharmacy, too. Everyone seems willing to help!
They gave us all kinds of free samples of beauty products. When I took one of each..they said.please take more! Lots of small shops and restaurants nearby..free green tea and coffee all day in the lobby area..which is on the SECOND floor!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Vdigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front desk Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo during your stay in Kyoto.
We can see that you have really enjoyed your stay at our hotel from the grateful comments that you gave us.
Also, we are pleasure to hear you were satisfied with our customer service.
We look forward to see you again if there is another time to use the Hotel again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I stayed at this hotel 7 nights. It is very well located and has many bus stops and subway stations near.
The rooms are pretty big compared to other japanese hotels, so that's a good point.
The staff is so friendly and helped me with any doubt, and even sent the pocket wifi I had to return so I didn't have to do it.
The bad point is that the room smelled of humidity, even though it was clean.
Regarding to the breakfast buffet, I'd have appreciated that there were more sweet options for tourists that are not used to eat salty things in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Berta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ms-kyoto-shijo, Front desk Akiyuki Kaneko at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear sir or madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Mystays Kyoto Shijo during your visit in Kyoto.

We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our location and customer service.
However, we are sorry for disappointing you with smells of your room and breakfast. We cannot change it soon, but we will try to improve the system of the hotel and under take the task of teaching the staffs at the hotel, so that our guests can stay comfortably. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#42 of 405 in Kyoto
587 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#30 of 405 in Kyoto
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Address: 52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: €30 - €340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our hotel's modern Japanese design as you explore the historic capital. We are located in the heart of Kyoto, with easy access to all major tourist destinations. Step outside and it's only a short walk to Nijo Castle or Yasaka Shrine. Step inside and take in an undeniably Japanese, yet modern, decor. Perhaps that's why we've received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence annually since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing