We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vegan Japanese style restaurant”

Ukishima Garden Kyoto
Ranked #223 of 15,466 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Description: Vegan shojin cuisine restaurant in traditional machiya-style house close to the famous Nishiki market. Contemporary Japanese plant-based cuisine using organic local vegetables & millets, prepared condiments (vinegar, miso, and soy sauce). None of meat, fish, poultry, eggs, dairy products ( milk, butter, cheese) are used in all dishes.Menu ranges from Japanese Shojin, Italian, French to Oriental. Rich in variety of natural wine and premium sake.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is a lovey place designed in Japanese style. The staff are very helpful, the menu very good, the service great and the ambiance exceptional. Its a tad awkward to find and the easiest way to describe its location is by saying its behind and north of Nishiki Market, best to ask along the way. Booking is probably essential as they are often full or have functions taking place. I'm a committed carnivore though my sister is vegan and I thoroughly enjoyed eating here

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brixtontrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

This place is so much better, hands down, than any exclusively vegan or vegetarian restaurant in Tokyo, by far.

The food is outstandingly good.

The only reason I didn’t give it five stars was because I still left hungry due to small portion sizes of their millet vegan steak.

When I wanted to order more, it turned out the kitchen had already closed (930pm) but nobody informed us in advance. I would need 4-5 to be full but they were really delicious.

Service is totally awesome. Check this place out. Order the ramen to be more full than I was. My compatriots did and were super happy.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Bowbowmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed the food we ate at Ukishima Garden: the degustation menu, vegan dumplings and Italian-inspired ramen with mock meat-balls. It is definitely on the pricey side, though I would still recommend it as a delicious experience and a great place for a special dinner on your travels. The waiters are lovely and super knowledgeable and will explain how each dish is made and their components. It is a delightful and interesting experience.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Georgie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

A handsome interior, and a great menu. The food here was vegetarian (and I think vegan) and delicious. The cuisine is a modern spin on shojin ryori.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank GoesToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Such a lovely restaurant. It is a bit pricey so come prepared and know that the portions are perfectly appropriate but small to American standards. The space is stylish, quaint and clean, the service was courteous and attentive and the food was divine. Tucked neatly just off the beaten path, so it is a gem to those who seek out vegan delicacies or happen upon it.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank vym6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ukishima Garden Kyoto also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Ukishima Garden Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing