We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Another great Toyoko” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toyoko Inn Sapporo Hokudai-mae

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Sapporo Hokudai-mae
Ranked #96 of 162 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Another great Toyoko”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

So stayed at yet another Toyoko Inn. Stayed here in June '06. Most of the Toyoko Inns are similar. These are like the Best Westerns back in the US. They're nice business budget hotels with good amenities. All the Toyokos have a dining room/area close to the lobby. On the ground floor there's usually a small laundry room with pay washer and dryer. There are also vending machines with water, coffee, snacks, and soft drinks. Word for those who may not be aware, breakfast is Japanese style, which means tea, miso soup, and choice of a few types of onigiri.

Each Toyoko room I stayed at was a single room with a clean comfy bed. Room also came with a desk, fridge, small closet, and small all-in-one bathroom. For the uninitiated, the bathroom is quite a technological innovation. The bathroom is a step up from the rest of the room. The tub is large and deep Japanese style tub. The toilet seat has a bunch of buttons to control the warmth of the seat, activate the bidet function, and do some other things that I don't remember. Toiletries are great and are all in one convenient location, no more little bottles.

For the price, the value you get from a Toyoko is outstanding.

Since all Toyokos are fairly similar, this review will be more about the city in which it was located.

This Toyoko is close to the main JR station and across from the local university. There are a couple of great parks nearby including the famous Odori Park, which is a long linear park with the Sapporo TV tower on one end. Another great sight that is a little bit more of a walk is the Sapporo Beer factory. There are also a few Western style buildings scattered around Sapporo. If you find Tokyo to be too warm for your liking in the summer, take a trip up to Hokkaido for a pleasant change of scenery and temperature.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    58
    47
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
19
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Good: Simple but nice breakfast buffet, not too far from JR

Drawback: In-room sandals looks old, dining area is small

======================================
Room stayed: Single room

Located in front of Hokkaido University. Not too far from JR station. There is a restaurant beside.

Front desk staffs speak simple English. They are helpful.

Room isn't big, but there is big space under the bed for you to put luggage. It is clean. Personally don't really like the bedsheet design (it should be the standard design for all Toyoko Inn) because it makes me feel the room is old (not really a big issue actually).

In-room sandals are recycled (they are washed everyday) looks old, don' feel comfortable to wear them.

Breakfast is included (I paid 4980yen for the single room). Buffet style, simple but nice. Dining area is small and seats are limited.

In summary, I think that this is just an average hotel. May consider other Toyoko Inn for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank etherchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed there last week. The usual high standard in housekeeping and service at the hotel were there. Service with a smile is what you will get at the reception. Some of the staff can speak English too. Got a double room for 6631Yen @ member's price. However, elderly guests please be careful when accessing the in-room bathroom. Being an older inn amongst the business hotel chain, the bathroom design may be a challenge to the senior citizen. The drop in height between the bathroom entrance and the room is noticeably high. So be careful.. Additionally, there is limited safety handrail in the bath area. The usual rubber mat(anti-slip mat) in bathtub is not a standard feature of this inn. Beware of slip and fall if you're a senior citizen. Overall, the stay was good. A in-room personal Safe is provided for you to keep your valuables. Free Japanese style breakfast is served at the common area between 7.00 to 9.30 am daily. Limited TV channel is provided in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryThirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
福岡
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Like all Toyoku inn hotels, this is another good example of the chain. It was clean, well appointed and fairly convenient. The cost is very reasonable, and the staff were very nice. They spoke a little English and were very straight forward. I can recommend.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank checkitoutagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2008

We spent a total of 6nights in Toyoko Inn Hokudai-mae.
Arrived one rainy afternoon from Hakodate and took the North Exit as directed on hotel website out of JR Sapporo Station. We had 3big suitcases and about 4 trolley cases between the five of us. Had a bit of problem locating the hotel at first but stopped at a Lawson minimart along the way to ask for directions and soon found the way.
If you keep to a straight path coming out of the exit (turn right)below the train tracks and facing Yoshibara camera, you can reach the hotel in 3minutes. Only about 3 sets of traffic lights to cross.
This Toyoko Inn is located directly across from the Hokkaido University entrance and we got the feeling that its probably not as noisy and congested as compared to those in the heart of the shopping district.
It is an older Toyoko Inn. There are five Toyoko Inn hotels in Sapporo, 2in Susukino and 3 near the JR station.
Despite it being in an older building, the rooms are generally quite clean. Clean bedsheets and toilets although toilet decor a little bit dated. There were some stains on the carpet but we didn't walk barefoot on the carpet anyway so not a problem for us.
We had a total of 3rooms between us, a single A, a double and a business twin room.
The double and the twin room is the same price but the twin room seem to be slightly bigger than the double. There are 2single beds each with its own table and the two beds are placed on either side of the room with the bathroom smacked right in between dividing the two beds., good for those who prefer a bit of private space. There are 2televisions in the twin room and 2individuals air con units.
There is no cabinet for clothes although there are some hooks placed along the wall where you can hang up to 8pieces of clothing easily.
There is even space at the foot of the bed nearer the window to place your suitcase and open it fully.
The double room which I shared with my hubby was much smaller than the twin. It consists of one double bed pushed right up against the window. There is a tall thin wardrobe at the end of the bed and a small space where I put my suitcase, closed all the time because there was no space to open it fully.
The wardrobe could hang at most, 6 pieces of clothing (not thick jackets though.)
There is a table along the other wall which acts as a computer table wE brought our own laptop) and a vanity table. Toilet is located to the right as you enter the room.
The single room is just like one half of the business twin room minus the one bed.
U will see the toilet on the left as you enter and the bed with a longish narrow table at the far end of the room near the window.
I like the ample hanging space on the right side of the front door.
Standard amenities of the hotel include face and body soap, shampoo and conditioner in the toilet.
Ladies were also given amenities kit consisting of a hair band, nail polish remover wipes, a deep treatment hair pack, Q tips and a facial mask. If ypou book your rooms on the internet, each guest can recieve a small gift each. The choice of gifts changes according to the month. We got a choice of men's socks, ladies's stockings and nail clippers.
Breakfast consists of the standard, different choices of onigiri (rice balls) miso soup, coffee or iced japanese barley tea.
There is also a curry dinner served from 6.30-7.30pm in the evenings but we were never in the hotel during those times to try them.
Hot coffee and iced water is also provided in the lobby complimentary for guests. (I think they clear the coffee by 10pm in the night.) There are also vending machines in the lobby and two washers and dryers. It cost 300yen to wash your clothes and 100yen to dry your clothes for 30minutes, 200yen for 60minutes.
We checked out for one day halfway through our stay because we had booked a night in an Onsen hotel and left the big suitcases plus some of our trolley bags with the hotel. The staff were quite helpful and took care of our bags for one night. They placed it in the office at the back for us.
The light bulb in the single room fused on one occasion and the staff came up to replace the bulb within five minutes after I made the call.
If you are not planning to be in the room all the time and just want a bed and a hot shower after a day's out, I would recommend the Toyoko Inn chain of hotels. Apart from some minor rules like , you have to be out of the room from 10am to 4pm and the small size of the room, the price of the room and the amenities plus its close proximity to the station will definitely be my choice of hotel stay again should I visit Sapporo again.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank YKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Sapporo Station
Toyoko Inn Sapporo-eki Kita-guchi
Sapporo Station
Toyoko Inn Sapporo-eki Minami-guchi
Sapporo Station
Hotel Route Inn Sapporo Ekimae Kitaguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sapporo Station
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen
Sapporo Station
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Station
Hotel Keihan Sapporo
#8 of 162 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Sapporo Hokudai-mae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Sapporo Hokudai-mae

Property: Toyoko Inn Sapporo Hokudai-mae
Address: 4-22-7, N8, Kita-ku, Sapporo 060-0808, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 162 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Toyoko Inn Sapporo Hokudai-mae 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Toyoko Inn Sapporo Hokudai-mae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Sapporo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing