We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice onsen, food and accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jozankei Tsuruga Resort Spa Mori No Uta
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed a night at Tsuruga Resort Spa Mori No Uta. Although this is our first time to visit is unforgettable.

Onsen: The key reason why we choose this hotel and we are not disappointed. Both onsen and hot stone bath is very good and relaxed. clean and large also never felt crowded
Room: spacious, clean, modern and comfortable
Breakfast and dinner: buffet style, consisted of a great assortment of good quality food
Staff: Polite and helpful
Others: you can choose your own pillow! Complimentary parking is a nice touch too!

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunasolhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 October 2016

Dear Guests;
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review following your recent visit.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the onsen , buffet ,staff of our hotel.

I am therefore delighted that we have met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Yours sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed 3 nights at the cottage. This is our first time at Mori no Uta but not first time at Tsuruga hotel (stayed twice at mizu no uta). As we rated mizu no uta exceptional, we had high expectation for mori no uta.

The cottage is very nice, well appointed, spacious and quiet. The cottage is the highlight of our stay and unique to mori no uta. There are two beds upstairs. At dinner time, staff turns a futon lounge chair to a third bed. Unfortunately this futon bed is not comfortable - hard, lumps.

The shower does require walking couple steps walking outdoor in your private deck (similar to first floor private bath rooms at mizu no uta). Next to shower is the private bath. But at our cottage room which is at the edge of the hotel, the private bath is at a corner so is dark. Also one day we have garbage blown on to the deck next to the bath. You do need to walk outside undercover hallway to the cottage so could be cold in the winter and lots of flies in the summer.

The public onsen has mixed reviews. Woman side is showing wear and tear with rust and tapes around fixtures. Man side is ok. Man side outdoor has a good tranquil relaxing view of the forest. Speaking of forest, because the hotel is at a forest there are lots of bugs, flies and mosquitos in the summer.

Food is average which is the primary reason for the rating. We had buffet and keiseki. Quality is not as good as mizu no uta especially the pot of rice for the table. Western quality is better than the japanese food quality. The oven baked pizza is good. So if you missed pizza then this is the place. Keiseki is average compared with other top ryokan such as atami fufu (our next stop is moku no sho so that would be the keiseki comparison). As the hotel does get busy, the buffet restaurant as well can be full and crowded. This can lead to your plates not getting pick up quickly as noted in other reviews. They are just short staff when restaurant is full.

Staff is friendly and very helpful. We had a great checkin experience where the staff helped us with our child-A rate. The tsuruga online reservation works well. We have a food allergy dietary restriction. Via email, they confirmed allergy and staff at hotels regularly confirmed the allergy with us.

We rated mori no uta average because of the food and public onsen. We have high expectation of tsuruga hotels.

Room Tip: Suggest try cottage for a night. 105 is quiet but private bath is at the corner which is a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SillyconValleyFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 October 2016

Dear guests;
Thank you for sharing your kind review following your visit.
As much valued guests I am delighted to read that you have once again choose to stay at the hotel of Tsuruga Group.

It is so wonderful to know that you fund Mori no Uta to be gorgeous .
However , I am disappointed that private onsen is not satisfied to your expectation.

Your comments that the food was tasty are most appreciated.

I will be sure to pass this lovely feedback on to the team who will be very grateful.
Yours sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

What a fantastic stay! The free shuttle service was well organized. The rooms are spotless and very spacious, with the beds separated from the living room area, complete with massage chair. Mori No Uta is a very unique property...very boutique like and service oriented. We normally do not enjoy buffet meals, however, what this property offered was exceptional. Most of the dishes were individually portioned in bite size pieces which allowed you many different tastes. The food was absolutely delicious and well seasoned. They also offer "nomi hodai" service which means for a set fee, you could order freely off their beverage menu, which included an excellent variety of nihonshu (Japanese sake), beer, cocktails and wine (selection from Germany & Italy included)! The selection was of high quality. The breakfast buffet was equally exceptional. For a fee, we could have upgraded our meals to a Japanese kaiseki for dinner and a Japanese style breakfast, which I'm confident, would have been excellent, but since we were already 5 nights into our trip, we enjoyed the buffet option. The hotel's onsen bath was very clean but average and as expected from an onsen resort. We will definitely return, but next time, we will book a cottage with private bath! We also enjoyed the massages, cocktails in the bar and roasting marshmellows. Thank you to manager, Kawamura-san and bartender, Iwano-san, for making our stay a wonderful experience! Finally, my recommendation is to just ENJOY the hotel and it's amenities as there is not much more to do in the "town" itself. Just plan to RELAX and REFRESH yourself as you continue your journey in Japan!

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Lori808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 October 2016

Dear guests;
Thank you for sharing your review following your recent visit.
It is so wonderful to read that your commend that just ENJOY the hotel and it's amenities!
And we are happy to read that you enjoy all of your stay at Mori no Uta .

We constantly strive to exceed our guests expectation of service and facilities that we provide and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future !
Yours sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile


以森林為設計主軸的度假飯店,就在最有名的定山溪溫泉區。是個週末或是小旅行的好去處!乾淨,有歐風設計感,食物是水準以上!
Was exhausted when I arrived due to busy business travel. Expecting to have a relaxing two days get away. A perfect place to get rid of tiredness and recharge to get back to busy life. A typical Japanese hot spring provided hotel decorated with European furniture and design. Really love the theme of "forest" along the whole public area and the room. The restaurant of " forest" provides buffet for breakfast and dinner. They have a pretty good wine and alcohol menu and gourmet food. The food is very fresh and delicious better than what I expected for a buffet in the resort. You can experience a good service anywhere you go in the hotel. I extremely love the fire place in the lobby where you could relax yourself sitting around the trees ( sofa) or on the grass to have a marshmallow on the stick over the fire as the dessert. The hot spring is pretty cool to have indoor and outdoor one and really clean environment.will definitely love to come back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 October 2016

Dear guests;
Thank you for taking time to share your kind review.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel facility and food to be well equipped and delicious.

The theme of forest alone the hotel is designed to let the guests feel relax and far away from the city. It is equally wonderful to know that you were happy with your overall stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

First impression was good with warm greetings and efficient check in. Stayed in a cottage with outdoor onsen. The outdoor onsen is not very well maintained and you see caterpillars flies and huge water spills and ill fitted cover. Requested for non smoking but room reeked of some cigarette smell. Luckily I bought a eucalyptus room spray to deodorize the entire place and minimise the appearance of big black flies and insects. First day buffet dinner and subsequent breakfast experience spoilt by servers who do not clear plates for you and only bother to clear the plates of those occupied by Japanese whether they are eating or vacating deliberately skipping past our table. Other tables occupied by foreigners had same treatment like us. Even after feedback, there was no improvement at breakfast and I did not hesitate to feedback again to the helpful front desk manager who speaks English. At second night dinner and breakfast, they replaced most of the servers ( seems from the bar lounge) and service was efficient and personalized. Hope this is not just a temporary service recovery to placate us, as I do intend to return due to proximity to Sapporo and good onsen waters. Hopefully they will make effort to improve the insects, cigarette smell issue and improve the outdoor cleanliness for conducive bathing, also train the restaurant service staff well. More effort should also be done to vary the breakfast and dinner buffet menu as they are entirely the same for two days which is a minus point for customers staying more than two days and returning customers as well. Service standards wise, I very much prefer tsuruga niseko.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hotabouthotspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsurugaGroup, 支配人 at Jozankei Tsuruga Resort Spa Mori No Uta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Dear Guests;
I really appreciate you sharing your experience and frustration with us and we are sincerely apologize that your overall stay was not perfect most due to the staff service in the buffet restaurant.

We have reviewed your constructive review about the room amenity maintenance , buffet menu and restaurant staff and continue to use the valuable feedback from our valuable guest to ensure we always deliver the best Japanese style service.

We will review our staff training to ensure the best service expressed to our guests.

We take your feedback very seriously because it allows us to valuate our service to maintain the reputation of Jozankei Tsuruga Spa Resort Mori no Uta.

Despite the shortcomings, I do hope you can give us an opportunity to provide the exceptional service which we are known for when you come to stay with us again!

Yours sincerely;



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sapporo
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Jouzankei Onsen
Jozankei View Hotel
Jozankei View Hotel
#79 of 176 in Sapporo
432 reviews
Jouzankei Onsen
Jozankei Manseikaku Hotel Milione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shikotsuko Onsen
Lake Shikotsu Tsuruga Resort Spa Mizu no Uta
Jouzankei Onsen
Jozankei Daiichi Hotel Suizantei
Jouzankei Onsen
Shogetsu Grand Hotel
Shogetsu Grand Hotel
#63 of 176 in Sapporo
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jozankei Tsuruga Resort Spa Mori No Uta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jozankei Tsuruga Resort Spa Mori No Uta

Address: 3-192 Higashi, Jozankeionsen, Minami-ku, Sapporo 061-2302, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Jouzankei Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range: €245 - €523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jozankei Tsuruga Resort Spa Mori No Uta 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jozankei Tsuruga Resort Spa Mori No Uta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing