We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tian Yuan Tower Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$145
US$137
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$156
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$715
US$566
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$517
US$471
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
23
32
13
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
32
13
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2015

This hotel is in the part of Hangzhou that the government is now trying to expand. Thus it is not really near anything. You can't walk to stores or restaurants, and it is across town from West Lake, which is stunning. That being said, the views from the hotel of the river are good, if you can see through the smog. The staff are quite gracious. They speak little English, but the gentleman at the front desk had a phone with a translation program. He had me type in my questions, and then he looked at the translation. Then he typed his answer in Chinese and showed me the translation. It worked quite well. The beds are hard; they are just box springs. Our room had a dirty carpet, and mold on the shower curtain. It was very humid in Hangzhou when we were there, thus the mold. In general, hotels in China do not have good air conditioning. My experience is that you cannot get the room temperature much below 80 degrees. Even when you set it to max, it never cools down that far. (This was typical in all the hotels we stayed in.) The best thing in this hotel is the BREAKFAST! It is up on a high floor, and you get a 360 degree view There is a very big variety of foods. The kids in our group especially enjoyed that they could get ice cream! (I admit, I enjoyed it too. The Red Bean Chestnut is so good!) They had sodas and beer in the cooler that you could take back to your room!
I would return to this hotel for the breakfast alone.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wildwoodatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a chance to stay at the hotel for 3 nights.

The first thing you notice is the beautiful decor, expansive lobby and clean facilities.

The checkin is fine and english is a bit of an issue, but they do try and it is without a hitch.

As far as the rooms, It was better than expected. The bed was comfortable and a little hard, but that's the way I like it so it was perfect. The view was terrific as everywhere around you can't go wrong. The bathroom was clean and had al the amenities that you would need from a full service hotel and really can't complain at all about the rooms, decor, bathrooms, closet space or anything else.

The complimentary breakfast on the top floor was great! It was a very good mix of a chinese buffet with a westerners palette. So everything was good, even though I had to find the egg/omelete station. Overall cannot complain about the breakfast either.

So why the average rating....

SMOKE! Even though it was a non-smoking room, the smell of smoke is everywhere... The room does have a window that opens, so I was able to air out the room, but took a couple of days. The maid did come and spray the room, but that's just masking the issue.

I am at odds with myself because of this. I would have rated this about a 4.5 if it weren't for that one issue.

Would I stay again? Most likely, as everywhere you go, I assume it will be about the same. They are notorious for smoking and I guess I get spoiled with the laws in the states with smoking in hotels...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hleenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A very modern and nice hotel, suitable for business and personal visits. English skills of the staff in general are limited, but they do every thing to accommodate your needs.
Noise level is less on upper floor rooms (hotel has 37 floors). Please be sure that the windows are shut in your room, otherwise it will be very noisy at night/early morning hours because of the busy traffic on the local highway that passes through the waterfront. Those front facing rooms have nice view of the river. Rooms, bathrooms are very clean and orderly.
This hotel houses the China chess center, and accommodates conferences and chess matches. So there are subtle clues all around about the Chinese chess symbols.
The Chinese restaurant is on the third floor, which features the river food and Hangzhou cuisine etc. The 'western' restaurant featured as western food, teahouse, and snacks that also serves breakfast is located on the 34th floor. The western restaurant is accessible thorough the 2 elevators located on 32nd floor.
Internet connection might be somewhat challenging, but front desk will help.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise. Front view rooms have better view. Be sure the windows are shut/closed (sometimes left open to replace the A/C)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed in Hangzhou for 4 nights. Even though the English skills were limited, the staff did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one. The hotel is beautiful, and right near a lovely path along the river. We were too busy to get to the pool or fitness center, but others told us these were great as well. On our last night, our are, which had quite a bit of cash, was broken. Within 5 minutes of our call, a lovely staff person arrived and saved the day with her key and kindness. We would recommend this hotel highly. The only downside is that with the awful traffic it is almost N hour from the West Lake area, which is really where the heart of things lies .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mszeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A very nice hotel located centrally in the city, with a staff of very accommodating attitude.

Clean rooms and common places. Very good facilities, including conference rooms. Friendly, nice service. Every one is trying tio be helpful and to please.

A/C controls are lacking with english instruction and/or standard symbols to help to appropriately adjust the temperature settings. You my want to cll front desk before trying to change any setting

Room Tip: Corner suites are large Higher floors have less noise (some were under renovation in september)
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews